We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't like it”
Review of i Clementini

i Clementini
Ranked #495 of 12,524 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Monti
Description: Across from the St. Clementini chuch on same street
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Didn't like it”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went here based on the reviews and we really didn't like it. Only 2 good things the internal garden where you can smoke and you are away from traffic and Mozzarella di bufala which is great. We took the things suggested by the waiter (some kind of antipasto with basically fried bacon and mozzarella, some short pasta with pistachio, mozzarella and cherry tomatoes, and pasta with clams) and a hot antipasto from menu. The hot antipasto was full of oil, the bacon from the other one was too salty, the short pasta was not made by them and seamed undercooked (I like pasta al dente but it wasn't the case) and the pasta with clams was decent but far from great. Oh and 2,5 eur for two pieces of bread!??!?!?!?
In the end the waiter didn't forget to remind us that services were not included in the check, a thing that I didn't appreciate.
Overall a lower than average experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    503
    141
    72
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Didn't want the usual street side cafe filled with tourists so walked up a side road. The place is understated and the staff didn't try to usher us in. The food was simply delicious, fresh and made with quality ingredients. We requested a simple pasta dish off the menu for my fussy daughter and it was no trouble at all. My partner, a connoisseur of the cafe latte said it was the best latte he's ever had. We were very impressed and highly recommend the place to anyone looking for similar near the colosseum.

Helpful?
Thank TanyaDuRose
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An incredible Italian experience!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My partner and I were reccommended by our B&B to eat here. And we were more than pleasantly surprised! Our waiter was friendly and authentic and made some fantastic apertif's! The food was outstanding. We came back the next night and were treated like family. A wonderful experience that I would recommend to anyone!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte141087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find not from Colosseum”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent typical roman specialties --great carbonara and sausage with Myrtle sauce. Excellent fritto misto. All fresh and local ingredients. Friendly and helpful owner and staff. Great air conditioning in back room!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielnovato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant between Colosseum and St. John Lateran”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had lunch at i Clementini on the way back from visiting St. John Lateran. We had found it initially based on trip advisor and glad we did. Since it is near the Colosseum, there are a ton of touristy overpriced places all around. This was a very unassuming place (we almost walked right passed it). We found the service to be very, very friendly. It was one of those places that seems accommodating to tourists without being touristy if that makes any sense. We order the zucchini flowers as an appetizer and then had pasta dishes and some house red wine that was great. It was just a good, relatively inexpensive nice lunch. Not overly fancy, but great food and friendly, attentive service. This is a place I'd tuck away if you're will to walk just a few minutes away from the colosseum.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to i Clementini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing