We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #69 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Admittedly I chose this hotel as a long standing Hilton supporter, notwithstanding this facility hit the mark in ALL areas. The staff could not be more accommodating, rooms were excellent, and the grounds breathtaking. For those concerned about the "remote" location, no need, shuttle bus runs on the hour and the drop off point is centrally located (Via Veneto and Piazza Bernadini).

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the back side of hotel overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,524 - 2,530 of 6,079 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were fortunate enough to have friends who have affiliation with Hilton Honor Club. The place was awesome. We had free buffet breakfast every day, which added to the awesomeness of the place. They have a shuttle bus that will take you & drop you off in the middle of town. The stop is within walking distance to many points of interest, such as Trevi Fountain & the Pathenon plus shops & restaurants. We had one little snag with the in room refrigerator but it was promptly remedied. Beware of putting your snacks in the fridge & disturb the bottles & cans that were in there.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank mooyai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This was the final stop of our two week honeymoon in Italy and it exceeded our expectations. The front desk manager was incredibly friendly, taking time to walk us through the hotel and explaining all of the extra accommodations that came with our room. He even surprised us an hour later with a bottle of Prosecco!

The brunch is absolutely fantastic so do yourself a favor and not miss it!

This hotel is located about 10-15 minutes outside of the city center, yet the shuttle service was very convenient (Tip: Get to the designated shuttle area at least 10 minutes prior to departure and you will never have a capacity issue and miss the shuttle).

Overall, we had an excellent stay!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TonyV55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts to celebrate your honeymoon in the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon, having spent a huge amount of time debating on where we wanted to stay, and reading lots of reviews.

We chose this hotel as we felt happy to be a little out of the city, and away from the hustle and bustle.

Overall we found the hotel was everything you would expect of a 5 star hotel, we also got a deal with British Airways, and therefore felt that this was a great deal:

- checkin: was quick and efficient.

-concierge: was excellent, booked us on two private tours of the city and arranged a number of evening dinner reservations.

- breakfast: was good, served either by the pool or indoors. Service could be a little slow if you where late...Hilton club members can get discounts and options on items such as breakfast.

- room: we had a great room, on the 3rd floor overlooking the garden, pool and city.

- bar: staff were very friendly and attentive.

- restaurant: we had lunch in the first day by the pool which was excellent.

- cleanliness: room was cleaned every day to a high standard.

-shuttle bus: we caught this on a number of days, but not every day. It was on time, and the staff were friendly. But the shuttle bus is only once per hour, we walked back to the hotel on two occasions and also took taxis..

We had a great stay here, and are looking forward to going back again next year!! Many thanks to all of the staff at the hotel for making our stay so wonderful...

Room Tip: Needs to overlook pool/garden/city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emms24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts to celebrate your honeymoon in the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our first trip to Rome started with a stay at the Waldorf Astoria, there is not a rating high enough to describe this resort.We have stayed in multiple 5 star resorts fromHawaii to Las Vegas to Orlando and all in between.This was by far the best ever. 5 Stars does not do it justice.
The staff were great and extremely helpful and patient as we became accustomed to Rome.
The room was wonderful , very large and extremely nice. Most reviews we saw complained about it not being in the city. The distance to the city was very short taxi ride and for the room and the view it was well worth the small taxi fee. If fortunate enough to return to Rome, We will stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark3800_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We loved it! The Waldorf in Rome delivers on the promise - solitude - a little away from the beaten path; the views from the hill top are fabulous if you get the city side; the food and service is excellent. The check in and concierge are warm and friendly. They have a shuttle that takes you into the city centre every half hour during the day. We took a taxi back - it's not walkable. Taxis are readily available at the hotel whenever you need one. If you want to feel pampered. please go to this hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask for a city view room on floor three or four; then you are likely to get a free upgrade t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2HappyTravelers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Outstanding hotel with top-notch service and amenities. Without question, the best view of Rome in the city! Pay the extra cost for "City View". You WON'T be disappointed! My wife and I had an awesome experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,116 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#49 of 1,271 in Rome
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#89 of 1,271 in Rome
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $269 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing