We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Food for a quick meal”

Dar Filettaro a Santa Barbara
Ranked #1,191 of 12,135 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simple Food for a quick meal”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is a must go to place for many, so we went. You have to like it for what it is, batter fried fish with just a few salad or side dish options. Red or white wine by carafe. You eat the fish wrapped in paper. The place is lively and packed with locals and tourist alike. If you have the time and every meal doesn't have to be a "fine dining experience" it's worth a stop. On weekends you will wait a very long time for a table if you arrive after 7:30.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PRWBJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    251
    105
    55
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“always worsening”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

getting there since from the 80's I have sadly seen quality always worsening, despite of increasing prices, while the only unchanging thing were cod, but only as a kind of fish, not as its quality and quantity, and the venue, which is by now barely up to standards. at the same time their very basic service has become hideously poor.
so... the list is still made of cod, salad, bread butter and anchoves; good for cod lovers, whereas cod would be actually enough, but by now it definitely isn't, and provided that € 5 is the price for almost anything in that list at the end of the game you'll spend no less than € 20 each for much less than you could have for the same amount wherever else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fedeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
1,167 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,068 helpful votes
“typical roman”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

although baccala filetto is not a typical roman dish i have to admit that this tiny restaurant located in the center of rome, in campo de fiori area is delicious. we really enjoyed filetto de baccala and the typical roman salad: puntarelle with acciughe. try it. 5 euro each dish. try also the good wine. great place

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fish and no chips”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place is the culinary equivalent of a one-trick-pony. Battered fish and basic salads. It's nothing special but a nice respite from pizza and/or pasta and reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“After dinner I needed to stop at the market for some real food”
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

I went here based off the recomendations at trip advisor and I was sadly disappointed. Yes the only thing they serve for a main course is fried cod, but it wasn't even that good. The batter was doughy and the fish was flavorless. Because it is the only main course, you are left with the appetizers which were ok best. The salami was tough, the cheese was good but you only get 5 pieces and the bread/olive oil wasn't anything to write home about.

Overall I wasn't happy to have spent $20 per person to eat flavorless fish just to have to stop at the market on the way home. Knowing what I know now I wouldn't have wasted my time,

Helpful?
1 Thank Tooch81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Filettaro a Santa Barbara also viewed

 

Been to Dar Filettaro a Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing