We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, comfortable home-away-from-home”
Review of Maribell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maribell
Ranked #808 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2012

All the positive reviews are well-deserved: this B&B is an oasis of easygoing charm in the midst of Rome. Marina went above and beyond to make our stay relaxing and hassle-free, and her B&B is spotless, comfortable and in a lovely, untouristy neighbourhood with great shopping that's also walking distance from the Vatican. Marina recommended a local restaurant where we enjoyed one of the best meals we had in Rome - and that's saying something - and she graciously handled delivery of a lost bag so that we didn't lose any sight-seeing time. She also helped arrange a very affordable airport transfer. My husband and I shared the larger bedroom with detached bathroom (it's only steps from the bedroom door and behind a thoughtfully-placed privacy screen) and his mom slept in the smaller but perfectly comfortable second bedroom with attached bath. You feel as though you have your own apartment with this B&B, except that Marina is always available to help - and of course, there to make delicious coffee come morning. We would thoroughly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckleheadsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 151 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Great location, perfectly clean and extreme flexibility from the owner. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Yes, it is a gem, one of those places one would rather not share. On the other hand one also wants others to have that same superb experience, so here we go.

Marina is the one who weaves her magic in order for her guests to have the best possible experience while they are in Rome. Marina is the heart and soul of this B&B which she created just two years ago. Ask and nothing is too much.

While there are only two rooms, both are light, spacious, spotlessly clean and offer flat-screen TV. Both rooms have their own bathroom, though one has the bathroom just a few paces away. As I prefer a bath-tub I prefer the room with the 'separate' bathroom. Each room has AC and one room has two beautiful glass mosaics. Free Wifi is available in all the rooms. Each morning Marina will go to a baker further away as she considers this shop to have the better croissants.

Beneath the entrance is a great ice-cream parlour and around the corner is a Sicilian take-out that is famous for its arancini, a type of rice-balls.

Maribell is walking distance from all the major sites in Rome and the beauty is that one arrives to these by walking from the 'right' direction, in the sense that one walks through lovely cobbled streets, alleys and piazzas. These are so beautiful and one is almost forced to be really in leisure and in-take mode, with smells, sounds, colours and textures enveloping all our senses at once.

It is for this reason that Rome is an intense and full experience and to be able to come back to ones lovely room to rest and relax. With Marina's help one can then prepare the next tour into Rome, or an evening stroll along new routes.

After a short while one has a feeling that Marina is a friend and this too changes one relation to Rome, making Rome strangely more familiar and accessible.

Another point that is nice, is that this is a residential area and one can experience daily life of the local people. A Billa supermarket is just a 5 minute walk away.

The option that Marina can organise pick-ups from the airport is also a welcome treat as after a long journey an additional hour might just be that little bit too much. It also gives a feeling of luxury to have a car waiting to take us to Maribell.

This is a very special B&B with a warm-hearted and experienced host offering nicely appointed, spotless and spacious rooms. What more does one want from a B&B?
A

Room Tip: Room with ensuite bathroom with shower and room with own bathroom with bath-tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay in Maribell and we couldn't be happier. Marina is extremely gracious and she couldn't be more helpful if she tried. You only have to mention a place of interest to you and she is immediately on the computer finding all the information that you need. If you need some suggestions about what to see she will also help you with deciding. The 2 bedrooms are both very nice. We had the much larger room that has the private bathroom just around the corner, very close, and so we found it very convenient and not a problem at all. Our friends had the smaller room with it's own bathroom. Both rooms are very pleasant and the beds are comfortable. The WI FI is available for everybody with no charge.

The dining area for breakfast has an intimate atmosphere and so it is very homey with Marina always on hand making wonderful cappuchinos or whatever coffee you prefer. The breakfast has several selections of cereal, rolls, croissants, yoghurt etc and we found it very adequate.

We found the location was very good and convenient for most things in Rome. You are near Trastevere for the evening which is fun for dinner and we also had dinner close by on our first evening at a restaurant that Marina recommended. We found it excellent.

If you are considering staying with Marina, do not hesitate. You cannot be disappointed as it is a lovely little place made 100% perfect by the presence and the help supplied by Marina. Nothing is too much bother for her.

Congratulations to you Marina for being such a wonderful hostess and may your B&B continue to thrive. We shall return if and when we are in Rome again.

Room Tip: Decide between between the bigger room with separate bathroom or smaller room with it's own bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have just returned from 5 nights here, staying in the Gaia room, which has the private bathroom. While this room is not as spacious as Tiberius, having its own bathroom makes it worthwhile, and it has air conditioning and WiFi that all works as well. Marina is a lovely hostess with excellent English, who is helpful in every way with transport suggestions, restaurant ideas, and she wrote us an 'insiders guide' to our day in Napoli as well, to ensure we saw the best sights and were safe. The location is excellent, very close to metro stop Lepanto on the A line, which makes getting across the Tiber easy to visit Centro Storico. Vatican City is a short walk from the B&B. Loads of nice places to eat that are close, or within easy walking distance from Maribell and Marina will make reservations for you, if you require. Breakfast is good and Marina makes great coffee. There is an electric kettle in the room as well, with supplies for tea/coffee which is unusual in Italian hotels/B&B, and is a very welcome addition to the room. The mini bar is stocked with useful soft and fruit juice drinks as well. It was a wonderful B&B and Marina the perfect hostess.

Room Tip: if you book the room without ensuite, you will need a dressing gown for the bathroom. A good B&...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed with Marina for 5 days and LOVED it and her. Although she only has 2 rooms to rent, the quality of her service and help are great. Besides making us feel very much at home, her service, breakfasts and help were one of the gems of our trip. We enjoyed talking with her and she was very available to help us with all of our questions. She delivers the top notch service of a big hotel with the warmth of an Italian home. The location of her place is close to the Vatican and to the Metro too. It was a wonderful experience for us there and spending time with Marina.

Room Tip: We liked the room with the private bath but the shower was very small - not good for any obese peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easydoesit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I organised 5 days in Rome for my 73 yr old mother in law and her 70 yr old sister. Both are very young at heart but I was nervous in case anything went wrong. Marina was fantastic. She booked transport to and from the airport and looked after my family so well. She gave them maps each morning to find the local sites, booked tickets for nearby museums, and pointed out the best local restaurants They both said on their return that they wanted me to leave a review saying 10 out of 10. Location was fantastic and they walked everywhere (they are so fit!), room and apartment was lovely, and breakfast and coffees very good. Thank you Marina - when I come to Rome will definately stay at Maribell.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
B&B Roman Suite
B&B Roman Suite
#731 of 3,734 in Rome
29 reviews
Prati
Ricordi di Roma
Ricordi di Roma
#1,488 of 3,734 in Rome
41 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#462 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#352 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maribell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maribell

Address: Via Dei Gracchi 278, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #808 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $275 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Maribell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribell Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing