We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As always the BEST !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #71 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
260 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“As always the BEST !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We requested a car to pick us up at FCO, driver was waiting for us, with a cart to carry our luggage. When we arrived there was some confusion about our reservation , which was caused by ME when making our arrangements. It was fixed immediately. I just can't say enough good things about this hotel.WELL DONE TO ENTIRE CAVALIERI STAFF. Thank you again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redmanfloridapvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,793
    1,029
    399
    206
    112
See reviews for
1,123
2,649
148
784
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We picked this hotel after scanning the internet for images of what we perceived to be a luxury hotel. We found many hotels that were 4 or 5 star but the rooms to us seemed very bland and "corporate" more business trip than honeymoon experience. When we discovered the Cavalieri things were looking up! The hotel and rooms looked wonderful and the rates reasonable so the booking was made.The hotel shuttle bus only takes about 20 mins to reach the centre of town. Following the booking we started a search for a special dining experience whilst staying in Rome. Coming across La Pergola we were pleasantly surprised to find that this 3 Star Michelin restaurant is actually on the top floor of the hotel and what a fantastic meal it turned out to be. The hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the ancient city of Rome and the Vatican, the view from the balcony breathtaking both day and night (if you book a Rome view room obviously) Our room on the 6th floor was exactly as expected and as shown on the web site. The bed nice and large and the bathroom well appointed. The chilled Champagne on the side was a nice touch too. The hotel is luxuriously appointed throughout with a tasteful bar area on the ground floor across from the reception, a few nice shops also in the adjacent "malls". The walls of the hotel are adorned throughout with works of art ranging from 17th century masterpieces through to Andy Worhol classics along with many statues and tapestries. The hotel restaurant (L'Uliveto)is very good and is used in the mornings for breakfast and evenings for dinner. La Pergola ... 3 Michelin stars and could not be faulted . Excellent in every way , a truly memorable experience that will not be forgotten. OK so its not cheap but what else could you expect from one of the most acclaimed restaurants in the world. (make sure the reservation is made well in advance though) All in all this is the best hotel we have ever stayed at and could not recommend it higher to those wishing for a special trip to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Congratulations again for your honeymoon and we looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here last Easter, and staying away this year for Easter prompted me to write about last year.
The positives of the hotel were the rooms and views, the breakfast was by far the best io have ever enjoyed (12 different milks) and my favourite fruit papaya every day. The spa was absolutely beautiful and as both diamond members we really took full advantage of this wonderful HH perk, we snoozed a couple of times in the relaxation room and were also lucky enough to enjoy a couple of days outside in the sun round the pool.
The food was exceptional - La Pergola was actually amazing value for money, we tried the tasting menu, some wonderful glasses of wine and the service was impeccable, being warm and friendly as well as formal as you'd expect. We actually were lucky enough to enjoy a tour of the wine cellar also once the team realised we were in the trade and genuinely appreciated every moment of our stay here.
The bus into Rome is perhaps not the best part of the stay, however still fully appreciate that this is part of the service provided.
My only comment would be that it would have been nice to have tea or coffee making facilities in the room.
I would fully recommend this hotel to everyone, we were lucky enough to stay for 7 days, but worthwhile even if only for a night or two!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at several Waldorf Astoria's around the world and Rome Cavalieri is the absolute best. The location overlooking city and the Vatican was breath taking and the hotel itself was absolutely beautiful. The service was second to none and the all staffwwere extremely friendly and very attentive to our needs. If you're thinking of going to Rome, you must put this hotel on the very top of your list as it truly made our entire experience outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I just recently stayed 9 glorious nights at the Rome Cavalieri. This vacation could not have been more perfect and the weather was spectacular the entire time. I was celebrating my birthday with 20 family and friends. It was so over the top. First of all we had all of our guests stay on the Imperial Floors (7&8) each room is spacious and luxurious over looking the eternal city and St. Peter's Basilica. This is a must because you get VIP status and have unlimited access to the Imperial Lounge all throughout the day along with the Grand Spa. The staff goes above and beyond in every way possible to accommodate your every need. Markus the head concierge put together 4 days of events for our group. We did a day trip to Orvieto for sightseeing and wine tasting and then he arranged a private tour of the Vatican Gardens and an underground tour of the Coliseum. The icing on the cake was the private room for our dinner at La Pergola (the roof top 3 star Michelin restaurant) with our own private fireworks (I will review the restaurant separately). It truly was an unforgettable experience and a memory I will have forever. One side note - the property is a 20 minute hotel shuttle or taxi ride from the city center. For our group this was a positive to be close enough but yet far enough away from the crowds. It was so nice to leave the hustle and bustle of Rome and come back to this elegant hotel to relax by the fabulous pool or in the Imperial Lounge for cocktails. The property is over 15 acres on a hillside overlooking Rome and you get a whole different perspective of Rome. Some may find this a disadvantage but we did not in fact of of our group thought of this as an advantage. We never did take a shuttle and just taxi to and from town at our leisure. This is the only place I would stay in Rome. It is an experience like no other.

Room Tip: Defiantly request a room on the Imperial Floor facing St. Peter's Basilica
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
576 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

A fabulous experience in every respect! It is worth splurging for the club floor and a room facing the city...the views are amazing from the balconies. The rooftop restaurant, La Pergola, is spectacular. This is a Hilton property, with perks available. The property isn't in the city center, so a 10 minute cab ride or shuttle is needed to get into the city. We liked being outside the city on the expansive grounds of the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dollyamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. Prior to booking the trip, we contemplated staying right in the heart of Rome. Very glad we didn't. The grounds are gorgeous and just having the quiet that we wouldn't get staying in the city was worth the extra cost of the hotel. We took advantage of the free shuttle that drops you off in Barbierri square. The shuttle runs every hour, with a small gap off in the afternoon, and the last shuttle back to the hotel is 9pm. We arrived very early to Rome and took advantage of the spa while waiting for a room to become available. Loved the steam room and had a nice restful nap in the relaxation room. Also loved hanging out at the lobby bar - great service and highly recommend the smoked salmon with horseradish sauce. Even ran into a famous Italian singer (Umberto Tozzi) who sang a few songs with the piano player. Note that Diamond Hilton members no longer get free breakfast - only breakfast at a reduced rate. Staff was incredibly friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay here again with another trip to Rome.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank haras690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,469 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#79 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing