We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHE SAID YES!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #67 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Airdrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“SHE SAID YES!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My now Fiance and I visted the great City of Roma on April 25, 2014.

On a 5 week trip to Europe I was attempting to stick within a tight budget but after noticing this Hotel on trip advisor I got sucked in.....

It was more then worth it! We were only in Rome for just more then a day so it was short and sweet but this place made the short visit so much more doable then if we had roughed it.
We arrived at 9am in Rome after an all-night train ride from Nice and were quite exhasted! The shuttle from the city centre was so helpful and made getting to and from the action so easy!

Although we were unable to check into our room until around 3 oclock the staff was happy to let us use the locker room to shower up and change before shuttling down to the Vatican.

The hotel if described in one word would be "bliss"

Later that evening overlooking the breathtaking city views at sunset from our balcony I asked the girl of my dreams to marry me and she said "yes!"

Overall Experience was excellent!

Room Tip: Pick a club level room city view or 6th floor and above it is more then worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all congratulations for you engagement!!

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your honeymoon!

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,928
    1,053
    406
    211
    115
See reviews for
1,161
2,726
154
818
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Very good hotel to relax in Roma. During daytime I travelled bustle Rome and Vatican, and back to hotel I could swim and relax at hotel. It's very spacious and well equipped hotel. I'm very sick and tired of European small hotels, it was more American resort hotel. But the carpet in the room is not really clean and could smell something. Cleanness is not really good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiyoung K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations. We thank you for the your comment which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Excellent Hotel - Ridiculously expensive wifi - 25 Euros / day!!!! -
The SPA is FANTASTIC. A must do!! indeed one of the best in whole Europe. They charge you 20 Euros/day access fee. Unless you are a HH member which gives you 10 E off. Massage Therapy 120 Euros. Pricey for USA/Canada standards but, it is quite an experience. highly recommended. The Gym is the best i have seen in a 5 star hotel.. and i am quite a frequent traveller. Summary: Fantastic experience. Some charges are just way over the top like WiFi.

Room Tip: Always ask for the EAST side facing the great view of ROME -
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atilio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

We are glad to inform you that we do provide complimentary WiFi for our guests in our public areas such as the lobby, Tiepolo bar and restaurants.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I just finished up a 12 day trip to Tuscany and Rome with a 2 night stay at the Waldorf Astoria - Cavalieri... while it is a beautiful hotel and property it is unbelievable that they can charge 25 Euro (approx $35) for wifi per day and 18 Euro ($25) to use a chair at the outdoor pool. When paying 350 Euro / night ($480 ) it is unconscionable and insulting that they should have these additional charges... even a coffee to go (in a styrofoam cup) was 7 euro ($10)...
The staff was very helpful and attentive and the property and rooms are beautiful but I was left with such a bad taste due to the ridiculous extra charges...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We would like to inform you that our prices are in line with 5 Star Luxury Properties and we do offer many room packages that our guests could reserve in advance that include many facilities to their liking. We are glad to inform you that we do provide complimentary WiFi for our guests in our public areas such as the lobby, Tiepolo bar and restaurants.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great place to stay in Rome.You are out of the hustle and bustle, but just a short taxi ride from it all.You have real resort space, pool, and restaurant. Plus spacious beautiful rooms. The concierge service is fabulous. You will feel relaxed and comfortable for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

We will like to thank for your kind note regarding our Concierge Team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I want to point out that we do stay at many 5 star accomodation dating back twenty years. That said I want to say that our stay at the Cavalieri was exceptional.
Decor: outside and pool area made it seem as we were at a carribean resort. Inside was very old world Italian with lots of gold/bronze, statues and very ornate. Personally, I thought it was very well done and regal.
The spa was excellent, the pools were well thought about (they even provide free flip flops) and the washrooms were upscale and CLEAN. I could have done without the 18Euro charge for the use of outside chairs though.
In the evenings, they have live music that was very becoming of staying at a romantic oceanfront hotel...this is all in Rome and overlookingthe entire city, awesome really!
Now, we went duringthe busy season, so I expected some breakdown in service...none, everything and everyone was excellent. Isabelle at the front desk to Guido (a treasure, who made my daughter and family feel as if we were family) at the outside bar/lounge area were perfection in how to make guests feel like they mattered. The rooms were, at least the ones we got were perfect.
Breakfasts were a joy (we did not get a chance to thry their rooftop restaurant).
Now, the point that this hotel (resort) was a bit away from the 'maddening' crowd of downtown Rome, made it truely more special...where else could you feel like at a carribean vactation while in Rome...and the views!
The shuttle, we used it every day and never had any issues. And taxis to Colliseum/Vatican (we decided not to take any local buses or trains) were reasonable at ~ 15-20Euros.
Great Hotel with a true 5 star service. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a praising note. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with all the Team Members who contributed day after day to make your stay so special.

We are delighted reading that you and your family have enjoyed your visit to the Eternal City.

It was a pleasure to read that you did enjoy the comfort of our rooms as well as the physical appearance and resort-like location of the property.

Looking forward to welcoming you & your family back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Was there on a business trip.

1. The room was as you can expect in this kind of hotels. quite large, comfy bed, nice bathroom. STandard rooms have a small couch and table/desk which is very convenient.

2. Wifi is super expensive relative to the room price

3. To stay at the swimming pool you have to pay 20eur (or 16, don't remember) which was very suprising for such a hotel. Basically you can swim, but if you want to enjoy the lounge chairs, you have to pay...

4. Gym has nice equipments, but you need to pay as well... 16eur or something like this, again, suprising for such a hotel

5. remote location in rome, need a cab whatever you want to do. The area is very residential so very few restaurants around.

all in all, it was nice, but not my style. Moreover, all the add-ins such as pool & gym are not nice...

Room Tip: ask for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicolasRoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We would like to inform you that our prices are in line with 5 Star Luxury Properties and the complimentary shuttle service we provide to the city centre provides our guests with lots of dining options.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,672 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#83 of 1,257 in Rome
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing