We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"High Class/Posh" restaurant”

Clemente Alla Maddalena
Ranked #1,933 of 12,469 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“"High Class/Posh" restaurant”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel we stayed at recommended us this restaurant. The location is nice. The inside design is classic. Employees are polite and pay attention to details. The food is good (quantity is not huge though). This is a high class/"posh" restaurant, you can see that a lot of locals are eating in this place and some tourists. The price was around 100€ for 2 (2 anitpasti, 2 main courses, 2 desserts, un glass of wine and 1 coffee).
It is a good place for a romantic dinner.
The only thing we did not like is when they bring you the note, the tip is INCLUDED however there is a little paper printed apart that says something like "you can write down the quantity you want us to charge you for the tip in addition to the receipt": this is really not something I consider really honest.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crisari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    129
    66
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Cute Italian restaurant”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere. We had octopus carpaccio with strawberries and stuffed warm rolls of ricotta cheese for starters . Our main dishes were Maccheroncini with tomato, bacon and ewe's cheese and Spaghetti with parmigiano, ewe's cheese, pepper and crisp zucchini. All of them indifferent. Since we visited Rome we decided to taste tiramisu. We did not like it. It was like a sweet soup.The only thing we really enjoyed was the wine. An expensive dinner that did not meet our expectations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great meatballs but pasta was average”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Quaint little place with great meatballs and very accommodating staff. But the pasta was not that great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baumburgerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I would definately come back”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

People treat you very well and bring you anything you want, even if it is not on their menu. And, what is the best, everything is delicious. They made us a salad the way we wanted to eat and everything was delicious. The pasta is incredible too. And the piazza is very charming. Srongly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It was OK, but we are not going to miss it...”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The restaurant is right accross the beautiful facade of La Maddalena but unless you sit outside this is irrelevent. The general ambiance is casual chic and cozy. Our dinner started with a very tasty plate of veal cheeks cooked to perfection. Yet other dishes we ordered were quite plain, almost tasteless, with no special touch: Lamb shank, grilled fettucini, spagetti with fish eggs and gnocci.
Presentation of plates are much nicer compared to other restaurants: Dishes are nicely set on various tasteful white porcelain. The service is typical Italian style - don't expect much of it.
Finally the bill: 5 entrees, 2 desserts, 1 bottle of wine, 1 bottle of sparkling water, no coffee: 250 euros.
It was OK but we are not going to miss it...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ceyden_fabrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clemente Alla Maddalena also viewed

 

Been to Clemente Alla Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing