We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel a bit far from everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #67 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice hotel a bit far from everything”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. The rooms are very spacious and I had one with a balcony overlooking Rome which was very nice. Although the rooms have clearly recently been decorated, the style is old fashioned and a bit on the tacky side (not really to my taste but I can see others may like it).

Service was absolutely impeccable and the food (at breakfast and lunch) was very good and varied. The hotel has beautiful grounds and outdoor and indoor pools, as well as fantastic views of Rome from the various terraces.

The only real drawback was its location. Being on top of a hill (Monte Mario) in a residential area away from the main tourist attractions and without easy access to public transport, the only way to get around is with Rome's costly and unreliable taxis. Also, for an expensive 5 start hotel, it is a shame that, in this day and age, they charge for internet access (at 25 euro per day).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,939
    1,057
    407
    212
    117
See reviews for
1,168
2,735
154
819
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

It is true to say that this hotel is not exactly convenient for the main sights of Rome. However, there is a free hotel shuttle bus service (on a first come, first served basis) and taxis to and from Rome should cost you no more than 15 Euros. The fact that its not in the centre of Rome though, we considered a bonus. Rome is a beautiful and vibrant city but it is also extremely busy so being able to retreat to the hill over looking it is a real winner. You should also note that a Taxi to and from the Airport will cost you between 60 - 75 Euros.

The hotel is a little dated architecturally and perhaps the interiors may not be to everyone's taste. Having said this it is well kept and maintained with beautiful gardens and views. The interior décor lends itself more to the evening ambiance than the daytime and I strongly believe the evenings is where this hotel is a real winner. Whether you sit on the terrace overlooking Rome or in the lounge bar you are attentively looked after. I would stress that although attentive the service is no way intrusive. The staff also seem to genuinely enjoy what they do and want you to enjoy your visit. The majority of staff are unfailing polite and always speak when passing you in the corridors. The only exception to this is the small army of doorman, chauffer's and concierges who by and large ignore you unless approached. However, the hall porters are always there to make up for it with a ready smile.

It is worth noting that this hotel clearly does a lot conference business and so sometimes during the day it can feel a little like you are visiting the lobby of an office building... as I said earlier though the evenings where the guests largely have the place to themselves is when the hotel really proves it worth.

The rooms are clean and spacious. They are showing a little wear in places but should you need something attended to, rest assured it will be sorted and sorted promptly. Room service is quick and the food hot. Breakfast offers a wide range of choices which is to a good standard. The coffee top ups are readily available and staff are always on hand should you need anything. The only minor detractor for breakfast being that they seem a little slow to up the hot items. I'm sure if you asked though this would be attended to immediately.

So, an excellent hotel but you won't really appreciate it until the evenings. If you want to be able to walk to the sights in Rome then don't choose this hotel. But, if you want an Oasis of calm to retreat to from the busy city this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place is a delight - outstanding service from all staff, highly luxurious rooms and appointments throughout the hotel. But I found it very expensive...I would not be able to afford this for a personal vacation, and since my own business is a small privately owned business, I would not elect to stay here if I was paying for it myself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice and the rooms were what you would expect from a Waldorf hotel. Location was fine, 10-15 minute cab ride to town plus the hotel has a complimentary shuttle. Disappointed they charged $25 per day for WIFI or by the hour in the business center. My bad experience was with the restaurant at the property, La Pergola. The restaurant is on the top floor which offer great views of Rome so my wife and I thought we would go to dinner and take some pictures. The dress code requires a jacket for men, well i did not bring a jacket on vacation so we scratched the dinner idea but thought we could go early right when the restaurant opened, have a drink and take a quick pic on the balcony. I had a nice dress shirt and slacks on with dress shoes, the reaction we recieved from the host and hostess was appalling. The first guy walked up and didnt know what to do so he turned to another lady who looked me up and down like I was trash off the street. She suggested I come back tomorrow properly attired. I get it, they have to maintain their dress code and status but they should treat hotel guests better and people with common decency. The experience left a bad taste in our mouth for the rest of our stay (thankfully that was our last night there). Overall the hotel was nice, but that experience and the fact they charge you every which way they can during the stay is a turn off. I wouldn't stay there again, too many other options in the middle of town that are better priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FahmiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay, but as all Hilton Family hotels, internet WiFi is supplied by iBahn that has established various packages for all guests' needs, so we encourage our visitors to join the Hilton Honors fidelity program that when reaching a certain level, provides complimentary Wifi vouchers.

We regret reading about your impression of our gourmet restaurant La Pergola, but we would like to advise you that they provide dinner jackets to our guests, if they haven't brought one for dinner. We would also like to inform you that we have other alternatives for our guests to take pictures of the city centre and enjoy drinks casually.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Attended a medical conference here, but did not stay in the hotel. Did however eat here!. The property is more impressive inside as compared to outside. The staff inside is very helpful. The views from the pool area, and from the garden and outside sitting places is really good (overlooking Rome, and especially the Vatican). The main lobby is nicely decorated, and has lots of beautiful paintings hanging on the walls. The food is OK. We tried to use another restaurant once, and couldn't get in as there was a birthday party going on. It is my understanding that this hotel is the venue for quite a few conferences and other events throughout the year, and can be surprisingly busy. A big downside is that while it is a ten minute cab drive to the Vatican, it is not centrally located to see the major attraction in Rome, and cab costs could add up(though I understand that there is a hotel shuttle available, but not very convenient). Also there is a big telephone tower right across the road from the Waldorf Astoria, and radiation is some people's concern. It is certainly worth a visit(especially for a meal or two, if not living), but I would think that there are other hotels ( star near Spanish steps) or on Via Venizo / Natzionale that are more centrally located and very close to the main attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arshadmian786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your visit during your conference.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your meals at our restaurant and we would like to inform you that it is thanks to our location that we could provide resort facilities in a central location in addition to the breath taking view of the Eternal city.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion far a longer stay.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Cavalieri is everything you expect of a world-class hotel - beautiful facilities, top-notch service and a unique location. After 18 travel hours to reach the hotel from San Francisco, we were warmly welcomed by Aurelio at the front desk and upgraded to a beautiful city-view room based on my wife's Hilton Honors level. We were a bit disappointed though to find that only twin beds were available in the remaining view rooms. We did enjoy our stay but we found the hotel's location to be a bit remote - visits to the main tourist destinations required a 20 min, 16-18 Euro cab ride which made returning the hotel in the late afternoon impractical if we had plans downtown again in the evening. Overall, the staff was wonderful and the hotel facilities exceptional, but next time we may select a property that is more centrally located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LightFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Check in at the hotel was slow and terribly handled by a trainee. The room had no AC working as they only put it on in the summer. A Waldorf w/out individual climate control??
Worst yet not even the fan works in the spring. Rooms have good size but furnishings were old and I found ants in one of the tables. (Waldorf)???

If you are want to enjoy the pool and sun this is the place although I don't know why you would choose Rome for that.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adbtesh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We regret reading of your impressions, but we are glad to inform you that we are installing the 4 pipe system, so our guests could enjoy heating & airconditioning all year long to their liking.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#82 of 1,259 in Rome
1,967 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,259 in Rome
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing