We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for a Rome visit”
Review of Gigli d'Oro Suite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gigli d'Oro Suite
Ranked #267 of 3,645 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for a Rome visit”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a find this was. Perfect hotel in a great location. Recommended restaurants were first class and reasonable

Hotel breakfast was lovely. Great variety

We went to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday and had a relaxing 3 nights there - definitely recommended

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonbloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    54
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
142
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Love this small luxury hotel! Staff are super friendly and helpful , recommended great restaurants nearby, shopping and attractions! A great stay! Silvia is so lovely and helpful! A great stay in rome!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

While small- it's beautifully formed where you get a great deal of individual attention- I travelled to Rome for 5 days with a friend and my teenage daughter. The staff made us feel very welcome and catered for all our needs- booking restaurants, giving directions, printing boarding passes, storing luggage when we arrived early and left late. They offered advice and indeed the complimentary bar was lovely for pre dinner drinks. The restaurants they recommended were excellent. The location is unbeatable so close to Piazza Navona - easy walk to everything. The breakfast was fine for continental but I wouldn't recommend the cooked option. The room facilities are excellent- having the in room laptop was very convenient and the wet room so relaxing after a long day. I recommend taking the car from the airport as it really allowed us to maximise our short time in Rome. If getting a taxi- ask for piazza navona and walk the 20 meters as taxis seem to have trouble finding it. I would highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again if my wish in the Trevi fountain comes true!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms and while they look larger on line than in reality - what you see is what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Small and very cute hotel. Thoughtful, minimal design, nearly brand new fixtures, open alcohol –– from Presecco to Baileys and all primary hard liquors for you coffee or juice, and snack bar all day long. I personally exhausted their dried figs (plain, candied, filled with walnuts, covered in sprinkles) and dates supply in the first two of my three day stay there. Nice and simple breakfast.

The hotel is easy to get to from Roma Termini and is within walking distance to all the landmarks –– I walked 10 hours a day and reached pretty much every visible corner on my map (cobble stone cardio: good for the prosciutto in the tummy three meals daily, bad for the ankle). Friendly, helpful but not the warmest staff. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay but as a limited service hotel/B&B, Gigli d'Oro was quite expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miaodotwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Once you find this gem of a property, you will feel as if you have discovered some ancient treasure in Rome. The decor is very well done. The ancient ceilings restored with exacting detail. The location is very central, and the service is top shelf. Unless you know Rome really well, it is a challenge to find. And, it is not really a business hotel. Having said that, when I checked in with a few minutes to change for a meeting, they relayed that there was no iron. But, they found a dry cleaner to press my suit within 30 minutes. The charge? A couple of Euros. Awesome. At night, a bit of complimentary prosecco.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband, 16 year old daughter and I had a memorable 5 night stay at the Gigli d'Oro Suite. It is small, boutique hotel conveniently located just steps away from Piazza Navona, delicious neighbourhood trattorias and boutique shops. The staff is extremely hospitable, knowledgeable and accommodating. The intimate breakfast room is a relaxing place to start the day. It doubles as an open cocktail bar in the early evening complete with snacks and soothing jazz!
We shared a Junior Suite which is perhaps too "initmate" a space for three adults for 5 nights. The
beds and pillows should be upgraded.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face Via Gigli d'Oro. It can be noisy in the early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a very elegant and relaxing hotel, very well situated just north of Piazza Navona.
Extremely comfortable rooms with beautifully equipped bathrooms. A free laptop and wifi connection is provided in the bedroom! Breakfasts are fresh and more than adequate, and the small breakfast room becomes a bar in the evening dispensing free! prosecco and other drinks.
The staff on the front desk are a delight and could not be more helpful, speaking very good english and happy to arrange trips, taxis or suggest and book excellent restaurants nearby. The pick up service to and from the hotel was efficient and charming and worth every euro.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Strongly suspect that all rooms are good, but as in all major cities there is some outside noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Orso
Relais Orso
#526 of 1,257 in Rome
326 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Coronari - Design Rooms Library
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Rione Ponte
Relais Rione Ponte
#14 of 1,094 in Rome
121 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#44 of 3,645 in Rome
166 reviews
Parioli
Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gigli d'Oro Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigli d'Oro Suite

Property: Gigli d'Oro Suite
Address: Via Dei Gigli d'Oro 12, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 3,645 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gigli d'Oro Suite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gigli d'Oro Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gigli d`Oro Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing