We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hotel Happy Couple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Ranked #233 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy Hotel Happy Couple”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Recently married as a lesbian couple, my wife and I decided that we wanted to go to Italy on our honeymoon and enjoy the various sites near Rome, such as the Vatican, the Spanish Steps, etc. When we looked for the right hotel, we wanted a lush, trendy, boutiqish type of hotel. After several people suggested that we try out the Hotel Metropolis, we booked it. Upon our stay, I would have to say this Hotel truly provided an experience like no other. Centrally located, friendly and courteous service oriented staff, and a jacuzzi in the room, put the icing on the cake. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who plans to travel to Rome anytime soon!

Room Tip: Call the hotel and ask for specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brookaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    326
    94
    30
    30
See reviews for
132
360
21
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at the Metropolis Hotel in Rome. It's very conveniently located, a short walking distance away from the major sights Rome has to offer. A metro station is also close by for travelling further in the city.
The staff was very friendly and passionate. True Italians!
The squeeky clean rooms were modern and had free wifi. That always gets a thumbs up from me!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank th8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for her birthday weekend.
The hotel was a nice boutique hotel which was very comfortable and breakfast was great.
A couple of minor gripes was that there was no wi-fi in the hotel which i dont understand as all hotels have internet and there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.
The hotel although a 15 minute walk to the vatican there no restaurants or cafes nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Hotel Metropolis! We intended to stay one night in a double room for celebrate my wife' birthday where else but in Rome. In fact, arriving at the reception we have got an upgrade in a superb suite with jacuzzi as a gift.What can I say anymore? It was absolutely marvelous. Very clean room, good breakfast, confortable bed, a real four star hotel at a great price. Station metro Lepanto is at 200 meters , Saint Peter Cathedral , Saint Angelo or Navona at 10 minutes walking or one metro station. Via Cola di Rienzo full of shops is the next bulevard. There is even a big DeSpar market at 50 meters. We felt like actors in a good italian romantic movie. THANK YOU METROPOLIS ! See you next year!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CristiMihai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights in room 303. Good location, close walking distance to the Vatican but not a 4* hotel at all. Where to start - asked for an iron, no iron. Which 4* or for that matter any hotel doesn't these days offer an iron? We could send out clothes but it was 5 euro a shirt! ridiculous. 2nd, noisy, could hear street noise with windows closed and 2 chatterboxes in room next to us - so walls must be very thin for us to hear them talking. Room was also really dark and no proper duvet, very think sheet. My husband's complaint was the bed was too hard also - that is fine by me however. I was overall really disappointed with this hotel, it is not cheap, we paid £718.00 for 3 nights which i think is a rip off for what we experienced. Breakfast was ok, bathroom needs updating, no extraction and grouting needs re-doing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pooja79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

So where do I start.

Basically my boyfriend and I booked this hotel as part of our trip to Italy. We traveled 3 hours by train from another part of Italy, and then a metro as this hotel is not central like we thought.
Upon arrival we were told (not politely) by a useless staff member that our room was not ready, it was now 6pm. And also that our room would not be ready at all during our staff. Lovely news after travelling.
The "lady" at the reception informed us that previous guests had destroyed their rooms, wet the carpets, and our room was unavailable due to this.
I would understand if she was in any way nice about it but she was nothing but rude. She then told us without any options that she had a taxi waiting for us to go to their sister hotel "Smart Hotel" which she said was more superior.
I told her I wanted to take time to research this other hotel, and as I sat down she rudely informs me that our taxi is waiting, when I tell her I'm researching she asks if I'd like to make my own way there or stay in a room with destroyed carpets!

To cut a long story short, we took the taxi to the other hotel & honestly, I'm glad we stayed at Smart Hotel because it was much nicer & in a pretty good location, far better than Metropolis!

All I can say from this experience is, don't stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

i just got back from a trp to Rome and stayed at the Metropolis Hotel. The hotel which seems very nice in the lobby, is not very close to most sights so if you like to take in the city by walking like we do, I would not recommend the location. There is also no other restaurants on the street aside from the hotel restaurant. We didn’t eat there but I must say that we were happy with the breakfast selection and staff but here are the other cons aside from the bad location. We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor and although I requested a non-smoking room, the bathroom smelled of smoke. It also smelled of smoke every day when we would get back to our room and we are not smokers so we were not sure why this was so. The carpets were dirty with cigarette burns and just dirt, the curtain had a stain on it and the WORST part was the MOLD in the bathroom shower stall! I'm shocked as I have never seen mold in a bathroom in any hotel I have ever stayed in. The rod for the toilet paper and hand towels by the sink also broke off immediately as we got into the room. Overall, the staff was nice and good breakfast but the hotel certainly was not what it claims to be and not the star rating it should be. I would suggest staying in a more central hotel with cleaner rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMagdalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#201 of 1,258 in Rome
1,575 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#103 of 1,258 in Rome
874 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#216 of 1,258 in Rome
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#270 of 1,258 in Rome
882 reviews
Starhotels Michelangelo
#152 of 1,258 in Rome
1,042 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#169 of 1,258 in Rome
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection

Property: Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Address: Via delle Milizie, 26, 00195 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolis, pearl of the hospitality in Rome’s city center, stands out for its original and modern design, complemented by an elegant and familiar atmosphere, which makes pleasant your stay in the Eternal CityA few minutes walking distance from Vatican City and St. Peter's Basilica, Hotel Metropolis is ideally located to quickly get the main attractions of the city, without renouncing to the tranquility of the location.Very close to Lepanto subway station, the hotel is well connected with the city area of interest, the most important monuments, museums, shopping streets and the main railway station, Termini.The hotel offers comfortable rooms of several categories to meet the liking and needs of a varied and dynamic clientele. Each room is equipped with bathroom, with shower or bathtub, hairdryer, safe-box, courtesy kit.Among other amenities, Hotel Metropolis is completed by the presence of an inside Bar and Restaurant, where you can delight your taste with creative cocktails and Italian dishes of the finest quality and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolis - Chateaux & Hotels Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing