We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, charming B&B”
Review of Hip Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hip Suites
Ranked #170 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, charming B&B”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel (B&B) was wonderful. It is in the perfect location. There is no restaurant on site but the hotel gives you a voucher with your choice of two restaurants very near by (less than 1 block) for breakfast. The people at the desk were helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. On top of this is was a great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skh1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    100
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
137
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The room was very modern and stylish. Location is great and the staff are so helpful. The hotel is a bit hidden which i thought was cool and unique. You walk up to the second floor and then theres the check-in area. As you walk out, there are countless restaurants, cafes... good night life. Cool place overall and i would def come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shizzleass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I only got to stay here for one night, but we loved it!

The location was fantastic - Trastevere is such a fun, energetic location in Rome, and the HIP suites were right in the middle of it. We were able to easily walk across the river to the Pantheon and a few other attractions, and then back across for some great food and bars in this neighborhood. The only thing I will say is that if you like quiet - this is not for you! People were up partying late at night and the trash truck comes early in the morning.

The room is a smalll, but nice apt- type room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us a good recommendation for dinner, and making the check-in/out process simple. Will stay here again on the next trip to Rome!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lovely, modern, stylish rooms in the heart of Trastevere - the best area of Rome for eating, chilling and hunting down the perfect terrace cafe. Hip Suites is not a standard hotel in that they don't have 24 hour reception or a restaurant or bar. Basically you get a room with en suite, a set of keys so you can enter and leave the building whenever you want, and vouchers to have breakfast in one of two local cafes (Babylon cafe is the better of the two). We had a junior suite which was a good size and had two windows overlooking the streets. Good double-glazing meant we had no problems sleeping despite being in a lively area.

Staff members Vanessa and Tomasso were wonderful, helping us on everything from booking Vatican tickets and restaurants to advising on nice walks to see areas off the beaten track. They also left a small bottle of Prosecco in our mini-bar to celebrate my wife's birthday, which was a lovely touch.

Location is great for Trastevere, but also within walking distance of the city sites. We didn't use public transport at all (although we would have benefitted from better walking shoes!). But if you do want to cut back on the walking, there's a tram stop at the end of the street and a bus stop nearby that will take you to the Vatican.

All in all a great little hotel in a great location and with lovely staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_Madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Perfectly located hotel in the trastevere area of Rome. Located over a bustling restaurant which does not impact on the quality of the stay if anything adds to the atmosphere. The staff are genuinely helpful and accomadating to your every query and need. The reception area does not operate on a 24 hr basis but has no need to as you come and go as you wish with your own keys. The helpful advise and suggestion of restaurants sights etc given were of great help and very welcome. The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels etc, it was very comfortable and met our every need with proper coffee available constantly. The hote is ideally situated in this most beautiful area of Rome and central to most sights if you plan on coming to this Rome this hotel is a must........

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decay1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was a fantastic place in the heart of the bustling and trendy Trastevere neighborhood of Rome. We walked to all the major landmarks of the city including the Vatican, Trevi Fountain, and Colosseum (All about 20 to 25 minutes walking). There are countless restaurants and cafes within 5 min walking and even more near the Camp del Fiori (10 min walking). Tomaso the owner of Hip Suites was incredibly helpful and spent a lot of time with us recommending places to go and things to do. All of the restaurants he recommended were wonderful. He was very knowledgeable. Its almost like a bed and breakfast, in that Tomaso is around all of the morning and on a limited basis in the afternoon, but he is very accessible by email or phone if you need anything. The room was very clean and nice with a white decor. The junior suite was spacious for a Rome hotel. We had more than enough room and very much enjoyed this place. Would highly recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlinjj31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved the Hip Suite apartments. The location is easy to walk from and the room was clean and had all of the facilities.
The host was excellent!!! Very helpful pre visit and during our stay.
The breakfast location for earlier - Babylon cafe is significantly better than the other option.
Enjoy Hip suites!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#481 of 1,259 in Rome
167 reviews
Trastevere
A Trastevere da M.E.
A Trastevere da M.E.
#136 of 3,669 in Rome
190 reviews
Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
#214 of 3,669 in Rome
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
#302 of 3,669 in Rome
99 reviews
Trastevere
Palazzo Velli Suites
Palazzo Velli Suites
#125 of 1,100 in Rome
44 reviews
Trastevere
Luxury Trastevere
Luxury Trastevere
#517 of 1,100 in Rome
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hip Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Suites

Property: Hip Suites
Address: Via della Lungaretta 88, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hip Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip Suites is a unique and exclusive guest house which has only recently opened its doors to guests. Professionalism, an excellent location and great attention to details are just some of our strong points. All our guest room have been equipped with an excellent choice of today's modern comforts, including air conditioning, flat screen TV, mini bar, safety deposit box, high speed internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hip Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hip Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing