We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #39 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We just returned from a visit to Italy. We spent three nights in Rome and stayed at the Vatican View. If you are headed to Rome to see St. Peter's square, St. Peter's Basillica, the Vatican museums and the Sistine Chapel this is the place to stay. The walk to St. Peter's square was mere seconds. In fact it was so convenient that in our 3 days in Rome we went in and out of St. Peter's Basillica three times, seeing many different things each time. The location allowed us the abililty to get into St. Peter's square for Pope Francis' first Angelus blessing!!!! The proximity to the vatican was fabulous and yet it was also close to all of the other major venues in Rome. It was a short taxi ride to the Colosseum and Forum and after visiting those venues we walked to the Trevi fountain, spanish steps and the Pantheon. When we arrived the first afternoon we were greeted warmly and brought up to our rooms (we were a group of four so we had two rooms). We then went up to the rooftop terrace, snapped a quick picture of the vatican and sent it back to the states using the free wi-fi. The breakfast kit was enough to get us going each day. The only downside I have to mention is that the "kitchen" area in the room was not very clean. The counters seemed dirty and there was a very dirty sponge under the sink. Other than that I found the remainder of the room clean and housekeeping did a good job each day. When I head back to Rome I will definitely stay at the Relais Vatican View.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bridgetnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Bridgetnh,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are apologize about the incovenience of the kitchen.. These days at the Vatican View we're trying a new waitress and, unfortunately, it's not always easy to control what she does. We are truly humbled .. but thank you for reporting this issue, we will check, day after day, every corner of the Hotel because we want just the best for our customers.
Nevertheless, we are happy to know that your stay with us was pleasant also and above all thanks to our perfect location.
We hope to see you again soon :)

A big hug from us.

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 768 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hello to everyone,
w accomodated our business guests at Vatican View and all of them were very happy and fully satisfied with both, service & standard offered. Extremely helpful and open-to-help staff enabled the whole stay to become a greatest experience for majority of our guests.
I recommend highly!
cheers
Pawel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Pawel,

Thank you so much for the nice review :)

We are so glad to know that all your business guests were happy during their stay at the Vatican View. Although it's a short stay, we always try to give our best to make them feel on holiday even when they are working.
It was a pleasure to help you and all your guests.

Come back soon!

Regards,

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Vatican View, arriving as the new Pope Francis appeared at the window. Fabio, at reception, shared his computer screen with us to see the moment. We heard the crowd outside cheering as we checked in. The room was very modern, clean and comfortable. It had a small kitchen with stove top, kettle, sink and fridge - all you would need to fix a snack or meal. On the roof is a terrace, with comfortable seating, where you can see part of St Peter's Bascilica, or people watch on the street below. The hotel has a small elevator (maybe 2 people) with access to all 4 floors. The front door is literally 50 meters from St Peter's Square, so you can judge the best time to avoid lineups. There are plenty of little restaurants and souvenir shops in the neighbourhood and the hop on bus can be accessed 500 meters from the square. We had asked for an airport car to pick us up, Fabio was so obliging to call the company and confirm our booking - they go the extra mile to ensure your stay is wonderful. I don't know the star rating of this hotel, but it must be a 3 star at least.

Room Tip: 3rd floor at the front, nice street view. Not too noisey after 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Buff60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Travel-Buff60,

Thank you for the fantastic review.
We are so glad to know that your stay was good also thanks to Fabio and his computer screen ;) Everyday we try to do our best to make wonderful your holidays.. by big and little things.

We hope to see you again soon ;)

A big hug,

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Vatican relais is not really an hotel, in fact I really had to search the entry as the Relais reception looks like a normal shop from Outside... But then the experience started and was great. The staff was very nice and helpful, I have first been guided to my room located in the building next door. When you enter the building, you immediately enter in a very nice, cosy atmosphere. The overall design of the room was also a good surprise, spacious, with nice decoration... There is no restaurant, but you will find many different bars and restaurant around the corner,,, finally the overall experience was quite unique.
The location of the Relais is perfect, just 5mn walk from the Vatican...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francois111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Francois,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to know that your stay with us was good.

Relais Vatican View is like a cave .. outside it looks "normal" as any other, but, coming in, it turns out its beauty .. Rooms are modern and equipped, spiral staircase design, large bathroom and a beautiful terrace.
We are pleased to know that you have noticed this.

Come back soon!

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a great choice for us. Close to the Vatican and very convenient to buses and the Metro. Clean as a whistle and quite comfortable. But the real delight is the staff - Alessandra, Daniel and Fabio were so welcoming and helpful. There is good dining right around the corner on Borgo Pio. Highly recommended if you want this neighborhood with easy transit to the rest of central Rome.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank TravelHarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear TravelHarp,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
We are so happy to know that your stay was great also thanks me, Daniel and Fabio. It was a pleasure for us to help you. We will wait you during the summer to enjoy with us the appetizer in the terrace.

A big hug and see you soon!

Alessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We chose this place because of Tripadvisor, so thought we should sign up and put our feedback on.

An enjoyable stay at Vatican View. The place is clean and the staff are very friendly and more than helpful. The rooms are nice and cosy and very clean. It has a lovely spiral stair case from bottom to top...but also a lift to carry your luggage up!! The roof terrace is a great place to sit in the sun with a drink looking at the top of St.Peters dome.

A couple of bottles of water and cakes are thrown in for free each day also! Breakfast in the morning can be enjoyed around the corner on Borgio Pio at one of the local bakeries.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for the beautiful review! It was so kind from you.

Congratulations! You have described very well the Relais Vatican View .. Our hotel is small but comfortable and clean. The rooms are all equipped and the staff always help you. The icing on the cake is without doubt our terrace where, in summer, we organize free and funny appetizers.

See you soon,

Alessandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was our first trip to Rome, Italy. Hotel was recommended by friend from one of world's biggest B2B travel agent. And it was totally highly recommended..!

Located only few seconds walking to Vatican Square, room was clean and nice. Yet price us much affordable.

Free Wifi with strong signal unlike others. Nice bathroom. nothing to complain at all. Perfect for everyone's vacation in Rome!

Staffs (Daniel and Fabio) are humbled and helpful. Big thumbs to you guys from both of us!

There are plenty souvenir shops around, one has very good price amongst others (take right once step out from the hotel, the 2nd shop on the right side).

Takes only few minutes enjoyable walkig to Subway to connect you to all exotic places in Rome.

Again, much recommended ones! We definitely will stay there again on next visit to Rome!

Sampai jumpa..!
Ricky and Icha
Bali, Indonesia

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickywirapatria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Ricky,

Thank you for the nice review!

We are very happy to know that your stay was enjoyable thanks to our structure, our position and our staff.
Come back soon with all your friends :) See you there!

A big thumbs up for you that you were fabulous!

Daniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,271 in Rome
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,392 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,531 reviews
Relais 6
#34 of 1,271 in Rome
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $93 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing