We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #67 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Utterly luxurious”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent the first four nights of our honeymoon at this wonderful hotel and we loved every minute. We were so utterly indulged that we had to literally drag ourselves out of the hotel to go sightseeing. Breakfast was the best we had ever experienced with everything you could possibly want. Nothing was too much trouble for the extremely helpful and wonderfully trained staff and the hotel spa was superb. The hotel is extremely luxurious with some lovely paintings and sculptures and is beautifully decorated. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MmeBarbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts to celebrate your honeymoon in the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,935
    1,055
    407
    211
    115
See reviews for
1,164
2,731
154
819
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Waldorf Astoria for two nights in July. I had originally booked an imperial room with the city view. On check in they told me they had upgraded us to a suite. The room was very spacious and decorated in the grand style of the rest of the hotel. The only disappointing feature of our room was that we were on the third floor and didn't really have much of a city view. But since the room was so big and beautiful we didn't take issue with it. The bathroom in the suite is narrow but very deep and includes a sizable tub, a makeup area, and a separate shower in addition to the toilet bidet and sink. The shower had a complicated temperature control that took a little while to figure out. Suffice it to say there was no shortage of hot water in the hotel.

Our rate included the imperial club which we visited the first night. The food and drink in the evening wasn't very impressive compared to other clubs in upscale hotels. The club actually was shut down for renovations and so we were moved into a ballroom on the main floor for the remainder of our stay. The breakfast spread was very good and the service prompt.

This hotel is not located adjacent to any monuments and is a bit of a cab ride to them. They do offer a shuttle bus that was complimentary to Piazza Barberini. We didn't take the shuttle as it only ran every hour and a taxi fare to the monuments we wanted to go to was not that expensive (<20 EU).

As others have pointed out the Internet charge is a ridiculous €25.00 per night. We dined in the hotel one evening and found the food to be tasty albeit a bit pricey, but really enjoyed the piano man who played that night.

Overall this property is worthy of the Waldorf Astoria name. The hotel has a fantastic collection of art which is prominently displayed throughout the property. We really enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want to take advantage of the city view make sure your in a room that is above the tree line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejbondar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. I would give it 3.5 stars The rooms are a good size and appointed in beautiful traditional furnishings. The public places include some museum quality pieces of art and the grounds are spectacular (leaving aside the style of the building itself). The food was good but not great and pricey. We did however not get a chance to try the famous La Pergola so it is probably not fair to judge (despite a 7 day stay the concierge wouldn't even look and simply said it is booked months in advance).

The service overall was excellent except as noted.

Here are some things that did not impres us: We booked our two rooms at a special rate and perhaps that is why we had been given rooms with terrible views. The breakfast service was inconsistent and we waited over an hour between courses at dinner. This hotel, as others have noted, charges for everything. Internet service, chairs by the pool, access to the fitness centre, access to the business centre are all extra and not at reasonable rates. If the Holiday Inn can provide complimentary WiFi why can't a luxury hotel? The answer is evident: because they think their clients can afford it so why not charge them.

Movies on demand were 25 euros (compared to 14 euros at other comparable luxury hotels) and we could not rewind them to the beginning to watch again (as kids often like to do) It was frustrating being nickled and dimed in such an aggressive way. The shuttles into town were always full and often people waited 30 min plus. We ended up taking a taxi each day into town in order to save ourselves the grief ( at a cost of 15 euros each way).

We needed the space and wanted a pool for our kids. I would return with the kids perhaps but am not 100% sure. It would depend on getting a very good deal on the base rate (given all the additional charges). Certainly, if it were just my husband and I, we would find something closer to the city (and one that has more amenities included in the price). But for all the charges I would have given it a 4.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cndykv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff. It a little outside of the city, but has a great view of Rome, plus the shuttle is great and was always on time. Breakfast plentiful and delicious. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatch15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in an Imperial Club room and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Although the hotel is some distance from central Rome, we really loved the incredible views and resort-like feel of this hotel. We didn't have any issues with the shuttle--there were lots of empty seats each and every time (we stayed from July 20th-25th). We took a number of cabs from the city center as well, and the fare was never more than 20 euro, and usually around 10-15.

Food at the hotel is expensive; however, there are some cute and delicious restaurants within easy walking distance. Foodoo is fabulous and fairly inexpensive...I highly recommend it.

Based on previous reviews, we booked an Imperial room, and it was one of the best decisions we made on our trip!!! Going over to grab a drink or breakfast on the terrace with all of Rome at your feet was truly an incredible experience!! Plus, you get free pool and spa access--don't miss the Turkish bath. We definitely wished we had one of those when we went to Florence and Venice!

I would definitely return to this hotel. We're already planning another trip. The service is excellent without being overbearing. (We stayed at the St. Regis in Florence for the next part of our trip, and while it was absolutely lovely, we lived in constant fear of the butler--he kept coming around to shine our shoes and to deliver ice and coffee and treats. It's different here--the staff is more than willing to help with anything, but they stay more in the background, which we prefer).

I'm so glad we chose to ignore the negative reviews...I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you can get an Imperial room. Totally worth the extra money!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolarobin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Fantastic Room. Cost of eating at hotel ridiculous. No coffee or tea in Room. Cost of continental breakfast $35. Excellent service in dining room. 3 Smokers at the next table. Hotel 20 to 25 minutes from Via Veneto and Piazza Barberini. Most of the Front Desk indifferent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank carolyns715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed there 7/17-7/19 prior to going on a cruise. We wanted to see as much of Rome as is possible in less than 48 hours. We arrived at the Cavalieri around 10 am after an overnight flight from Atlanta and a challenging trip from the airport. We were tired, a little rattled and just hoping to be able to store our luggage since we were so early. Alessandro was the man at the desk. He was very welcoming and found us a room right away. Now since we were paying for the room on Hilton Honors points I didn't expect to get the best. Our room was gorgeous! The bathroom was solid marble. If this is a room they use for rewards stays, I'd love to see the others.
After settling in we asked the concierge for a recommendation to a local restaurant. He suggested one about 10 minutes walk away. It was nice. Later the concierge got us on last minute to a Vatican tour. Those folks were very helpful in our goal to see as much as possible.
The hotel shuttle is helpful but the schedule is somewhat limiting. Expect to have to take some cabs. 15-17€ each way from Piazza Barbarini. We used that as our starting point because that is where the hotel shuttle drops off and picks up.
As expected everything at the hotel is rather expensive. Wifi costs unless you are HH Gold or higher. It is €25 per day.

We have stayed at some beautiful hotels over the years but the Cavalieri definitely made us feel like "Gypsies in the Palace"

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,680 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#82 of 1,258 in Rome
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,258 in Rome
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing