We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value for money”
Review of Hotel Alexis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alexis
Ranked #376 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was impressed with this hotel; excellent location (5 minutes from main train station), staff very welcoming, clean room with en suite shower room. If it's luxury you're after might not be suitable - it's basic, and you can hear a fair amount from next door rooms, but I really enjoyed staying here thanks to the very helpful staff, being able to walk to the main sights, and the reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank girlcity75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 264 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

It is definitely not a 2* Hotel - Shared bathrooms and not clean at all.

The rooms were not clean enough - all the walls were dirty - old furniture everywhere. The room was on the third floor and no elevator!! Breakfast was served on a cold room and included just one croissant and one coffee. Not even water.

Great disappointment, I stayed only one night and after that moved to another hotel.

The only good on this hotel was the stuff and its location. Nothing else.

Room Tip: Select this hotel only if you are looking for a cheap solution and don't matter for anything els...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VasGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel alexis is more like a private apartment block than a hotel, apon check in you are given access codes for the building and floors and room keys. I stayed in december (off season) and never really saw any of staff (fine by me). The hotel is a five minute walk from the main station termini, from which you can access all of rome and the airports, so ideally located. My room was large but cold and noisy, the windows were not well soundproofed or insulated. The bed was also uncomfortable, but i found this to be minor problems which i didn't mind putting up with due to the excellent value of this hotel. For a short break to rome this hotel was ideal, but i wouldn't recommend for longer trips.

Room Tip: try to get a room that doesn't face the main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very good attention. Very clean and the location is wonderful, you can visit many places at Rome from this Hotel. It is locate 2 blocks near the termini station at Rome, you can travel by train and by metro easily.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belkis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Rome to catch a cruise from the port of Civitavecchia. We selected the Hotel Alexis because it was reasonably close to the Termini Station (easy walking distance with luggage), the price, and the included breakfast. When we arrived after an overnight flight we had to ring a bell several times to get the receptionist to unlock the door and check us in. The room was clean but had no other amenities other than a bed, clean sheets, and two clean towels. Plan to use your own soap, shampoo, and conditioner. The receptionist provided us a code so that we could come and go as we pleased without having to ring the bell each time. Breakfast consisted of two croissants and juice. Some cold cereal was available but the milk container was empty. We "finished" breakfast at McDonalds in Termini Station. Our room fronted the street just above street level (1st floor). There is a restaurant just across the narrow street so it was quite noisy until late at night even on a Monday night. Noise started early in the morning with trash pick up.

The receptionist was very friendly and tried her best to be helpful but I think she was having to juggle too many tasks to be very helpful.

We were just planning on staying one night prior to the cruise so we weren't looking for anything special but, for the money, I think other hotels in the vicinity would have been a better option based on what I saw on Tripadvisor. I would rate this hotel a notch above a hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscapingtheBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank PhilHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Tucked away behind the awning of a small family hotel in the centre of Rome, is a magic 'hobbit land' of cosy Art decor' having imaginative and artistic touches in the flower arangements, unusual sculptures, paintings and here and there beautifully painted doors. Each room has its own character, simply furnished with care and taste.The wizardry lies in the shining smiles of the welcoming staff who great you in many languages and make you feel at home and that everything is being done especially and exclusively for you. Visit and stay in Hotel Alexis in via Gaeta, Rome You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#262 of 1,270 in Rome
733 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#355 of 1,270 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#271 of 1,270 in Rome
971 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#243 of 1,270 in Rome
610 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#201 of 1,270 in Rome
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexis

Address: Via Gaeta 27, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $52 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alexis 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alexis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing