We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Ranked #249 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at the Metropolis for a few days and it served as an excellent base for our trip to Rome. The hotel is comfortable with decent rooms wth pleasant high ceilings and wooden beams with electronic velux windows which was pretty cool!

The bathrooms were of a decent size with good facilities that worked properly! It is by no means a luxury hotel but it definitely does its job and is a good place to get to the rest of Rome. It is one block away from Lepanto metro which takes two stops to get to Piazza di Spagna. We walked everywhere though - it doesn't take long to get around and is a great way to see the city.

The area isn't fantastic, there aren't really any other hotels around but there doesn't need to be. The breakfast was decent and provided us with a good energy boost for the long 12-13km walking days. The staff were very helpful and answered any questions we had and printed out the e-tickets we booked for the Vatican Museums and Colosseum visits (I would definitely recommend pre-booking these to skip queues!).

All in all a good hotel, good service, good facilities and a good location, if you don't mind walking/hitching the metro to get to the tourist centre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 789 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is in a great spot if you want to be just outside of the hustle and bustle. It is very close to the Lepanto tube station and a 15 minute walk to the Vatican. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are extremely friendly. We were in a double room on the top floor at the back of the hotel. The room had a high ceiling with enough room to move around. There was a wardrobe with hangers but no drawer space. The room had a safe and mini bar. The bathroom was very modern with a double shower unit and power shower. The bathroom had a hair drier and complimentary toiletries which were topped up every day. We were also given clean towels every day. The breakfast was good with fruit juices, cereal, cold meats, cheese, scrambled egg, bacon, pastries cakes and yogurt. There was also a choice of different coffees. I would definitely return to this hotel if I return to Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merrills47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel was good, it was clean. Close to Vatican, metro station. Only i don't like rooms color. But i can't complain a lot, mostly all days we spend looking around the Rome. For sleep it's ok ;) the breakfast was amazing! I love it ! All in all we enjoy our stay in this hotel :)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mukaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had stayed in Metropolis when we were visiting Rome for our anniversary. I was expecting much more from the hotel considering the price we paid per night and the fact they mentioned it was a 4 star hotel, I had much more in mind. We had booked a standard room, but it was too tiny. The lighting in the room was not enough and dull, making the room look even more gloomier and compact. The bathroom was just about okay, surprisingly no latches or locks on the door. The shower room was like a dungeon with no lights and the dark tiles makes you feel a bit claustrophobic. It was mentioned on the booking site some of their rooms have bath tubs, they should mention that it only applies for the superior and deluxe rooms and not the standard rooms. The ply on the bathroom and bedroom furniture were coming off. The TV was fitted in such an awkward position that you could hardly see anything due to the glare. For a 4 star hotel they didn't even have iron in the hotel. Glad they had a very good breakfast menu, with lot many options but on the other had very minimal options for the dinner menu. There was no drinks menu at all, just 4 drinks to choose from. The hotel is about 20 minutes walking distance to the Vatican. The metro station (Lepanto) is just 2 minutes walk, so reaching to other tourist attractions is not very difficult.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shashmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I returned yesterday from may holiday in Rome. I have been to Rome several times but this was the first time I chose the Hotel Metropolis.
It was a very nice hotel with nice design. Rooms wasn't very spacious but very cute (I slept in a single then definitely smaller than the other).
WhenI return to visit my friends in Rome I think i'll sleep here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a nice quiet part of town, super close to the metro and the Vatican. The staff are wonderful - Christiano was especially helpful with great directions and restaurant suggestions. Although on the small side and not sound proof, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and have the option of twin share. The bathrooms are great, as is the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Recently married as a lesbian couple, my wife and I decided that we wanted to go to Italy on our honeymoon and enjoy the various sites near Rome, such as the Vatican, the Spanish Steps, etc. When we looked for the right hotel, we wanted a lush, trendy, boutiqish type of hotel. After several people suggested that we try out the Hotel Metropolis, we booked it. Upon our stay, I would have to say this Hotel truly provided an experience like no other. Centrally located, friendly and courteous service oriented staff, and a jacuzzi in the room, put the icing on the cake. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who plans to travel to Rome anytime soon!

Room Tip: Call the hotel and ask for specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brookaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#187 of 1,271 in Rome
1,631 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#228 of 1,271 in Rome
1,038 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#294 of 1,271 in Rome
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
#134 of 1,271 in Rome
482 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#153 of 1,271 in Rome
904 reviews
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#231 of 1,271 in Rome
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection

Address: Via delle Milizie, 26, 00195 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $93 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolis, pearl of the hospitality in Rome’s city center, stands out for its original and modern design, complemented by an elegant and familiar atmosphere, which makes pleasant your stay in the Eternal CityA few minutes walking distance from Vatican City and St. Peter's Basilica, Hotel Metropolis is ideally located to quickly get the main attractions of the city, without renouncing to the tranquility of the location.Very close to Lepanto subway station, the hotel is well connected with the city area of interest, the most important monuments, museums, shopping streets and the main railway station, Termini.The hotel offers comfortable rooms of several categories to meet the liking and needs of a varied and dynamic clientele. Each room is equipped with bathroom, with shower or bathtub, hairdryer, safe-box, courtesy kit.Among other amenities, Hotel Metropolis is completed by the presence of an inside Bar and Restaurant, where you can delight your taste with creative cocktails and Italian dishes of the finest quality and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing