We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Gem!!!”
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #95 of 3,712 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I cannot say enough nice things about the Relais Maddalena. The location is excellent about one block from the Pantheon, on a square and just a good walk away from the old Roman Forum and all the other attractions that Rome has to offer. The hotel consists of only 10 rooms which are beautifully decorated with an exposed beam ceiling you can stare at for hours, the rest of the rooms are as modern as one can ask for and clean as a whistle, and large with ample storage for your gear. The bathrooms are modern with up to date fixtures, however please note the soap is in a push dispenser that can be used as a body wash and shampoo, so if you are particular bring your own bar soap and shampoo. The breakfast room has about 5 tables which accommodated guests without crowding and the food was a typical European cold breakfast, nothing hot something I love ham , cheese and bread. There are cereals, baked goods, fruits and other items to choose from.

All of the staff was very friendly and helpful as was the owner who greeted us upon our arrival in the early evening.

The hotel is on a square and can be found by looking for the large green door across from the church, look to your right at the green door and there is a brass sign noting the hotels name and ring anyone of the hotels buzzers, and the door within the green door will buzz for you to enter. Proceed into the lobby, which is an apartment house and look right for a flight of stairs and proceed to the 1st floor and turn left for the hotel greeting area.

This is the best B&B or hotel I have stayed at in my many trips to Rome, and just loved it for it's flavor and location, location, location.

Room Tip: Note being on a square and so close to Rome's attractions noise can be an issue. However, the no...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHERLOCKSanDiego_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Relais Maddalena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 322 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We went for a romantic trip to Rome, and this was a very nice place to stay. Beautifully decorated, quiet and private. Its very centrally located and all main attractions are within walking distance. The price is maybe above average, but the value is good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 494Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Relais Maddalena October 19-22 as part of our anniversary trip. You could not ask for a better location!! This B&B was one square over from the Pantheon, you could actually see it while out on the terrace eating breakfast. We arrived on a Saturday so that night was a bit noisy but the rest of the nights there was not nearly as much street noise. One of the evenings we were pleasantly surprised by a woman singing opera music! The room and bathroom was average size but very lovely and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and they had a very nice breakfast. I would stay here again while in Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have been to Rome many times and have always stayed in hotels. This time we wanted something different and special, since we were also traveling with a family member who was celebrating their 70th birthday. We did extensive research on accommodations in Rome trying to find the perfect place. Well our research paid off and we found Francesco's fabulous B&B in the centre of Rome, right near the Pantheon. We did find the perfect place and our family was extremely pleased with our selection.

We can't say enough good things about it. First, the building where the B&B is located is amazing. Entering the building is like stepping back in time. The restoration work that was done on the rooms and common areas is spectacular. I kept looking at our room and telling my wife how beautiful it was. The furniture, the wood ceiling, the decorating, the bathroom were all amazing. You could open the window and look out over Piazza Della Madallena, the beautiful church, the people, and see the Pantheon down the street.

Francesco the owner, Barbara and the rest of the staff were so nice and extremely helpful. We felt like family. The breakfast was grand. You could even sit out on the terrace eating your breakfast and watch life go by in the Piazza below. In the evening, we sat on the terrace with a glass of wine. La dolce vita!

The location is perfect. Walking distance to all the major sights, restaurants, markets, bakeries, gelaterias, boutiques. You have it all within a short walk.

The cost for a room is less than many of the nice hotels in the area. We know from experience, because we have stayed in some of those hotels. In our opinion, you will have a better Roman experience by staying at Francesco's B&B.

If you are looking for a great place to stay in the centre of Rome, look no further and stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidm1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our room was modern, clean and adequately furnished with upscale style fixtures in the bathroom. We stayed here in September for two nights. Perhaps we are a little naive, but we had a difficult time finding the hotel entrance in this piazza. There really isn't an obvious sign and the doors to the building are unmarked. We asked around at different shops and restaurants and finally found someone at a nearby gelato store that helped us get into the hotel. We were checked in by the maid and there really is no front desk for arrivals. The maid spoke no English and made sure we knew how to use the key to get into the room and turn on the utilities. She left the hotel soon after and there was no one else there and we were left with no instructions for the TV, telephone, or how to use the security system to get out of the hotel or to get back in! We have travelled worldwide and stayed in many hotels. But this was a little disconcerting and although Francesco apologized for the inconvenience it was upsetting to feel trapped. In any case, once everything was figured out we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was generous and the location was perfect. And yes, we would go back again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JeffreyF682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Everything about this boutique hotel was perfect - from the initial contact made via email with Francesco regarding arranging airport transport to checkout. Francesco was very prompt replying to my many emails for which I was most greatful for. Was very nice to meet him - he is a true gentleman. The room was gorgeous - perfectly clean and very spacious - very efficient airconditioning - bed was extremely comfortable - loads of storage for clothes- the fittings in the bathroom were modern and all the furnishings were beautiful. The view from our open window over the Piazza della Maddelena was a real treat and there was no noise whatsoever when the windows were closed. The proximity to all the sights were within easy walking distance - took about 5 mins walk to the Pantheon and easy walking distance to trevi fountain and the piazza navona - just to name a few. Downstairs in the piazza are a lot of restaurants to choose from and also many more within easy walking distance. Breakfast room was quaint and impeccably clean. Continental breakfast - lots of fresh fruit, pastries and croissants bread to toast, cold meats and cheeses, jams, cereals and tea, coffee, cappuccino made to order. Barbara the receptionist was very welcoming and friendly and check in was a breese. She was also very helpful when one of our travellers had some issues with the workings of the in room safe. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Relais Maddelena to anyone and hope one day I get to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karynl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This B&B is so perfect. I had a great view every morning, while having my cappuccino, in front of the beautiful church in the piazza. It is definitely my new favorite place in Rome. My room was stylishly furnished and impeccably clean.

Pros:

The managers were so gracious and their recommendations were perfect.

I can't recommend enough how in the center of everything it is. I was able to turn a quick corner and arrive in front of the Pantheon. There are tons of great restaurants and boutique shops and all the central sites are walkable. I walked on a straight path from the Relais to the Castelo Angelo and it was not far.

The breakfast was nice. No hot foods, but the typical continental breakfast.

The mattresses were comfortable, which is not the norm in Europe.

They have REAL air conditioning, not the fans that you sometimes get, which are advertised as AC.

The rooms were kept perfectly clean and the extras in the bathroom and minibar were really great.

Cons:

The young man who makes cappuccinos in the morning must not like the taste of coffee or else he really loves milk. It was funny to me, but every morning he made my cappuccino with so much milk. The final morning, I decided to just have straight coffee and he poured a ton of milk in that too before I could stop him.

Room Tip: Avoid getting the room that is right next to the breakfast room. That can get a little noisy in the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#51 of 1,267 in Rome
993 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#118 of 1,267 in Rome
656 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#112 of 1,267 in Rome
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dimora degli Dei
Dimora degli Dei
#62 of 3,712 in Rome
258 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#49 of 3,712 in Rome
174 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 3,712 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $183 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing