We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great escape from the restaurants at the Marriott Coutyard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Sacchetti

Taverna Sacchetti
Ranked #1,780 of 12,045 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tel. 06.3012352, cell. 339 46 47 839. Near Courtyard Central Park Rome
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
221 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great escape from the restaurants at the Marriott Coutyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard Central park for 5 nights. After eating at the hotel we decided we needed to explore the neighborhood some, and came across this place. What a great find. It was packed all three nights we ate there with locals and I think only one night were there other tourists there. The food was very good in taste and preparation with home made pasta and two "specials" of the night, one pasta and one second plate. We had something different every night and did not have a bad meal. The local wine was good and very expensive (6 Euros for a liter).
The staff was attentive and I thought went out of their way to make sure our food was good. Every once in a while they would come by with something we did not order but wanted us to try it.
It as a fun place to eat, and we enjoyed it as evidenced by us going there for three of the nights we were in the area.
If staying at the Marriott and looking for some good home cooked food at very reasonable prices then take the three block walk to this place.

BObK

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B0bK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    127
    46
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved the Ragu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We just happened on this little restaurant and ended up eating here twice. Service is good and you're around lots of locals. Highly recommend the ragu sauce and the pasta with mussels and clams. Price is very reasonable too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baldrjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This restaurant, without pretensions but recommended by staff at the nearby Courtyard By Marriott Rome Central Park, offers Roman cuisine that is decent local fare not created for Egon Ronay or food snobs. Service is adequate, the menu is basic but varied enough and prices are relatively low. I was the only tourist in there, which is always a sign that food is made to appeal to the locals rather than those unfamiliar with the authentic cuisine. Menus were presented in plastic sleeves and everything about the place said "homemade". Food was much better than the aura of the place suggested, though the house wine looked and tasted pretty ordinary. Cappuccino was good and dessert was adequate and, again, homemade. Prices were reasonable and not topped out by a need to travel into the city for something more expensive and perhaps more tourist oriented. All in all a good find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great deal for people at the Marriott Central Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

A breath of fresh air compared to the hotel prices. 6 euros for a litre of house wine !

Menu limited but the pasta dishes are excellent.

Basic but tasty and full of locals - always a good sign.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scicoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great deal near Courtyard Marriott & Policlinic Gemelli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Highly recommend as it gives an authentic fresh interpretation to Roman cooking. We were staying at Marriott on Monte Marriott and hotel staff recommended as place they would eat at. We were the only tourists. Understand that doctors and staff fro, nearby Gemelli Hospital. Gnocchis were hand made fresh. I had grilled lamb we split salad then had desert coffee. Best part they did bill by hand on the table cloth 40 Euros including tip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kenzahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Sacchetti also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Sacchetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing