We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY STAY IN ROME”
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #81 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 11 lovely days in Rome thanks in part to the terrific location of the Maddalena, and to the charming staff that keeps all running smoothly. Francesco, Francesca, Anastasia and Andrea are a delightful team always ready to assist. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and when something blinks out, as do tv's when there is an electrical storm, it is fixed quickly. There is no better location for a week or so in that wonderful city, with good restaurants at each hand, easy access to taxis, and short walks to many wonderful sites. The stairs were manageable even for the slightly impaired. We highly recommend the Relais Maddalena. Seth & janet Bodner, Summit, NJ

Room Tip: Mezannine room good, as second floor involves a second flight of stairs. The stairs are shallow and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seth3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 329 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Location! Location! Location! What a wonderful place to stay in the middle of the action in Rome. Situated so close to the Pantheon you can see it from the hotel. The rooms were beautiful and modern. We actually stayed in three different rooms because we kept adding on nights. All were lovely. We stayed six nights and walked everywhere with no problem at all. The complimentary wine and mini bar were great treats! Breakfast was not spectacular but nice enough. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Loved all the action in the square outside the hotel: restaurants, gelato, street performers [selling stuff]. Don’t miss the church across the street!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Relais Maddalena in June 2012 and it was wonderful. The beautiful Piazza Maddalena with its restaurants, shops and amazing Church sets the scene for the lovely accommodation awaiting behind huge doors! Francesco made us very welcome and proudly showed us to one of the newly decorated rooms. Beautiful vaulted ceiling, extremely comfortable bed, impeccable bathroom, air conditioning and a mini bar,(we didn't realise it was complimentary!)....what more could a guest want? A window overlooking the piazza providing a glimpse of the daily hustle and bustle so typical of life in 'the eternal city'. Relais Maddalena is situated in a convenient spot for all sightseeing. When travelling we are very choosy about where we stay but the accommodation at Relais Maddalena was, by far the best we have encountered in Rome. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Piazza Maddalena and it was great to be 'part of daily life in the square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbournePolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Relais Maddelana is situated in a small piazza that is a wonderful location for sightseeing in Rome. All the major sights are walkable unless you have ambulatory problems. The church in the piazza is beautiful inside. There are wonderful restaurant and shops nearby and you are a two minute walk to the Pantheon. Francesco the owner speaks excellent English. He is very cute and helpful in answering questions. He is also very interesting to talk to about all kinds of topics. The staff are very nice. The rooms are lovely, clean and have a complimentary mini-bar plus complimentary wine. Also, this place had the best mattresses during our three week stay in Italy! A great overall place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay more, ask for a room with a view of the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saragc451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Relais Maddalena is a hidden gem tucked away in a small Piazza. It’s ideally positioned in a busy area centrally between the major sites and surrounded by many restaurants, bars and shops. Taxis are available at the Pantheon which is just a few minutes’ walk away. Francesco has skillfully remodeled the first and second floor rooms of this 400 year old building in a contemporary modern theme using quality furnishings and finishes very effectively. Our air conditioned room had a barrel vaulted ceiling with a lovely paint finish that resembled a creamy silk. Sky Europe on a LCD TV, telephone and WiFi are also provided. It was very clean with a superbly fitted bathroom, a great shower with fresh white soft towels. We looked over the lively Piazza, the double glazed window very effectively controlled any noise from the bustle. Continental breakfast with a good selection is also included. The limousine transfer to and from the airport makes for an easy transfer and is quite a treat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PALIN0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We returned to Relais Maddalena and took advantage of the Mercedes limo pickup at the airport. Nice way to travel, and we selected the same room we had last year. As before, it was a wonderful stay and we enjoyed our conversations with our host Francesco very much. He is a true gentleman and clearly works very hard. Breakfast and coffee were great. You might hear some noise out on the piazza but it is the nature of this location and Roma. We slept great. I am very particular when it comes to where I stay, and how I spend my hard earned monry, and I highly recommend Relais Maddalena. The location is optimum for visiting all the must see places in Rome, and taxis are readily available near the Pantheon just down the street.

Room Tip: We chose the room with the Pantheon and Church view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank olypdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We enjoyed our 2-night stay at Relais Maddalena. The property is ideally located on a charming Piazza, within walking distance to many major sights e.g. Campo dei Fiori, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain, etc. The property has been tastefully renovated. The room we were assigned (behind the reception desk) was small and had no view but we really appreciated the comfort of the bed, the cleanliness and amenities offered e.g. slippers, free mini-bar, internet access (note that connection is not stable). Breakfast was continental style with nothing especially noteworthy besides the lovely view on the church, so we only had fresh fruit and ordered the rest at one of the many bars/coffee places nearby.

Overall we were a bit disappointed by the experience at Relais Maddalena. After reading the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor, our expectations may have been too high . We didn't have the chance to meet Francesco and the lady who managed the place that weekend didn't give the impression that she wanted to be there. For instance, when we saw her a few minutes after checking in, she was walking down from the top of the stairs (on the 2nd floor) to meet us on the 1st floor. When she reached the bottom of the stairs, we asked, 'by the way, where is the breakfast room?'. Her answer was, 'why didn't you ask me when I was still at the top of the stairs?' The breakfast room happens to be on the 2nd floor so we could really tell that she walked up again reluctantly. She tried to be nice but her attitude certainly doesn't belong to the hospitality industry. Anyhow, the location, design and comfort of the room would still make us consider Relais Maddalena again on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heiranig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,271 in Rome
1,025 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#51 of 3,734 in Rome
181 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Queen
Navona Queen
#29 of 3,734 in Rome
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Caravita
Hotel Caravita
#132 of 3,734 in Rome
364 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Coronari - Design Rooms Library
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $139 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing