We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome! But ultimately disappointing.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #73 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome! But ultimately disappointing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

As a Diamond Hilton member, it is disappointing to be told at the front desk that the hotel was "just converted" to be one of the only two in the Hilton family to exclude ALL a Diamond members from their Executive lounge. In fact, the Hilton website had not even been updated to reflect this yet so when I hooked the room back in Feb (for a June stay), there seemed to be no problems. On top of that, you are expected to shell out 36 Euros PER PERSON for breakfast which consisted of coffee, pastries, and cold cuts. Needless to say we opted for other breakfasting opportunities after that. Otherwise, the view cannot be beat. Open balcony door in evening to listen to music, watch fireworks, smell jasmine, feel the night air.

May return but will definitely NOT expect to be treated with the same level of service and general attitude as ALL the other (save one other Waldorf) Hilton family hotels.

Expect to be nickel and dime'd at every turn. And front desk/concierge very subtly held their hand out at every utterance.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for city-facing room. But for those awesome views, the Hilton Garden Inn in town off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal City.

Please rest assured that HHonors Diamond members are highly appreciated as our our privileged and loyal guests, so at Rome Cavalieri, we reserve the following benefits:

*Complimentary room upgrades based upon availability (excluding Imperial floors).
*Two complimentary beverages per stay at the Tiepolo bar.
*Access to The Cavalieri Grand Spa.
*Complimentary WiFi service.
*Complimentary newspaper (upon request).
*2 complimentary bottles of water daily.

Breakfast and Lounge access are not part of the benefits in Waldorf Astoria properties, please be assured that we are always very attentive to delivering HHonors benefits according to our loyal guests’ status, in compliance with the Corporate HHonors Program for Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts.

We regret reading of you impression and hope to welcome you on a future occasion in an attempt to truly show you the level of service we reserve for our guests.

Thank you for your loyalty and kind regards

Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,751
    1,016
    397
    203
    113
See reviews for
1,113
2,621
145
776
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was there for five days to attend a conference the first week in June. The hotel is about 15-20 minutes outside of Rome which is fine. The view of Rome from the hotel(its sits on a hill...Monte Mario area) alone makes distance it worth it. There was a cocktail on the rooftop...view is stunning!!! My room was spacious with a living area and balcony. It is a beautiful hotel but the I found dealing with the staff inconsistent. I had to go the front desk at least three times as my card for my room deactivated and it seemed that it was an inconvenience to issue a new one...with no apologizes. Housekeeping were very nice. They charge you to use the gym...depends on the room you're occupying. Having lunch at the pool is super expensive. Wi-Fi expensive. The shuttle to/from Rome is free. The food is pretty good. Mixed feelings...up in the air on if I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cishawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We would like to inform you that our prices are in line with 5 Star Luxury Properties and we do offer many room packages that our guests could reserve in advance that include many facilities to their liking.

We regret reading of such short-comings and we'll make sure such minor incidents do not repeat themselves in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Took my wife here as a surprise for her 50th. We had also gone to this hotel for her 40th. The hotel didn't disappoint again. It is a beautiful hotel on a hill just outside a beautiful city. We were even able to walk to the Vatican. This is a top class hotel at top class prices. The hustle and bustle of the city is long forgotten when you reach the Cavalieri.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSDJWBWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ for the next birthday!

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Ill.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Did not disappoint. Met expectations.

This property is 10-12 min from historic center / shopping but for many that is a plus. It's nice to have a grand property to retreat to after fighting the crowds. I saw a mix of business travelers and families. The pool is great and seating seemed to be plentiful. The breakfast buffet at the hotel is great. Service at the breakfast buffet is 5 star.

Rooms are what you'd expect from a five start hotel. Frankly, they exceeded my expectations slightly since I know a lot of these older Italian hotels don't always measure up to American 5 star properties. This hotel did not disappoint.

For a romantic trip for two I would probably book a boutique hotel closer to the historic center.

WiFi was free in common areas and speed was passable. There was a charge for WiFi in the rooms unless you were part of the hotel's loyalty program.

Don't forget Uber is in Rome. Came in handy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark_W_Griswold_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Gorgeous hotel, with all the five-star amenities. It's a magnificent property overlooking Rome, but that means that it's a 20-minute, $25 cab ride to get to/from the City Center. The free hourly shuttle bus is pretty convenient, though.

We wanted to extend our stay on Saturday night and booked at the hotel website at 440 Euros. On Travelocity and other websites it was just $270 for Saturday. Then $750 on Sunday!

Very friendly and helpful staff, as you would expect, it's just a bit annoying getting charged for everything, e.g. 30 Euros for a poolside hamburger and 30 Euros per person to use a chair at the outdoor pool. It seemed excessive, but I guess they must finance their massive, spectacular art collection?

BTW, all the cab drivers call it the "Cavalieri Hilton." They don't know the "Cavalieri Waldorf."

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

We would like to inform you that our prices are in line with 5 Star Luxury Properties and we do offer many room packages that our guests could reserve in advance that include many facilities to their liking.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

My experience here was truly first class. The hotel is unbelievably beautiful and our room (we requested a standard double) was huge, with a 3rd bed. The concierge was very helpful and when my friend accidentally pulled the emergency cord in the shower, someone was there to check on us in 30 seconds. The pool is very nice and the hot tub/spa is wonderful! There is free wifi in the public spaces, which I believe is new. Keep in mind that the hotel overlooks Rome (part of its allure), making it really only accessible by cab - but you don't come here to be in the center of town and this was no problem at all for exploring. The hotel is truly spectacular!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile


I stayed this year in the cavallieri hotel Rome .
I ve been staying in it since thirty years .when it was managed by the (Hilton ).
It was one of my dream hotels,
Yet this time I found that things have changed .
The dealing with costumers is very strange .
An example is when we went down to swim ,we were asked to pay for the use of the mattress .i thought that was wierd for a €600room hotel.
Dealing with a guest who had booked three rooms.

And some other bothering things .
Was their system of payment for the internet .
When we asked to Empty the Minnie bar (cos we have kids)
We were surprised to know ,that there was a fee for that as well.
That was a first .

Anyway the beauty of this hotel .
The location .
The good memories.
All are pluses that make you keep on loving it .
Inspite all.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We regret reading of you impression and hope to welcome you on a future occasion in an attempt to truly show you the level of service we reserve for our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,371 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#80 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing