We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great park in the centre of Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Borghese

Villa Borghese
Book In Advance
$85.70*
and up
Rome Segway Tour: Villa Borghese
Ranked #29 of 1,264 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Famous villa constructed at the beginning of the 17th century for Cardinal Scipione Caffarelli Borghese, nephew of Pope Paul V, which is surrounded by one of the largest and most beautiful public parks in Rome.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Nice, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great park in the centre of Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We hired Segways with the kids here. Ideal place for them to try out in a traffic free environment. Lovely views of the city overlooking Palazzo di Popolo. Park is vast with more than enough space to find a quiet little avenue to stroll along.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Macduff83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,501
    1,408
    326
    77
    40
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places in Rome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A walk at Villa Borghese is certainly a must for everyone! The park is huge and if you feel like running or riding a bicycle in Rome, this is the place to be! We rent 2 bicycles and we had the chance to ride them throughout the park and take great pictures. It was a refreshing experience! I would also suggest this place to travellers that dont like crowded places, because most of the tourists just skip it and anyway it is so huge that it can never be crowded. You will see people working out or playing music. I would suggest you to combine this visit with your visit in Galleria Borghese.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdermentzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have searched on here to find this wonderful little lake and now I have! In the Villa Borghese, there is a beautiful lake/pond and what was so great about this was that there were little row boats you could get on and row right up to this temple.

And it didn't just have little amusements like rowing, there was also various art galleries, places to eat, just a generally great place to be!

It was really a pleasant break from all the other hectic tourists sites in an around Rome. Do go here if you have time, it really is a must and won't be regretted.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hopelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I LOVED IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was very very nice. Very unique, very relaxing and also romantic..U will find alot of couples making out there , There is also many lakes with fountains and every inch of it is unique.. and also its clean, not as i expected which was good. I Really want to go there one more time

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lot to do in this big, beautiful park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We entered from the south east corner of the park and enjoyed the area around Piazza d Sienna (including a nice playground I did not think was so great but the kids LOVED). we rowed a boat in the pond (3 euro per person for 20 minutes) and that was short and sweet. Made our way out via Piazza de Popolo just in time for the sun to set! It was gorgeous, St Peters etc. If you can even visit for an hour, it's worth popping in. Of course, you could spend all day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank citysuburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Borghese also viewed

 

Been to Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing