We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 days i lovely Rome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vatican View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vatican View
Ranked #34 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen
1 review
“5 days i lovely Rome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

The hotel is located right by St. Peter's Square. There are great big rooms, with separate tee kitchen and lovely large bathroom. There is a lovely roof terrace with views to the domes of St. Peter's Basilica. There are bars and nice little restaurants within a very short radius. Close to shopping and close to bus stop for tour buses. The hotel has no restaurant, but there are plenty of dining options in your neighborhood. We picked up breakfast at a bar and ate on the rooftop in the sunrise. Fantastic. The hotel has a very pleasant and helpful staff, it is cleaned and prepared well in the rooms every day. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    152
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
149
375
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We checked into Vatican Views for one night and were not disappointed. The establishment is not a hotel (does not operate a 24hr Reception Desk), nor apartments (limited in room facilities) yet is 'something' in between. Immaculate rooms, albeit of an average size, well appointed bathrooms and products and overall a modern and very clean property. Located within a 'stones throw' of the Vatican; great location. Would recommend for stays of less 3 nights or less.

Room Tip: All rooms were double glazed and all have limited views; therefore no helpful room tips to offer; so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorthKnowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I were first time travelers to Rome at the beginning of September. After doing several weeks of research we decided to book the Vatican view hotel. After spending 4 days in the best possible location for site seeing, we couldn't stop talking about our experience. 1st, even after reading reviews and seeing pictures, I was still nervous about the room size and functionality of a Italian hotel room. The room was perfect, except for the lack of dresser space, the bed was big, the closet was huge and the bathroom was better than what we expected. Very modern facilities, with hair dryer, stand up shower and even wi-fi in your room. Each night my wife and I would go site seeing in the different parts of Rome and then casually stroll back to the hotel. The Vatican is less than a 3 minute walk with great views from the upstairs terrace, and all major sites are less than 15-20 minutes from the hotel. You can easily find taxis outside the front door if you don't want to walk. The only thing I would say is that the restaurants around the hotel seem to be tourist traps. Go explore other places to eat, try cicci bomba, it was the best meal we had in all of Italy. You will not go wrong with this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bamma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Wonderful welcome from Fabio, beautiful contemporary rooms. Good quality linens, comfortable beds, fluffy white towels. Excellent location in quiet street within a few seconds walk of the Vatican, right next to the Vatican walls. We were lucky enough to get the room with direct private access to the roof terrace, with its modern comfortable seating and stunning views. But anyone in the hotel can use the terrace. The reception of the hotel sells wine which is very hand for a glass or two of prossecco on the terrace! No breakfast option but plenty of cafes just outside the door. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

This is an ideally located hotel for a short tourist trip to Rome. Literally 50 steps has you in St Peter's Square and tourist bus stops are just around the corner. We had a suite which accomodated the four of us well- the kitchenette was welcome.
All the staff were helpful and friendly - including carrying bags up staris when the lift was out of action.
The roof garden is wonderful- a fantastic location to sit and unwind after sight seeing and provides and unparrallelled view across much of the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann_thescan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Everything was ideally!
This hotel was the one of lovely part of our staying in Rome! Good location, clean and nice equipped room. The reception staff very professional, communicable and responsive. Thanks them for all.
If we ever will be in Rome again, surely come here.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank houseH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very luxurious and clean rooms!! Friendly and helpfull staff!! nearby the places of interest in Rome! Two steps away from the Vatican. A hotel to return to!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#60 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#42 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Relais 6
#31 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#56 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#30 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Hearth Hotel
#101 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Property: Vatican View
Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing