We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Rome”
Review of Osteria St. Ana

Osteria St. Ana
Ranked #258 of 12,367 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Description: Dinner only. Ancient roman restaurant, roman cuisine, fresh fish, suitable for romantic dinners. Outdoor tables, wifi. Pianobar.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best of Rome”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

When he heard that I would be traveling to Rome, my 50 year old son said, "Mom, I've been to a great restaurant that is off the main tourist track and you must go there." Since he has dined all over the world in the best of the best, I took his advice. Osteria St. Ana was his pick and I discovered it to be the best meal of my trip to Italy. From the first course of seafood to the grilled fresh vegetables and delicious lamb chops with a fabulous finish of chocolate, the meal was perfect. The house wine was full bodied and excellent quality. Roberto Quagliarini and his brother run a first class restaurant with outstanding service at a very reasonable cost. I visited St. Ana with two friends and we all agreed it was the perfect spot to celebrate the end of our Italy visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TybeeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    222
    84
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tasty find”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My friends made reservations here and I had no idea what to expect. The restaurant was charming, the staff was helpful and attentive, with good english skills to my poor italian. I had the pecorino with honey as an appetizer, along with sharing some crispy artichokes - I could be addicted, and grilled lamb with roasted potatoes and grilled vegetables. The house wine was good, not the best I've had, but for the price it was nice. I would definitely go back on my next visit to Rome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira
Level Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill - AVOID”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions, but think it is steadily going downhill which is a real shame.
The food used to be fantastic, but now it is just ok and the good service has disappeared and is now awful. Only half of our starters arrived, so I asked how long the others would be, they never arrived, then our main courses arrived when we had not finished the starters, it felt like we were being rushed. After this speedy service we then had to ask twice for them to take the dirty plates away - I think 25 minutes sitting with dirty plates is excessive. Our waiter then had the nerve to write on the bill TIP and told us the bill does not include tip.......... how rude and not very Italian !
There are such fantastic restaurants in Rome there is no excuse for awful service and poor food and then asking for a tip ! - I would avoid

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twangies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dont go!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Poor service and food that we had to send back, it was a special anniversary for us and we went here on the hotel recommendation, big mistake!! If you only like Pasta and poor service, you are okay, this is the place for you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 18lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restuarant”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We ate here our last night in Rome, based on a recommendation from our hotel. We wish we would have known about it sooner. We had a mixed seafood antipasti, all fresh and delicious. The baked pecorino cheese with truffles was wonderful. Our pasta puttenesca flavorful, and tuna tartare nicely seasoned. Along with a bottle of wine, our total bill was 69 Euros. Probably the best value we found in Rome.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elliot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria St. Ana also viewed

 

Been to Osteria St. Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing