We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, but lovely old fashioned hotel”
Review of Hotel Atlante Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atlante Star
Ranked #388 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Burnham on Crouch
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint, but lovely old fashioned hotel”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. It is very close to the Vatican, in fact the Dome can be seen easily from the top floor restaurant. We managed to walk everywhere we wanted to go to from here. There are some very good restaurants close by as an added bonus. Reception and restaurant staff were excellent, both friendly and helpful. Our room was snug but comfy with tapestry boards wall to ceiling, most unusual, neither garish nor out of place. There was a lead for wired internet access. WiFi access also available but all internet access is charged extra. The room had a mini bar and small flat screen tv. The bed was comfy and the quality of the towels and bedlinen was superb. Cleanliness was immaculate everywhere, always. I would not hesitate to stay here again it was absolutely delightful. Breakfast was plentiful with a huge choice including several varieties of tea! Only drawbacks, bath very small and no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SillySally00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    376
    195
    113
    99
See reviews for
275
494
46
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just returned from this hotel. Enjoyed our holiday very much. Don't listen to any negative reviews . Hotel excellent. Nice breakfast every morning with lovely view. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Use the metro to save time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevanjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 7 nights. We had a very nice room, the bathrooms and all linens were clean. Yes the building is OLD - This is Rome you know! We did not have any problems with ANY of the staff. Even the maids were very friendly and spoke English. Everybody either spoke English or got somebody who could. Yes there are stairs to the foyer, but a bell boy carried our luggage when arriving and leaving.
It is within walking distance of the Vatican. We did not see a lot of Graffitti, so maybe they have cleaned that up since last year. Plenty of food for breakfast, but we had dinner in different restaurants around Rome so that we could experience more of the local foods. The beds were a little more firm than most, but were comfortable. Was able to sleep with the windows OPEN every night, and if those who wrote about the SIRENS would think back..the sirens were all over Rome, wherever you went.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We are frequent travelers and have NO idea how this hotel currently has 4 stars on TripAdvisor?!? If a Ritz-Carlton is a 4 or 5 star, this is a soft 2 star hotel. We realize Rome is an old town with a lot of average hotels, but we selected this hotel based on TripAdvisor for our trip to Italy. Bad decision. Our pre-paid room was TINY, old and beat up... bad bed, no view, loud. I realize this is an old town and an old building, but even controllable things (like service) were terrible. They never answered the phone and have inconsistent hours for the “Roof Garden Restaurant.” We would not stay here again. Elevator is very very slow and stalled. Front desk does not answer the phone, our room (we realize may have been the worst in the hotel), but it was 9'X10'. Bathroom was too small to function. Balcony was a joke and had zero view. The ONLY reason to select this hotel is to be walkable to the Vatican museums and had four stars here. The hotel had a shuttle from the airport—but with a large group, we had to wait a long time for the group to all arrive. Internet is charged by the hour. Our room had an old, musty smell to it. And, after traveling to over 200 hotels in my life—I can declare this to be the worst bed/pillow combination ever. The lighting in room was poor, the TV was older than me and the price was far too high for this aging hotel. In the US, this place would do TERRIBLE. Dear hotel owner, try a night at a Four Seasons or Ritz-Carlton and see what 300 Euro should buy you. The lobby “bar” never seemed to be open and we ran into a number of guest who complained about the restaurant. When we went up to the restaurant at 11AM, the server said she “was not sure if they were open for lunch.” Huh? Incredible. Rome is a beautiful place with some great things to see—but choose your hotel CAREFULLY. You do not need to be this close to the Vatican, everything in Rome is a short cab ride. We have heard that Rome hotels are two notches below what we are used to in the U.S. for the same price. Ouch. Consider the Hotel Cavalieri, Excelsior, Eden, Intercontinental, St. Regis or the Inn at Spanish Steps. We liked the area near the Spanish Steps much better.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel! But if you have to stay here, do not pre-pay and get an upgraded room. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChetX5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fedex88, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Atlante Star, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Client,

We are sorry that your stay and the room assigned to you were not to your liking. As we always remind our clients when the room is not to their approval they may always ask our reception or the manager, whom are always available, for assistance in rapidly resolving whatever problem they might have and finding the best solution suitable to their needs.
We would like to stress however that we do not agree with your comments as they do not reflect the many other reviewers of this website which were highly satisfied with their expectations and therefore have always expressed a positive opinion. Furthermore we do not agree with the judgment given to the property and the staff of this hotel who perform this job with passion and professionally and have done for over 50 years.
In conclusion the bar and restaurant of our hotel are open everyday and it seems improbable that you had been given incorrect replies from our staff, however we shall take the necessary measures in merit.
We hope even so to have you once again as a guest in our hotel to demonstrate (as we always do) the professionalism of our work.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gjoevik, Oppland, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice and clean, friendly staff, nice food. Too bad the top floor never was opened. Located with all the famous attractions of Rome within a walking distance. Air-condition that worked, (+40C outside). Transportation service from the airport to the hotel. ++ Also a taxidriver that showed up before the sceduled time upon departure !!! We wouldl love to come back to this hotel, even though small rooms and closed top floor. Maybe next time ?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank age905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice Hotel near the Vatican. The view from the top floor restaurant is beautiful. We could see St. Peter's while we had breakfast. It was clean and nice. Some of the rooms had been remodeled.
The street was functional big city, not a touristy area, although not a bad area. However, there was a burned up car just outside the hotel which did not seem to be in the process of being moved. Very weird.

Room Tip: Ask for a view or a high floor and you might see the Vatican.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went here for a city getaway last month. The room was beautifully clean, spacious, stylish, with Sky TV in both rooms....oh, and a bubbly bath. What's more, the location is only a stones throw from the Vatican and all its attractions (Sistine Chapel, St Peter's), as well as Castel de Angelo a bit further down the road. There are plenty of restaurants in the area, but it might be said that the South West part of the city has the best eateries, about 2 kilometres walk down the lovely, if a bit pot-holey, riverside path. The staff were quite pleasant, typical Italian ambivalence really, and, when prompted, spoke English well and were informative about the area. Having said this, though, what was really disappointing about the hotel was the fact that the much advertised roof garden/ restaurant with panoramic views of St Peter's wasn't open once during the week we were there. My partner and I kept asking when it would be open, to which we were continually met with an ambivalent shrug of the shoulders and a vague "maybe tomorrow" answer. In all of the material I read about this hotel before going, the view was paramount to any description—it was quite disappointing that it was never an option for eating/ drinking whilst we were there. So, the rooms and location are great for the price, but be prepared for the pièce de résistance to be unavailable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piers H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#383 of 1,261 in Rome
989 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#51 of 1,261 in Rome
642 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#359 of 1,261 in Rome
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#127 of 1,261 in Rome
463 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#135 of 1,261 in Rome
296 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#36 of 1,261 in Rome
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlante Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlante Star

Property: Hotel Atlante Star
Address: Via Giovanni Vitelleschi n. 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlante Star 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star superior Atlante Star Hotel, situated in the heart of Rome, 3 minutes from the Vatican City and St Angel's Castle, 10 minutes from Navona Square and 15 from the Spanish Steps. All the rooms have been completely renovated, some offer a panoramic view and maxi Jacuzzi tubs. Owing to the wall tapestry, elegant furniture and interior decoration, they boast a personal and cosy atmosphere. We are the only hotels in the centre of Rome to offer a the exclusive free of charge Fiumicino - Leonardo da Vinci airport pick-up service, upon request and notification of your flight details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlante Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlante Star Hotel
Atlante Star Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing