We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real magnet--you must return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trevi Fountain

Trevi Fountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.84*
and up
Spanish Steps and Vicus Caprarius Underground small-group tour
Ranked #6 of 1,456 things to do in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Certainly the most famous and photographed fountain in Rome, legend has it that whoever throws a coin into the pond will return to Rome.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A real magnet--you must return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

IN 1980 I visited Trevi Fountain for the first time, and tossed my coins! In 2012 I returned! A lot of coins in the fountain and water out the spout! And a LOT more people standing in tiers to enjoy the classic beauty of the sculptures and the sound of the clear splashing water. That never changes. We could hardly get close enough to toss our coins, but we did. I pulled out some REALLY small change from my tiny zippered coin purse--gave a couple to my daughter in law and son, leaving less than 50 cents (Euro cents) in it, and stuck it in my pocket while I took pictures. I am always careful with the big stuff to keep it buried deep in my zippered purse! Later when I went to buy something cheap, it was gone! too tempting for the pick pockets that abound in these crowded areas. Just a warning, Italy is teeming with these petty thieves, everywhere. It didn't detract from the fun we had! A bright sunny day with the sparkling water to be enjoyed as did everyone else on the piazza.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tetamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57,886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35,089
    12,605
    5,984
    2,457
    1,751
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
222 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Amazed by it's beauty!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Truly amazed by the beauty of this famous tourist attraction...the Fontana de Trevi! Walked the old cobblestone streets of Rome to reach this architectural and engineering landmark. Being a first timer in Rome, I was surprised to see this magnificent work of art "hidden" within the old buildings in the city. I stood still for several minutes enjoying the lovely sight. Tossed a Euro to the fountain as tradition tells me, hoping and wishing to come back in the future.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank saint28daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
255 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely at night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited at night and during the day--very crowded but lots of police around. My husband was targeted for pickpocketing at this fountain on a past visit so I was very diligent to watch my surroundings. The lighting at night makes this a beautiful spot for a picture.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wiggygailTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
224 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Its a must for any trip to Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful and inspiring - you really do need to make it part of your Rome itinerary - some quite expensive shops in the vicinity but that is to be expected

Helpful?
Thank sdcsmith2000
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
422 reviews
250 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Lovely but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

When in Rome do as the Romans do, go somewhere else.
Kidding ....
Ofcourse one must visit Fontana di Trevi !!!! Its Historical, cinematic, and actually quite beautiful.
Then only thing that you may or may not find weird is that its TINY. When watching Audrey Hepburn dine across the fountain in " A Roman Holiday" or rather sit in the Piazza, I was expecting this fountain to be Gigantic. How wrong I was... Small , quaint but still stunningly beautiful The fontana di trevi is still worth a visit ... As is the amazing Gelato stores adjacent to it.
Beware of Pick pocketers ( so they say) even though we felt perfectly safe...
Steps away are the Spanish steps and the buildings surrounding the fountain is so adorable... Down the Road is my favorite store to visit : Rome's FENDI store gorgeous!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank angelina1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trevi Fountain also viewed

 

Been to Trevi Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing