We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!”
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #88 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel was terrific. The location, just steps from the Pantheon, was perfect as we were only in Rome for a day and a half. We maximized our time and minimized our stress by having the hotel arrange our pick up from the airport. Our driver was waiting when we arrived and entertained us all the way to the hotel with interesting facts about Rome and Italy. It cost just a few euros more than a regular taxi and I can't recommend it enough! Our room was spacious with plenty of room for luggage and all of our things in the bathroom. We even had a view over the piazza. As others have mentioned, many sites are within walking distance but if you prefer a cab to places like the Colosseum, which is a bit further, the fare is still very reasonable. Breakfast in the morning was quite good - standard Italian fare, and the little balcony off the breakfast room made a great place to sit in the evening with our glass of wine. When you are ready to go to sleep the bedroom windows are high quality and offer sound proofing. I highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyCrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 328 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is the second time we stayed at the Relais Maddalena. We stayed last year and enjoyed the hotel and location so much we came back again, with our two grown up daughters! As before we found the hotel and its location, just around the corner from the Pantheon, perfect. Various reviewers describe Relais Maddalena as a B&B, I'll settle for "boutique hotel". The only thing that some folk may miss is a reception that's manned 24/7. Here its not, but for us it wasn't a problem as we were able contact Selena whenever we needed to. In my last review I described the excellently appointed bedrooms and bathrooms, and more than adequate breakfast. I also described the excellent location within walking distance of all key sights and surrounded by numerous bars, restaurants and cafes. All told a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely boutique hotel in central Rome with my husband and adult daughter. This bed and breakfast hotel really is in an ideal location to reach all the sights of Rome by foot - just steps from the Pantheon and Piazza Navona and in a beautiful piazza of its own housing the stunning Santa Maria church, restaurants and bars just outside the front door. It's like having your own apartment in the centre of Rome, though the staff are available and cater to your every need. We had a problem with the hot water on our first night, which was rectified by morning and we were afforded free mini-bar for our entire stay in compensation. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully designed - the bathrooms are particularly well furnished with quality fittings throughout. Breakfast was continental and provided plenty of choice, quality and quantity - there is even a bottle of Prosecco and champagne flutes made available should you wish to partake! Franceso and Selena were perfect hosts and made the stay uncomplicated and relaxed. The hotel arranged our transfers and we were collected by the driver, Giuseppe, in a very sleek black Mercedes - free water was provided and he gave us a mini-guided tour during our transfer to the hotel - what a perfect start! The return trip was equally impressive and the driver equally charming - a great service all round. Overall I would highly recommend this lovely little boutique bed and breakfast hotel in the heart of the city. Great atmosphere, quality rooms, perfect location, good service - what more can I say - really perfect! We will definitely return to Rome, and to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view - it's definitely worth it for getting that feeling of being a part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Relais Maddalena for 5 nights before our Mediterranean cruise. The location of this hotel is magnificent - step out the front door and to your right down a short street is the Pantheon. The Piazza Navona, Trastevere, the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain are within easy walking distance. There are plenty of restaurants, shops and gelato places right outside the door of the hotel and in the nearby streets. It was fun to sit down and enjoy a drink at the restaurant just outside the hotel and people watch after a day of sightseeing.

Our room was very clean, modern, and air conditioned with a huge bathroom. Our room overlooked the square outside and most evenings we were serenaded by cello players and opera singers - how uniquely Rome! The host, Francesco and the front desk staff were wonderful, very attentive and warm and welcoming. The breakfast was very tasty - pastries, cheese, meat and wonderful unlimited cappuccinos.

Having stayed in other hotels in Rome before I have to say the charm, location and fabulous service we received at the Relais Maddalena have made this our favorite hotel in Rome. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4Travellers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Absolutely loved our experience at this hotel. It is in such a central location that as soon as you walked out of the door, you were so centrally located to all the sites in Rome and right near the Pantheon. But, inside the hotel, it was totally relaxing. We had a room with a view that overlooked the piazza that was lovely, live music played outside in the evening. The room was like having our own apartment in the middle of Rome! The bathrooms were extremely spacious, clean and Western, which was great. The service was also so lovely and accommodating- they had great recommendations on restaurants! Free wifi and breakfast with our room. Totally worth booking the airport transfer!!! DEFINITELY stay here!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the piazza Maddalena + book the airport transfer - so much cheaper and mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Being met by the driver at the airport (the hotel arranged the transportation) and then enter the building housing this magnificent place just set the tone for the stay.
Francesco is a perfect host, and we were given a most beautiful room #1418 overlooking the small Piazza della Maddalena and the astonishing Santa Maria de Maddalena church, which should be visited at some time during the stay in Rome.
The windows are soundproof - no noise from the small restaurants below.
Reception is one floor up, and the breakfast another floor up, in which during the warmer days, you can sit outside on a small balcony and enjoy a great breakfast with müsli, fresh fruit, salami and cornetto - and if you fancy a glas of prosecco there is always a chilled bottle on the counter.
The rooms are big and clean, and the beds are perfect - not to hard or soft.
You get your own key to the gate, and separate electronic keys to the rooms.

But the cherry on the top is the location. Pantheon is litterally 2 minutes walk throug a small alley, and you can easily walk to Fontana di Trevi, the Spanish Steps, Piazza Navone, Campo dei Fiore, and not to mention all the marvellous churches and basilikas.
We walked from the hotel through the jewish getto to Isola Tiberina, which took us about 8 min, and from there, crossing the small bridge to the other side - and you are in Trastevere.

We have found our hotel in Rome, the perfect combination of friendly and professional staff and location. Why change a winning combination?!

Room Tip: Room 1418 corner view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Hotel is located is a small alley near to The Pantheon and entrance into building where hotel is located is restricted by key so it's quite safe. Recep is located on level 2 and our room is located on level 3. Upon arrival, the recep gone through the nearby attractions and share a detailed map with us. There is no elevator in the building and the flight of stairs are pretty long. But all is worth it once you stepped into the room. Our room has high ceiling and is very pretty and spacious. Even the bathroom is top notch. We met the boss during our stay and he recommended 2 eateries to us. Restorante Settimio located nearby is a family run place which serve very good food. So much so that we went back again the next day. If you stay here, please do try the Gelato opposite to this hotel - San Crispino which is all natural and have interesting flavors. I had it 3 days in a row. Pretty & clean room, good service and convenient location will sum up this stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a17a1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#44 of 1,271 in Rome
1,023 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#50 of 3,734 in Rome
181 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Queen
Navona Queen
#27 of 3,734 in Rome
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Caravita
Hotel Caravita
#136 of 3,734 in Rome
364 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Coronari - Design Rooms Library
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $139 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing