We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel in surburban Rome”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Roma Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roma Point Hotel
Ranked #651 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Average hotel in surburban Rome”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed at the Roma Point Hotel for a week on business in late April. This hotel is located outside the city centre and is not convenient to downtown. However, I chose this location for it's proximity to my meetings that particular week. The Roma Point Hotel is a relatively new hotel, opened in 2010.

The hotel is located close to an industrial area and close to the train station. The map online, however is confusing. The directions indicate that the hotel is 300 metres from the Due Ponti station, travelers must, however, disembark at the Grotta Rossa station. This is not clear by the map and the directions stating the hotel's proximity to Due Ponti. Use the Grotta Rossa stop! If you disembrak at Due Ponti, you will not be able to reach the hotel on foot, as you must cross a very busy mutli laned highway to get there. I explained that this map and directions create confusion for travelers and the front desk staff indicated that they would fix the directions on the site. As of now, the map has not been clarified online.

The rooms are quite small (by North American standards) and in my room, the only natural light came from a skylight. The room reminded me of a dorm room at university in it's size and layout. The lights and electronics in the room can only be operated once your room key is inserted into a slot by the door. I couldn't get this to work right away and it needed to be fixed by the front desk.

The bed was large enough but it was a little hard for my liking. The linens and pillows were fine as well. The water pressure in the shower was not great, but there was an option for a rain shower setting in the shower cubicle, which made this issue easy to overlook. The washroom has a bidet alongside the toilet, which make for a cramped space if you are not accustomed to having one in your bathroom.

There is no food service on site at the hotel except a small continental breakfast, included with the price of your room. Next door there is a small deli style restaurant that sells sandwiches and other small food items.

One disappointing issue that I would like to point out happened my first morning at the hotel. I asked the front desk for directions to the office where my meetings were being held nearby. Not only could the front desk person not help me, they made no attempt to help me with directions at all. Their response was to send me next door to the restaurant to ask them. This is not a good example of appropriate customer service. Front desk staff should have at least a basic awareness of the local area surrounding the hotel, and if they don't have this personally, should have tools available to them to help them assist guests more effectively.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JellybeanandBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    65
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
38
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Clean, comfortable, modern hotel with spacious rooms with king size beds and bathrooms with double showers. Facilities are excellent - everything seems new and with a nice design. Breakfast was really delicous - much better than in most 5 stars hotels that I stayed at (personally I do recomend chocolate cake:))
What I did not like was the localization - it was not so far from the city center (around 20 minutes by local trains), but the area looks dirty and dangerous and also way form the train station to the hotel is not convenient - you need to use old footbridge which is not the best if you have heavy luggage.
In general good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Me137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Roma Point Hotel is unlike any other in Rome. My family and I stayed there for a week in September 2011. Everything they say about it is true. It is rather modern, trendy and clean. It is also difficult to find (even for somebody like me who is from Rome!) and rather far from downtown. The train station, however, isn't far away and the ride to Piazzale Flaminio, at the bottom of Via del corso is only 15 minutes. I would NOT reccommend doing the trip at night, though.
Overall it was excellent value for money (we did have a car) although breakfast nedds serious improvement (I really think that the fruit salad should NEVER come out of a can!)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulysses64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This hotel is very trendy, the rooms are very clean, the bathrooms are huge and have all toiletres, The breakfast is average and the staff are ok.
The location is far away from the centre of rome however if you dont mind getting a train and metro (only for 1euro each way) then you have actually found yourself a little retreat.
If you wish to see rome by night and explore the evenings rome has to offer this hotel is not for you as the train station and the street look highly unsafe to walk around after 8pm.

we are quite adventoures and are happy to walk anywere and everywere just not from the trainstation to the hotel at night,the path its blocked in as the trainline runs one side and a huge hedge next to a bust highway is the other, its not safe!
yet there is a very italian restuarnt next door (there not the friendlest bunch but my god its very cheap and does good food) so you can enjoy a meal and a few drinks and also the minibar in the room at the hotel is cheap so you can get by. BE AWARE there is nothing else at all in the area.

DO NOT BOOK A TAXI FROM THE AIRPORT TO THE HOTEL - ours didnt arrive we rang the hotel and nobody answered so when we eventually arrived we complained and it took them a day to refund us after i said it wasnt good enough there excuse was that they just ring a taxi for us my argument was thier website says they provide a shuttle service after a day they finally owned up and gave us the money back, did i mention the taxi we had to get in the end was 70euros. the taxi drivers werent happy they had to drive that far away.

I am still confused about this hotel i think rome is expanding and soon enough this hotel will fall in the rome area however i think the hotel is ahead as there is nothing else for tourists to do. if you go to the hotel just be prepared to travel a bit more (remember its only 1euro each way) and be home early at night unless your brave enough.

to sum up i would stay here again if i was on a budget and wanted somewere decent to put my head down at the end of a long day and didnt mind being a bit isolated (especially now i know the area) I wouldnt stay here if i wanted to experiance everything rome has to offer day and night.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tillyturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Advantages:
- prices
- very modern
- very clean
- quiet
- nice personnel
- large bath and rooms
- tasty Breakfast

Disadvantages if you don't have a car:
- distance to downtown
- not so easily to find this location. Via Flaminia is a very long street.
Directions: from down town(Piazza del Popolo) the best solution is to take the train up until Flaminia station(10-15 min max). 1euro cost the ticket per person and can be bought from the reception. With the buss is not very comfortable and it will need 2 of these to get there.

Even though is a little bit far away, the rapport price quality is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcipcigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monopoli, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Roma point hotel was excellent. I truly loved my 1 night stay there. It is a bit out of town, but close to where I needed to be. The staff was super friendly and helpful (I needed directions along the way :) the room was clean, loved the decoration, I do believe I got more value than I paid for. Its a 3 star hotel, but one off the best 3 star hotels I stayed at thus far.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arien_torsius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I've stayed at plenty of budget priced hotels in Europe, but nothing beats a deal such as the Roma Point Hotel. The location is exceptionally clean, the staff is very friendly (and they all understand English) and the area that the hotel is located in a very quiet and nice area. They also offer a lot of amentities, which are already set up in your room. They are toothbrushes, toothpaste, shaving cream, razor, cotton swabs, cotton pads and slippers. The fact that the hotel is very clean and looks very new is also a plus. The beds were very comfortable and the room we booked was very spacious.

Free internet was included in the past, but they are now charging 3 Euros an hour for internet. Also, keep in mind they do not have Wi-Fi at this area. There are not a lot of places to eat in this area, but if you happen to take the 232 bus to the Flaminia district, there are a lot of restaurants in that area to choose from.

If you are traveling by public transportation from the airport, it is very confusing. My suggestion is to take the Metro A going to in the Battisini direction and getting off at Flaminio Station (Which is 4 stops). As you exit the subway, head over to Flaminio Station and take anyone of the trains going in the direction of Viterbo. Your stop for the hotel will be at Grotta Rossa Station not Du Pointe. Once you get off of Grotta Rossa Station, take the exit on your left. The left exit is a ramp that will lead you down a path and will curve to the right. That path will take you to an overpass, which you will cross to get to the other side of the freeway. Once you get to the other side, take the street located behind the overpass to the hotel. The walk will take less then 7 minutes. The hotel will be located on your left side.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Midgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Fleming
Grand Hotel Fleming
#416 of 1,291 in Rome
1,172 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Romulus
Hotel Romulus
#1,086 of 1,291 in Rome
314 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Spada
Villa Spada
#1,082 of 1,291 in Rome
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
River Chateau Hotel
River Chateau Hotel
#337 of 1,291 in Rome
345 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Giocca
Hotel La Giocca
#701 of 1,291 in Rome
135 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eurogarden
Eurogarden
#520 of 1,291 in Rome
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Point Hotel

Property: Roma Point Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 988, 00189 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #651 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roma Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roma Point Hotel Rome opened late in 2009 and offers consummate ultra-modern hotel services and facilities. Located out with the bustling historic centre, yet only 10 minutes away by car, the Roma Point Hotel is ideal for guests who require excellent accommodation in the north of Rome with good transfer links into the historic heart of Rome Aperto all'inizio del 2010, l'Roma Point Hotel si compiace di poter mettere a disposizione dei suoi ospiti degli ambienti spaziosi e dotati dei migliori servizi alberghieri di ultima generazione. La struttura e un albergo di lusso a 3 stelle. Si trova sulla Via Flaminia, vicino lo Stadio Olimpico e a soli 15 minuti di macchina dal centro di Roma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roma Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing