We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel 5 star in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #71 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel 5 star in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Have travelled a reasonable amount, but this was my first time in a Waldorf and first time in Rome.
Rarely have I walked into a hotel and been struck by such grandeur, this hotel is beautiful designed and maintained; and then the service, faultless, at every point. It is hard to define what makes a 5 star hotel, but whatever it is this hotel has it. Do take time to explore and admire the hotel’s artwork both inside and outside, it is like being inside a country house. The attention to detail is everywhere.
Made the decision to pay the extra to stay on the Imperial floor, what a fantastic decision. Nothing was too much trouble, and the views across the city including across to the Vatican were just stunning. Those little pastries that chef created, wonderful.
The shuttle bus to town is popular, one day it was full, but for 8 Euro got a taxi down to the Metro near the Vatican and found ourselves on the very efficient, cheap and easy to navigate Metro system. No drama.
After hours of site seeing back to the pool which truly was a haven away for the city.
We are left with fantastic memories from our 3 night stay. Rome is a fantastic city to visit; this hotel and its excellent staff guarantee that we will return.

Room Tip: You wont be dissappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,791
    1,028
    399
    206
    112
See reviews for
1,122
2,648
147
784
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a city break and although on arrival the Hotel appears a little like a commercial property, once inside the perception changes.

The door men escort your luggage and show you to the reception area. Our friend is a Hilton Diamond member so we were escorted to a special check in lounge area where we were offered complimentary drinks. (its a good job there were complimentary as this is not a cheap hotel to eat and drink here)

Our stay included Breakfast and its fair to say there was a pretty big choice from breads, fruits, real fruit smoothies, continental, oriental, Japanese, american style cooked (omelettes, eggs, bacon, sausage, green beans?, potatoes), cereals. I think I counted about 12 types of milk, from full, skimmed, soya, goats and others i can't remember.

The staff could not have been more accommodating. I did enquire if there was any more bacon at one point only to be told they would bring it over to me. We they brought over a plate full of about 20 rashers of Bacon!!

The Drinks in the bar are a little on the expensive side but if you can afford to stay here you can probably afford the drinks too.

The only minor complaint we could muster was with the shuttle bus which drops guests off down in the city. (This hotel is high up on a Hill over looking the Vatican Area of the city and not in a very touristy area, and quite a walk down). The shuttle only seats about 25 people and when it's full its make your own way home. The taxi back to the hotel fortunately was not half as expensive as we had expected it to be so no biggy.

The Hotel has a decent size outdoor pool for a city hotel and the indoor one looked good too, although we did not try that one out.

The grounds are pleasant and littered with statues of animals. There are terraces to enjoy the warm evening air and plenty of sun loungers, if you can spare time away from the city.

The Room was spectacular with the usual refinements of slippers and dressing gowns. The black out screens at the window feel like they could withstand a nuclear strike and are electronically operated. The lounge area and balcony were nicely furnished and had fantastic views right across to the Colosseum.

There were even english plugs sockets. I kind of regretted leaving my continental adaptors at home and on impulse buying a new one at the airport!

I had to laugh at the prices in the lobby shops - 1,800 euros for a pair of sandals?

Fab Hotel - Pure Opulence - Great Experience.

Room Tip: Views of the City a must - the higher the better - unfortunately the higher the more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossiross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Looking back on our trip to Rome, there is a vision that will forever linger in my mind and heart. We had not requested a "city view;" but, as the taxi climbed the hill to the hotel, I knew I should enquire about a change. We are so glad we made the change! When my husband and I walked into the gorgeously appointed room and looked out the glass doors of the balcony, our jaws dropped to the floor! There was all of Rome at our feet. Indeed, a feast for the eyes and we could not get enough of the inspiring view with the Vatican off to the right and all of the landmarks of the Eternal City directly in front of us. Our first dinner was room service on the balcony. If I close my eyes now, I can still see the stunning and unforgettable views of Rome!

Room Tip: Definitely want a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jphoban64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hotel is beautiful and a perfect place to just relax and take in the views. Restaurants were also good however there are a few wonderful little places to walk to for sunset dinners that were wonderful. Gentlemen don't forget a jacket if you want to use the rooftop bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Craig Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed a night in Rome before we left on a cruise. We have been to Rome many times and wanted to try a different location. This hotel is wonderful! It is beautiful and our room was great. We had a room overlooking the pool and honestly, you would never know we were on the edge of a big city! It was an oasis! It is situated in a park like setting-

We decided to walk into town- although there is a shuttle. It was not a bad walk- about 20 minutes to St Peters Square. A little more challenging on the way back- all up hill- but definitely worth it.

We had dinner right by the pool and the service was great and the food delicious. Again, very quiet and peaceful, right outside the city. Ditto for breakfast.

Definitely would recommend this hotel for a different Rome experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

...and you'll get a lot! This is a very expensive hotel but it is really worth it. Don't judge it by its outside facade either. Pulling up to the front it doesn't look very grand, but once you enter, it is like you are in paradise!

The room was wonderful. It was spacious and beautiful with a very comfortable bed and a nice hot shower. We paid extra for the Rome city view and I would absolutely recommend this! We also really enjoyed the Turkish bath and jacuzzi down in the spa- beautiful, clean, and soothing.

Many people probably say this hotel's downfall is its location outside of the city, but we didn't find that to be a problem. If you want to get into the city earlier than the shuttle could get you there (first service left the hotel at 8:30am when we were there) there are taxis waiting right at the front gate and a ride to Vatican City (where you can very easily catch the subway to other parts of Rome) is less than 10 Euros. The shuttle only runs once an hour which isn't a lot, and the last (9pm) pickup in the city was so crowded one night that some guests couldn't fit on the coach and had to call taxis. So just make sure you plan ahead to be at the shuttle stop early. And if 9pm seems too early for you, think again! We were glad to arrive back to our room before 9:30 because it allowed us to add some relaxation to our vacation and visit the spa or hotel bar. The shuttle driver was so courteous and friendly, I wish I'd gotten his name because he really was one of the best staff members we encountered in all of the six hotels we stayed at on this trip.

The only mishap was a tiny one with the minibar that was quickly fixed. Without reading the warning on the door, we removed a whole bunch of items so that we could chill a bottle of wine and didn't realize until hours later that the refrigerator is computerized so that if you lift an item and don't put it back for 30 seconds, you will be charged for it! Oops, guess we don't spend a lot of time around minibars. We explained it to the front desk and they said as long as we put all the items back before we check out, they would clear all the charges- then they asked us what kind of wine we were chilling and started giving us wine tips and tricks! They were totally cool about it, so just be careful with the minibar!

Also breakfast was delicious- a huge variety to choose from, and a big assortment of the freshest fruit you'll ever taste! It is an expensive extra cost, but you really get a lot of breakfast for your money. Another extra little tip- try to share a van from the airport rather than grab a taxi. It saved us a little bit of money.

This will be an expensive stay, there is no doubt about that. But it is a splurge that will be well worth it! I wish every hotel we stayed at had been like the Cavalieri, but sadly it wasn't in our budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a Rome view. It costs extra but you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmelyeKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel certainly lives up to the expectations of the Waldorf Astoria brand. The decadence from the moment we walked into the lobby and our room were amazing. The hotel is a bit out of Rome but they run a free shuttle bus service to and from the historic centre which is a welcomed addition. The pool and surrounds of the hotel are magnificent and make it feel more like a beach resort than a hotel. Unfortunately we only stayed there one night but would definitely be coming back here on our next trip to Rome

Room Tip: Any room facing city is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregMarshall_762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,470 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#79 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing