We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good lunch”

Ristorante Il Piccolo Mondo
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 10/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #661 of 14,942 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ludovisi
Description: Back in 1954, a landlord of Amatrice opened this cellar to offer wine tastings of a very special wine produced by himself in the area of the Roman Castles. This Hostaria then became a Restaurant in the 1960s, and was managed by the sons of the owner, in the magic years of la "Dolce Vita". Soon guests from all over the world started visiting this restaurant, hence the name "Il Piccolo Mondo" (Small World). Today "Il Piccolo Mondo" offers the authentic traditional roman cuisine, with a modern twist. The restaurant's professionalism and constant desire to re-elaborate traditional ingredients shows their intention of respecting the past to create the future. The restaurant is divided into three main halls, able to host birthdays, lunches, dinners for any kind of event, always focusing on a high level of service and an extraordinary refined menu. Each menu is specifically selected and personalized by our Chef, based on the availability of the finest products of the season, and the highest quality of the ingredients. The staff of "Il Piccolo Mondo" is prepared and organized to support our Guests in the organization of their events. The staff works perfectly side by side with the Client, and will always find the perfect way to fulfill the requests and specific needs of each individual or group. We will follow you from the beginning to the end of the event. Our Chef Kristjan Kocjan, with his great experience and professionalism, he will be able to guide you through a culinary path mixing tradition and innovation. Our menu offers a range of dishes from real authentic "old" flavours to innovative mixtures, able to satisfy the most particular needs of our Guests. This food journey will take you, from the appetizer to the dessert, through an unforgettable experience for the mind and the heart.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had for lunch fried zucchini flowers, carpaccio and the clam spaghetti and tuna pasta. The appetisers were excellent and tuna pasta also, the clam pasta was tasty but maybe too salty.

We had the dessert plate also, it had five different desserts, really good, but quite heavy even for two persons. The house white was quite good DOC wine and we had a bottle of it with water.

The terrace was peaceful place to eat even though it was by a street. The service was efficient but maybe too many OK? or Is it good? questions.

Recommended for a visit. Our bill for two persons came to 110 euros, expensive for lunch but worth it.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank pekkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano A A, Proprietario at Ristorante Il Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Upon recommendation of our hotel concierge we chose to dine here this evening. We did not have a reservation, but managed to be seated quickly regardless. I would say a reservation is smart if dining here.
We ordered the artichokes, pasta carbonara, and the sea bass with the helpful advice of Mimmo. The food was delicious!
The only unfortunate part of the evening was the long waits in between service. The place was busy and they appeared to be short staffed. Mimmo's winning personality helped assuage the frustration of that.
All on all, good food + friendly service = a win.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Cat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano A A, Proprietario at Ristorante Il Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tasty dishes with excellebt quality products. Pure italian food.
Great recommendations from staff (lovely wine, fish of the day, truffle pasta, dessert degustazione: grazie Mimmo) !!!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank ninadelmolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano A A, Proprietario at Ristorante Il Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you from all our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks to all staff for great service and exceptional food. Big thanks to Mimmo for his food and wine recommendations, when in Rome Piccolo Mondo is a must. The swordfish was amazing and the Limoncello smooth as silk

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank JimC3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano A A, Proprietario at Ristorante Il Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your excellent review. We are pleased to have met your expectations. Greetings from Mimmo and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Delicious lunch for our first day in Italy! Mimmo was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. A great way to begin our vacation!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank swilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano A A, Proprietario at Ristorante Il Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your nice review. Greetings from Mimmo and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Piccolo Mondo also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Il Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing