We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Atlante Star
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Vatican(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    View Hotel
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (1,239)
    Filter reviews
    1,239 results
    Traveler rating
    420
    395
    204
    121
    99
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    420
    395
    204
    121
    99
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsles etoilesvatican cityrooftop bartop floordeluxe roomthe hotel offersthe air conditioningpublic transportfantastic locationpastriespiazza navonaheart of romeairportcastelpetersshutterssights
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    299 - 304 of 1,239 reviews
    Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The service & atmosphere were wonderful! The location was perfect. ..near the Vatican & several nice restaurants and shopping. The staff was particularly helpful with directions and transportation.

    • Stayed: July 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank srb1990
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 22, 2013

    This hotel is a jewel in the heart of Rome. Our room was very nice. The cleaning staff did an excellent job of keeping the room very clean. The desk staff, as well as all the staff, was very friendly, cordial and helpful. A five minute walk from Castel Di Angel and the Vatican and more. Wi-Fi in the lobby and on the roof top. To be able to look onto St Peter's and the city of Rome from the roof top garden was outstanding. We were unfortunately unable to have a meal at the "Les Etoile" restaurant because it was closed for the week we were in Rome, however we spoke some European tourist who had eaten in the restaurant a few days prior and they were delighted with the food and service. In one sentence; this hotel was worth every penny and we would recommend it to anyone that wish to visit Rome and have first rate accommodations.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Serge211
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 14, 2013

    Altante Star hotel has a great location for walking to all the great site within Rome. 5 minute walk to the Vatican. 10 minute walk to the Patheon and Piazza Navona. The hotel offered breakfast with our room package. Roof top bar has a fanastic view of the Vatican, nice for enjoying a glass of wine after a long day of sight seeing

    The room was VERY small, with 2 twin beds. Not ideal for a romantic weekend. The bed was like sleeping on the floor. The hardest bed I've ever slept in. Bring extra towels, you only get 2.

    The hotel offered a free shuttle from the airport, however the return trip to the airport cost 20 Euro per person.

    Hotel is located about 35-40 minute drive from the airport. The weather in ROME is HOT!!!! Very Very Hot, makes walking around sight seeing a little difficult. Street handlers are everywhere trying to see you every and anything they can.

    The pictures on the website can be a bit "staged"

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Rachel R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 13, 2013

    We Stayed at the Atlante Hotel for 3 nights arriving On a Saturday, taking advantage of the Free pick up from the Airport offered by the Hotel! On arrival at the Airport we went to our collection point the Driver was there ready and waiting. A great start!

    Check in at the desk was smooth and Quick, within 40 minutes we were unpacked showered and out exploring the Great City.

    One of the main highlights of the Atlante Star Hotel was its rooftop Terrace bar, here you can enjoy pre dinner drinks and take in and enjoy spectacular views of the Vatican, Coliseum and the whole of Rome. I would say that this is one of the best view's in Rome. For me having a few cold Beers soaking up the views of Rome while my wife was still getting ready after a long day walking sightseeing! Was a Fantastic Bonus.

    The Hotel position is fantastic it is a 4 – 5 minute stroll to the Vatican, similar 3 minute stroll to the riverside and the Castle Saint Angelo. There are many restaurants, eateries, ice cream parlour's within a 3 minute walk, offering a wide choice of food in the Borgo area.

    The Hotel room was comfortable, not a UK 4 star standard but would suggest A Rome Traditional 4 star Standard, the views if on the back of the Hotel are of a courtyard and surrounding buildings, very much a Roman View as with many Hotels in Rome, do not let this put you off! How long do you spend in your Room??

    Our room was at the Back of the Hotel with a small balcony overlooking the courtyard and buildings surrounding the hotel, it felt very traditional and very Roman. The room was adequate size, bathroom was very traditional. In all a very nice room.

    The breakfast was served in the panoramic restaurant on the 6th floor again with great views of the Vatican and Rome, A great way to start your day. Breakfast was perfect, A large selection of Continental delights, also some hot items including scrambled eggs. The Lemon cake was Perfection!

    On our first Night we dined in Les Etoiles on the 6th floor, the same venue that is used for breakfast, our food was perfect, although the set menu's seemed very expensive, the main menu seemed reasonable we chose starters and main courses from the À la carte menu the food was perfect, in all it was a great evening eating fine Italian food overlooking the Vatican at Night!

    On our last day we vacated our room and left our cases with reception, having pre arranged with the Hotel the return journey to the airport for 5.00pm, The Hotel charges €40 for the service, which is well worth taking advantage of!

    We had a hassle free morning and lunch, returning to the hotel for our drop off, again hassle free, back at the airport with plenty of time to Spare.

    Again As per the Room, I would say the Hotel is a Roman 4 star, Not a international 4 star, or London 4 Star, it is a fantastic traditional Roman 4 star hotel! In all A great Hotel of which I will be returning to in the near future.

    • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Tony W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 1, 2013

    While we were excited about our trip to Rome we were also excited about making full use of the facilities which the Atlante Star hotel had advertised such as the roof top restaurant, excellent cuisine and superior accommodation. However, our excitement was dampened by the inadequate size of the superior room, and the bathroom which was not fully accessible due to lack of space between the door and the bed. This was such an inconvenience that we had to push the two beds closer in order to access the bathroom which was tiny and inadequate to say the least. The shower head was not fixed correctly to the wall which meant that when in use it either fell from its bracket and the water went everywhere, because the shower curtain was not long enough or wide enough to enclose the tub fully. While the room was furnished with three single beds, a television, mini-bar and telephone, there was no tea making facilities, no iron board or adequate area information that would normally be found in a 4-star hotel. The third bed can only be described as a camp bed with a three inch mattress with one very flat and hard pillow, however when we requested a change of mattress and extra pillows they were supplied immediately with an apology. The room itself was dark and musty and looked out onto a very noisy and busy street. The bedroom walls were decorated with mirrors and carpet, (yes, carpet), and the television connection and wall sockets were loose and quite dangerous. On the positive side the roof top view of the Vatican and the Vatican city was by far the most defining aspect of this hotel. The restaurant itself was closed for three nights for private engagements, however the prices were overpriced for the food being offered, but breakfast in the rooftop garden was included in the price and was quite adequately presented each morning for the guests. The staff were both pleasant and helpful but could also be obnoxious and unhelpful both in their attitude and ability to interact with guests, which could be awkward or rewarding depending on who was fronting the reception. This was evident when we booked a cab from reception to take us to the Trevi fountain and ended up costing us 20 euro, yet our return journey cost 11 euros. When we complained to the 'gentleman' at reception we were told this is what happens with tourists sometimes. However, we felt that having booked the cab from reception the agreed price should have been the same for both journeys, and that perhaps the hotel should be responsible to ensure that the companies they use for their guest services are trustworthy and loyal. Location wise the hotel was perfect for exploring the Vatican which was less than five minutes walk away. It was also very central to the shopping area with some good restaurants nearby. The roof-top area also provided a waiter service and bar at night, but drinks are pricey. In saying that, we were allowed to bring our own bottle of wine which we purchased from a local shop across the road for 6 euro to enjoy with the view. The same wine cost 26 euro from the bar. On the day of departure, we paid individually for our stay, and while one of us paid in cash we were not supplied with a receipt for same. When a receipt was requested for the cash payment the 'gentleman' at reception became agitated and asked in his broken English 'do you not trust me madam?. However, after further insisting on a receipt we were given a hand written one by our 'gentleman' friend. While this review might appear negative towards the staff of the Atlante Star, our stay was made pleasant and rewarding by the majority of helpful staff employed by the hotel management. Because of this and the beautiful sights and historical context the magnificent city of Rome is placed within, our stay was most memorable and special and thoroughly enjoyable. We hope to return to Rome again in the future, and while we enjoyed the location which the Atlante Star was situated in, we would not be availing of their facility again.

    Room Tip: Tip: browse guest photographs and read reviews carefully before booking a stay at this hotel. The rooms and facilities are not what is advertised on their website.
    • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Lucagirls
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews