We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Second Floor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Second Floor
Ranked #453 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in October 2011. It is clean, new, pretty close to the Metro and when you eat your continental breakfast you have the Colloseum as a backdrop! Gabriele and Roberto are very personable and nice, as are the guys in the downstairs bar. Not that many places in Rome will offer continental breakfast, and it was pretty good, imo, the only problem was that it did not start until 10am, when the bar opened. We liked the happy hour food (quantity and quality wise) at the cafe near La Biga restaurant (not sure if it is the same establishment) - 10 euros for a trip to the heavily loaded table and a super potent alcoholic cocktail to boot, the best happy hour we had in Rome. The location also afforded for many 'Rome by Nighttime' walks on our own, as a number of sights were within walking distance. Termini is not too far away and can be walked, even when dragging a heavy carry-on. We are sure to stay here in the future and will definitely recommend this to our friends.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms-behaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    51
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
99
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Very friendly and helpful people, the rooms have fresh, very nice and pleasant design, they are large and very comfortable (especially the bed), calm and very clean. The breakfast included is copious. The location close to the roman colosseum is very well as it is possible to enjoy the ancient rome by foot from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at 2ndfloor very much. Location was excellent, right next to Colosseum (our room at a side view of the Colosseum). Staff are friendly and cute. Room were stylish, clean and comfortable. Breakfast, as some reviewers have said, was not exceptional, but still tasty and decent, and served with a smile.

Only problem I found is that the doors of the rooms were very thin, so noise from hallway can be nuisance, (the entrance door to 2ndfloor, slams shut which is very noisy) but this is only in isolated occurrences as their ain't allot of people going in and out. Faint noise from the club downstairs can be heard, but this did not keep us awake, and were no problem at all. All and all I felt very welcome and at home at 2ndfloor and will gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Zappa had a partial view of the Colosseum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

The B&B is in an excellent location- near metro and walking distance of most major sites (including the two most frequented gay bars in downtown). And surprisingly, our room was completely quiet for such a central location. The best part of 2nd Floor, however, is the staff. Gabriele and Roberto are friendly and helpful.
The breakfast situation, as others have mentioned, could be improved in various ways, but you can also just skip the bar downstairs and explore on your own.
We'll definitely be returning!

Room Tip: we asked for interior courtyard rooms to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puebla
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

It always is a hit and miss booking over the internet. This was perfect. Great location. The only thing I would say was not so great was the 'continental breakfast'. Otherwise I can recomend it

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

I stayed at 2nd Floor the first week of october (tacco 12 room). I really enjoyed my stay there. The room was really spacious and clean. The furnitures were very modern. The staff was really helpful and friendly.
I have stayed in accomodations before in San Francisco, Paris and Key West. This was the best in terms of what I got for my money.
If I were to visit Rome again, it would surely be where I would stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isotta00, Responsabile reception at B&B Second Floor, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Thank you very much, I am glad you had a great stay. I hope that you will be our guest soon again! Best wishes :) !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Located next to Colosseo, close to highlights.
Room (courtyard) are quiet, clean.
Personal is very helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NL-andre-010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Royal House
Hotel Royal House
#701 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Monti
Parco di Nerone
Parco di Nerone
#404 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Monti
Imperial Rooms
Imperial Rooms
#1,363 of 3,762 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Royal Rooms
Royal Rooms
#3,016 of 3,762 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Monti
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
#418 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Monti
Tre R Colosseo
Tre R Colosseo
#363 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Second Floor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Second Floor

Property: B&B Second Floor
Address: Via di San Giovanni in Laterano 10 | Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #453 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B Second Floor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first houses deluxe in the Rome gay-life's heart... The Gaystreet!The style to the fashion and "chic" of the environments Of Second Floor you/he/she is appropriately underlined by the eccentric names of the suiteses... all taken back by the famous paintings of "shoes" of the Russian painter Inna Panasenko... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your B&B Second Floor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing