We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MIXED FEELINGS”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Atlante Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlante Star
Ranked #380 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Altoona, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“MIXED FEELINGS”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I love this Hotel, from it's location to the Vatican to the quaint al fresco bar next door. Service by the male front desk manager was tops. Truely the best. After complaining that the rooftop bar hasn't been open for 5 years now, and still isn't although it's prominatly described and shown on the hotels web site. I loved the location for drinks and the great view of the vatican, but really closed 4 or 5 years for what a dining room employee said was "a work in progress"?
But i was upgrated to a 3 room suite with a jacuzzi room and all was well. Hell i can sit down on the sidewalk for that kind of treatment.
Again for the overaall experience, I will stay at the star of my next trip next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickd301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    366
    189
    110
    97
See reviews for
270
481
45
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Quaint and small but cozy rooms. Very close to the vatican and other tourist attractions in Rome. Very helpful staff and good breakfast. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pillows are too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rlu0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is definitely not an international 4 star but it's a decent 3 star. Staff is helpful and breakfast is adequate except the Cappuccino and Espresso are really good as the rest of Rome. The location is great. The room smelled a little funny but overall was clean and the bathroom was good and clean.
All in all I would stay in this hotel again provided I can get a good offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view, otherwise it's too dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelguy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I found this hotel great. Beautiful room, polite staff, amazing view of St.Peter's Basilica from my room on the fifth floor (and from the restaurant on the top floor). Location is central and I was able to walk everywhere. Breakfast was satisfactory and my companion and I had a relaxing break. Simple!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a jacuzzi....I think most rooms have it but still make sure they give you one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Ask a question, get a smRoundtheWorldirk. And a sudden switch to Italian to talk about what an idiot you are. I wanted to extend my stay for three nights and told them on the second day, my fault. One night was not available but they thought there might be a cancelation, I wanted to start looking for a new hotel that day but was assured not to worry because with their connections to other hotels I would be taken care of, they would contact other hotels and find me a room. A "note" was placed in my file to ensure this. But when the fateful day arrived and I went to the desk early to see where I stood I found there was no note but was told that checkout time was at noon. Then those ugly words, "not my job" and a blank stare appeared. Don't you just love that phrase? I was to hit the streets and find another room in two hours or sleep in the alley. I had to badger the clerk to call (just one hotel) four blocks away. Atlante Star had four hotel vans parked outside but made me walk to my new hotel dragging three pieces of luggage. A few days later they called my new, cheaper, hotel and tried to get my CC # for some unpaid charges. Luckily the new hotel told me instead of giving up my CC#. I walked back to the Atlante Starless and mysteriously they knew nothing about any charges, this is when the smirking started. They have a rooftop garden, but it was "out of order", funny stuff. I guess the plants are on strike. They do have a nice desk clerk named Nico but he is IQ challenged. He gave me directions on a map, drew lines and everything, too bad it was the wrong direction two different times. One of the breakfast meats at the 15 euro meal was hot dogs. And no mustard in sight. Maybe you get mustard with the overpriced dinner. I think the employees hate working there and need to move on.

Room Tip: Different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcrowley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We enjoyed the stay in our honeymoon - it was great, we really appreciate the room. Even the service was excellent. Breakfast was just okay.

Room Tip: Suite 515 was excellent. You get a view to St.Pauls while sitting in the whirlpool in your bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordyce, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Excellent location to visit Vatican City and good for central Rome sites too. Larger property then most hotels we stayed in in Italy, with great views of the Vatican from top-floor restaurant. Comfortable rooms, bathtub/shower combo were nice, but would be challenging for older or larger people. Street noise, but not more than to be expected in a downtown location. Staff was very accomodating.

Room Tip: Ask for interior room - off street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#381 of 1,291 in Rome
970 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#60 of 1,291 in Rome
555 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#365 of 1,291 in Rome
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#112 of 1,291 in Rome
435 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#34 of 1,291 in Rome
701 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#169 of 1,291 in Rome
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlante Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlante Star

Property: Hotel Atlante Star
Address: Via Giovanni Vitelleschi n. 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#204 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlante Star 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star superior Atlante Star Hotel, situated in the heart of Rome, 3 minutes from the Vatican City and St Angel's Castle, 10 minutes from Navona Square and 15 from the Spanish Steps. All the rooms have been completely renovated, some offer a panoramic view and maxi Jacuzzi tubs. Owing to the wall tapestry, elegant furniture and interior decoration, they boast a personal and cosy atmosphere. We are the only hotels in the centre of Rome to offer a the exclusive free of charge Fiumicino - Leonardo da Vinci airport pick-up service, upon request and notification of your flight details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlante Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlante Star Hotel
Atlante Star Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing