We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but a little overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gigli d'Oro Suite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gigli d'Oro Suite
Ranked #244 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, but a little overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Admittedly, I booked this hotel because I didn't want the generic big-city hotel experience, so I can't complain too much about the amenities or lack thereof.

Location is great, just off Piazza Navona in a very picturesque part of town with minimal traffic.

Our suite was on the top floor, so quite a hike up the stairs - no lift in a 500 year old building.

The room was good, however significantly smaller than the official photos would lead you to believe. Strange layout too, with the shower right next to the bed. The room also tended to smell like old pipes and plumbing. Not a big issue, but noticeable and unpleasant.

The authentic old beams that make up the roof of the building also impinge a lot on headroom, making the usable space in the suite much less and resulting in a bruised skull on more than one occasion.

Staff were all really friendly and we couldn't fault the service levels, although be aware that there's nobody around later in the evenings.

All in all, the experience was fine although for the suite size and amenities, it's an expensive boutique hotel. In retrospect, I'm perhaps slightly underwhelmed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    53
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
142
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Vermont
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

There isn't much nice to say about this very expensive hotel. We were in the San Carlos Suites. First, we had to call someone to meet us to check us in. Our room was on the street and we could hear the partiers until midnight. Our bathroom was set up so that you had to walk through the shower area to get to the toilet. The shower door leaked so that we had a wet floor to clean up after every shower. The sink and shower drained very slowly. We were told that the plumber would be there the next morning, but no one showed up. We were also told that breakfast would be ready at 7. The guy showed up at 8 to set things up. This happened both mornings. The TV monitor in the hall was very loud when we arrived. However, the management did turn the sound off after we told them we could hear it in our room with the door closed. There was no english news on the television, the only hotel we stayed in during our 3 week trip that had no english news. This was a family trip, so we had all three rooms in the suite area. This was very nice and convenient.

This was supposed to be a 5 start hotel. Had this been a 3 star, we would have been more tolerant of the problems we had. However, for the price: 527 Euros for two nights, we expected a lot more and they didn't deliver.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanina M, Proprietario at Gigli d'Oro Suite, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

After reading your review, we wish to respond to clarify some aspects of what you wrote.
Regarding the check-in, it is our practice to inform our customers with an e-mail, that usually is the confirmation one, that the check-in is done in our sister hotel, the Gigli d'Oro Suite, from where our guests are escorted with our electric car to the San Carlo Suite. We’ve checked and we can confirm that in the email that we have sent you all of this was highlighted. Probably you will not read correctly the e-mail and that's why we had to reach you at the San Carlo, and it takes less than five minutes.
The sink has been checked by our maintenance service as soon as we receive your message and the problem was solved. Regarding the shower, was not found any problem.
Regarding the breakfast, our customers are always informed that breakfast is served from 8 to 10 in the morning. We are not aware that you have ever asked for breakfast at 7 am, because we could arrange to accommodate you.
And finally, the San Carlo Suite is equipped with TV Sat to receive foreign channels, and can be selected by simply typing the SAT button on the remote control. Perhaps there has not been explained well and we regret this.
However, we are sorry if you have not been able to fully enjoy our services and our hospitality. Our attention to our guests is always present and for this reason we invite you, in the near future, to return to our hotel for you to enjoy in a complete way our hospitality.

Emiliano Mosca
Owner General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Tucked away in a narrow lane, this is a charming Roman hotel in a building dating from 17thC
Very narrow with only 6-8 rooms, it provides all you want in a boutique hotel experience.
Well refurbished in a mix of antiques and contemporary furniture, the rooms are a decent size, though some might consider the bathrooms a little tight.
Breakfast is excellent
Staff are very helpful and keen to provide any advice or make bookings.
Can get a bit noisy if you have a room facing the street

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RabaulUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a very small boutique hotel with only 6 rooms. There is a small room for breakfast where you get to meet all the guests. Lots of nice people! Breakfast was a good continental assortment but they will make you eggs and bacon if you ask.
The location is a stones throw to Plaza Navona and so centrally located. It was fantastic. We walked everywhere in under a half hour!
Silvia the manager was 5 star. She spent an hour with us when we arrived to help us plan our trip in Rome. She made it easy and enjoyable and her restaurant recommendations were all super! She is a gem!
We upgraded to the Gigli D'Oro suite - the premier room at the hotel. It wasn't worth it. The photos looked beautiful but the room is dysfunctional. The ceiling beams actually made half the room not usable. You couldn't stand up and we bumped our heads so many times! The shower smelled musty. My sister in law stayed in the least expensive room and it was the best in our group. I would go back but don't waste your money on the suite!

Room Tip: Don't get the upgraded suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Rome at the Gigli d'Oro Suites. The hotel is steps from the Piazza Navona but is remarkably quiet. Max and Sylvia were both incredibly helpful and we felt well taken care of. Suggestions for restaurants proved outstanding. We had two rooms and there was a problem with one of the reservations where a third bed had not been requested through the booking agent. This was no problem and was taken care of right away. We mistakenly brought our rental car to the hotel (it is in a restricted driving area) but Max quickly arranged for a local garage. When it was time to leave, the hotel drove all of our luggage to the garage in their golf cart. Several reviews state that the hotel is not a good value for the money - I actually found the price quite reasonable for Rome in the summer and the location and service cannot be beat. The building is a remarkable restoration, with a mix of centuries old materials and modern decor - design aficionados will love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPSchenck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

An excellently situated hotel, calm enough for Roma center (never expect it to be quiet!), beautifully decorated and very tidy. Excellent bed and fantastic shower. Great to have an internet connected laptop in your room! Some minuses: no real evening receptionist, you feel a bit left to your own during evening and early morning. Especially when you find out that the main door cannot be opened from the inside before 8 a.m.!! What if an emergy evacuation is needed during night?? Breakfast: a bit limited, and you have to order your eggs+bacon the day before, otherwise it's just boiled eggs. No new shower gel+shampoo after the first night (!!!). Wifi access not really working in the upper rooms. Fine all in all, but definitely not enough to justify a price of 300 euros per night.

Room Tip: Avoid higher floors if you want to have a properly working wi-fi connection for your smarphone
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBrussels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Begin by saying we stayed 5 nights, 6 days in total.

Positive things: fabulous location, excellent bed, even nicer funky shower, nice-looking hotel/room. First impression, big wow effect, but....

Prize: absurdly high for the service and quality given, even for Rome and with that center location.

Things you would not except for such an expensive hotel:

-Despite the many phones, e-mail address, and even mobile number, they are almost impossible to reach on any of those, or at least, if they get the messages, they never answer them. We tried to cancel one of the nights (due to a change of plans) and we could not locate them at any time before arrival. When we tried to do the cancelling at arrival (48 hours before the date in question), they refused, alleging that you needed to do it 10 days (!!) in advance. We tried, but since they would not answer... Their policy: no not answer, that way you are never accountable for anything. The "I know nothing" effect.

- Their WIFI does not work properly on the second floor. There's only one spot next to the rear window, which means you cannot comfortably lie in bed after a long day of touristy behavior and enjoy doing your smart phoning all relaxed in there. Nope. The WIFI dies instantly. Also they have this very unfriendly log in/password system that disconnect itself after a minute of idleness, so you have to get the bloody paper again, because both the log-in name and password are totally in-rememberable. Expect CRAP WIFI, also in the slow desktop they provide.

- One security worrying detail: the last morning, when our taxi arrived at 8h00, no one was at the reception desk (as usual) and the door to the street COULD NOT BE OPENED from the inside, so in case of an emergency and in the absence of the receptionist, you would have died in there.
Only he had some key, to stick in some hole that did the open sesame. Dangerous.

- People left in charge of the hotel most of the times are totally unqualified personnel, with very poor English and with zero sense of service for this kind of luxurious hotels. Very inhospitable and mostly unwilling (on their behalf it must be said that they must get very badly paid and gave the impression of being basically exploited, which does not help encourage render very good service to the clients). So, a very un-fair trade hotel management.

-The fridge for drinks did not work, i.e. cool the drinks. We took one water bottle, drank it (tap water, even is you chose the cold tap, was even warmer, so we had no choice) and although they admitted to the fridge not working properly they still charged us for the non cooled water we took (it was only 1 euro, so the gesture would have been nice). They said they would fix it, they didn´t do it in the five days we were there.

- During the 6 days we stayed there, NOT A SINGLE TIME did they supply new Shampoo nor shower bottles, even though we left the empty ones clearly in sight to be replaced.

- The typical egg and bacon breakfast needs to be "reserved" one day in advance. Bacon came back inedible, almost raw. Later we realized the poor guy was probably Muslim and had not cooked bacon in his life or did not want to do so and it clearly showed.

- In general, the continental breakfast was very poor and very low average for this category hotel.

- We slept at the Palomba room, and the bathroom door opens the wrong way and you hit yourself badly every time you try to dry your hands reaching the almost unreachable handle where the towel hangs. The absurdly big sink occupies the entire support area, so you are left with no space to place your things. You end up placing them inside the sink (as long as you are not using it). All that fancy design serving very little practical purpose...

- Very noise and smelly at night, even though it seemed, deceivingly, a quite enough street. If you are sensitive to noise, ear plugs are a must.

All in all, very poor quality service for a hotel of this category, so, my advice, find a better hotel who at least for the same price will probably give you a better service...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emiliano996, Direttore generale at Gigli d'Oro Suite, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We remain amazed and surprised by your comment, because it is also one of the few negative comments where almost all of our guests were very satisfied of their experience at Gigli d'Oro Suite.
We would like, however, to clarify certain aspects of the criticisms that you've done.

We do not think it's not correct to say that we have refused to cancel your reservation. Our cancellation policy is clear and it is also explained in the booking confirmation letter that we send to each guest. If you intend to cancel your reservation within the penalty period is normal that we have to let you know. And we do not think it's fair to blame the reception who did not respond. Our reception is open 12 hours a day, 7 days a week. And they always answer to the telephone calls.
Nor is it correct to say that the main door from 08 pm until the next day is closed and you cannot go outside. This is not true, and it was explained to you that access is only blocked from outside to inside. We do this for the safety of our guests and to prevent that anyone, at night, has free access to the hotel. But our guests, and you know it well, they can come and go at any time.

Another exception to the comment that you do on our personnel in charge. People who are at the front desk are multi-lingual, even one person is an english mother.

The person in charge at night, is fluent in English, and we believe very unfair and uncivilized your comment that is paid and badly. So how do we reply to your comment that we consider racist, accusing our waiter not to cook the bacon “because Muslim and didn’t never seen bacon in his life”. To this we answer to your fall style simply saying that our waiter never had something goes wrong to cook the bacon, whatever religion he is.

You know, Dear Sir, sometimes it happens to receive comments or judgments about some things that drive us to do our best for the satisfaction of our guests, and comments that are here on Trip Advisor are clear.
Unfortunately it seems your comment was written solely to criticize and fairly unpleasant.
The only thing that we are saying to you is to hope to have you again to our guest to let you try, with facts, the real wonderful experience at our Gigli d’Oro Suite.

Emiliano Mosca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Orso
Relais Orso
#433 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Coronari - Design Rooms Library
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Rione Ponte
Relais Rione Ponte
#12 of 1,089 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
San Carlo Suite
San Carlo Suite
#63 of 1,089 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Vanity Hotel
Vanity Hotel
#142 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gigli d'Oro Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigli d'Oro Suite

Property: Gigli d'Oro Suite
Address: Via Dei Gigli d'Oro 12, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gigli d'Oro Suite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gigli d'Oro Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gigli d`Oro Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing