We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird!”
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #42 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Strange from the moment we arrived! It is really a hotel or not?
Office next door to a set of rooms. Desk clerk warned us that we were booked in a small room. Showed us a refrigerator in the hall outside our room - told us bottled water would be replaced daily. It never was but we found extra water in the closet and helped ourselves.
Found it really weird when we were told to call 9 on our phone after 10PM as the office would be closed. I have never stayed at a hotel where no one was in the building at night. It was uncomfortable since we do not speak Italian but we were reassured another hotel would answer the phone.
Shower very small - no way to avoid water on the floor. Slippery floor , diificult getting out of shower. Some mold on side walls
Then maid forgot to replace toilet paper. Called front desk. Finally, just gave up waiting and searched the closet out in the hall and found some. Later we were told the maid was late coming it!
Roof top terrace was a hike up steep stairs, floor tiles broken in places.
I would not return here on future visits as sheets were not changed the entire 3 night stay.
Breakfast tray teabags never replaced.
This is not a hotel just rooms someone decided to rent without much service to the guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRD823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

GDear JRD823 ,

Thank you for your review.

We are truly sorry that your stay wasn't pleasant .

The Vatican View is not famous only for its location (a few steps from San Pietro square), but also for its modern, new and design rooms.. To ensure everything even after three years of opening and to maintaining the beauty and modernity of the Hotel, unfortunately we had extraordinary works.
Furthermore, the Vatican View is distinguish from other hotels due to its uniqueness. Indeed, we have a modern reception where our kind and always available multilingual staff provide you a service 24 hours on 24, two types of rooms (standard and deluxe), equipped with everything, where you can relax after a day of sightseeing in Rome, and, finally, a fantastic rooftop terrace, equipped with sofas and tables, overlooking the dome of St. Peter's and Castel Sant'Angelo .
We are truly sorry also for the inconvenience that have been caused by our cleaning staff, this is the first time who someone report us something about it, but I guarantee to you and to all our future guests that it was also the last time.
I invite you to stay again at the Vatican View Hotel where we will do our best to make wonderful your next holiday. The happiness of our customers is the first thing for us! It's not an usal phrase, we are very keen to all our guests.

Kind Regards,

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 786 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

This place is not actually a hotel! Its a building of rooms that have been refurbished, It is very modern and stylish but its like renting a room or something. The elevator doesnt go to the bottom floor, there are 7 sprial steps to drag your luggae up. Again the rooms are beautiful but the rooms are tiny, very tiny; paris style. It is literally right next to vatican and st peters basilica. Once you have seen the vatican, sistine chael, etc; the novelty of this place wears off. it surrounded by tourist trinket shops and marginal tourist cafes. As mentioned in other reviews, the day time hotel clerk is strange, appears friendly but always working little angles. The Hotel de Consul , four blocks north and two blocks off the square looks nice and normal. We wouldnt stay there again, definitely not.

Room Tip: the standard rooms are extremely small, modern and very clean but tiny; paris style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theperfectplace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Theperfectplace1 ,

Thank you for the review.

Relais Vatican View is a new Hotel opened about three years now, modern, clean, cheerful and different from others due to various aspects .
We offers two different types of double room. The standard: normal size ( larger than a room in Paris ) , modern , equipped, soundproof, private bathroom with shower , wooden beams , safe, breakfast kit and water. And then there is the deluxe room: larger than the standard , modern , equipped, soundproof, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, wooden beams, safe, breakfast kit and water. Both rooms offer a pleasant feeling of well-being when you return from a long day of sightseeing in Rome .. Also, we have a fantastic panoramic terrace, open day and night, available for all our customers who want to enjoy the view of the Vatican and Castel Sant' Angelo sitting in the sofas with a glass of wine ( four bottles of your choice in each room).
Vatican View Hotel enjoys a beautiful location, just 10 seconds walk from the Vatican, two minutes from Castel Sant' Angelo, 10/ 15 minutes from Popolo square, along the famous Cola di Rienzo street, Spanish steps, and, crossing the tiber, 10 minutes to Navona Square, Pantheon and Campo de Fiori.
We are sorry to read that you will not sleep at Vatican View next time.. The happiness and well-being of our customers are the most important things for us, for this reason I invite you to come back soon in our Hotel where we will do our best to get you an unforgettable holiday.

Keep in touch with us through our official website or through our Facebook page.

A big hello from all the staff!

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is a boutique hotel with modern contemporary style. We stayed on the second floor in an equestrian themed room - very chic and spacious with a couch and a desk. There is also a very nice rooftop deck that has couches and plenty of places to drink and dine. Daniel, the concierge, was very kind and helpful. He set up a guided tour of the vatican for us and recommended many good restaurants. He assisted with setting up transportation to the airport as well. The location cannot be beat - especially because I believe that the Vatican is the crown jewel of Rome, Italy and perhaps Europe. You are literally less than two minutes walking to Saint Peters. I feel compelled for the safety and health of others to share one thing about our room- there was severe mold and mildew in the shower. At first blush, I didn't really care, but as our trip progressed, my husband and I became rather sick from the smell and we both had problems with our sinuses. We had to keep the door to the bathroom closed and windows open most of the time. When we shared this with the concierge, he was apologetic and presented us with a bottle of champagne, which was very generous. But I spent a week recovering from how bad I felt. Hopefully, they have corrected this situation already, but if you notice mold or mildew in your shower, I would suggest you ask for a different room or have it cleaned immediately, as it is not worth getting sick over. Overall, I would return, having learned my lesson about the mold.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gusto41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Gusto41,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our Hotel for its great location, for one of our most knowledgeable receptionist, Daniel, who doesn't miss any good restaurant in Rome, for its modern rooms and its panoramic and equipped terrace open day and night. Instead , we are very sorry for the inconvenience about the mold. Our showers are large, modern (such as rooms), cleaned everyday and decorated with pure mosaic. It 's the first time who someone reports a problem like this in our bathrooms and we are really disappointed because we want so much the health, the well-being and the happiness of our customers. Now the problem has been solved thanks to a special anti-mold treatment that, for safety, we performed also in the other baths. Sometimes, unfortunately, even though we are very careful to prevent every problems, there may be drawbacks such as these.
We invite you to come back soon to enjoy with us a new healthy, pleasant and fragrant holiday ;)

A big hug from all of us.

Alessandra .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had an overnight stay planned in Rome, so I emailed the Vatican View to reserve a room and schedule a car to pick me up at the hotel. Easy exchange of information and the reservation was confirmed.

Arrived in Rome and met the car with no problem. After a 45 minute ride into town I arrived at the hotel which was located about 1.5 blocks from the Vatican - Great Spot. But, as I approached the hotel I couldn't seem to find the entrance / lobby. So I called the lobby on my cell phone and an extremely polite and professional gentlemen emerged from what appeared to be a gift shop immediately next to what I thought was the entrance to the hotel.

I entered the office area a bit confused and sure enough, this was the lobby. After I checked in the gentleman escorted me out of the office and into the hotel building (after locking up the "lobby" behind us). Now at this point I was a) chuckling to myself and b) rather enjoying the unique experience. We hopped into a very slim elevator and reached the third floor where he showed me my room.

Now the room was a bit small, but I thought it was great. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fantastic. Would have been too small for any children or a couple with a lot of luggage, but it was perfect for me. The main thing was how clean and modern the bathroom was. It made the entire room just that much better.

I grabbed a bottle of wine from the wall (yes the wall) and headed to the roof to take in the view of the Basilica and the city. I ended up meeting two random folks from Australia / England and we had (in my opinion) a great time sharing a glass of wine and finding a spot to eat in the local area. Again, you couldn't beat the location.

Checked out the next morning and they had a car waiting for me at a pre-arranged time.

All in all a good hotel for a quick visit. Would have been a bit too small for a full week, but I would wholeheartedly recommend for 3-5 day visits. The staff were very polite, the hotel was clean, and the views of the city were quite good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiddleEastBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear MiddleEastBP,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that your stay at the Vatican View was nice :) The Hotel is small but luxurious, with rooms of various types and various sizes (standard, deluxe and suite / family) that can accommodate up by a single person to five members of a family. We always urge our customers to contact us by phone or by e-mail (you will find all our contacts just in our official website) to explain their idea of ​​a vacation in Rome and their needs .. in this case we can advise you the best type of room and / or services that you can book to make wonderful your stay at the Vatican View.

We hope to see you again soon! Maybe next time you can try one of our beautiful and romantic deluxe rooms or our indescribable and fantastic suite with your family.

Greetings from all of us!

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at the Vatican View hotel in October and would highly recommend this wonderful hotel for your next visit to Rome. Don't be put off by the small lobby which is actually just next door to the entrance. Although it does not initially look like a typical hotel lobby you will immediately get a warm greeting from the wonderful and very attentive staff. Alessandra and Fabio were so helpful, friendly and hospitable. They provided excellent guidance to help us navigate the city. The room was very comfortable, clean and seemed to be almost newly renovated. There was a small kitchen with a refrigerator which was a nice bonus and the rooftop patio provides a nice relaxing place to unwind in the evening with beautiful views of the city. And all this for a very reasonable price. Do yourself a favor and book this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There are some stairs involved in getting to the elevator although there is assistance if needed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prw106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Prw106

Thank you so much for this lovely review, our motto is "arrive guest and leave friend" and we truly care to give to all of our friends a nice welcoming.
Our hotel it's a small building only because the building itself it's a historical place and we are located in a strategical area, 10 minutes from all the famous places like Castel saint Angelo,Navona square and also Spanish steps and just a step away from the Vatican.
By the way, we are so happy that you enjoyed our Deluxe Room and also our terrific Roof top terrace and every friend that want to take a look a these places can go on our official website and see the pictures.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you.

Daniel - Relais Vatican View - Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location was great, right by the Vatican. The room was very nice but the hotel had a strange setup. There is no lobby/reception desk, just a little shop next door that sells knick knacks that acts as the lobby. Youre guided thru an unmarked door up a narrow spiral staircase or elevator to your room. The room was very nice and clean. The windows were double paned so it was pretty quite and we slept well. One big problem we had during check in, Fabio, said there was flooding on our floor so he moved us to a cheaper hotel down the street for one night, then "upgraded" us for the rest of our stay. We were not compensated the difference in rooms. We really felt this was not the truth and they gave our room away. That was really disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Minou,

Thank you for your review and we apologize again for the inconvenience.
Unfortunately we had a big problem with the water pipes, and to solve it keeping you safe, we were forced to close the rooms.
The Relais Vatican View is a new hotel, so at times like these inconveniences may occur. To apologize we always try to give the best to our guests with some upgrades, in this case we given you a beautiful deluxe room instead of the standard .. all accompanied by our very nice staff that operates from a particular reception :)
I invite you to go back to the Vatican View in order to make your experience exceptional from all points of view!

Kisses and hugs from all of us.

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Vatican View hotel made our four day stay in Rome perfect, the staff are lovely, the location is fantastic and an added bonus is the roof terrace with the view of St Peters Basilica. If we ever get the chance to visit Rome again this is definitely where we would stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Donna

Thank you so much for your lovely words on this review.
Our strong point is make happy our guests (first) that become friends (after).
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed our beautiful rooftop deck and also we are happy that you choosed us to celebrate your birthday.
So, next time that you want to come to Rome, take a look at our official website to find out all the offers available for the period in which you are interested to come.

A big hug from all of us.

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#120 of 1,271 in Rome
491 reviews
Starhotels Michelangelo
#167 of 1,271 in Rome
1,168 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,271 in Rome
1,437 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#101 of 1,271 in Rome
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $117 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing