We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais Maddalena
Nearby Hotels
$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$356
$278
Capo d'Africa
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma(Rome)(Great Value!)
$192
$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Yes Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
$314
$288
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$1,100
$1,066
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Morgana(Rome)(Great Value!)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$1,029
$491
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,445
$769
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveler rating
272
55
11
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
55
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen doorpiazza dellaperfect locationsan crispinogeorge sandbaroque facaderose petals on the bedstone staircaseb bexcellent soundproofingromantic roomquiet piazzagelatobreakfast roomwithin walking distancedouble glazed windowshistoric center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 341 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

On our 2 week trip through Europe, we stopped for 3 days & 2 nights in Rome and stayed at Relais Maddalena - IT WAS PERFECT. They picked us up from the airport after our overnight flights, which was great. We arrived early so our room wasn't ready yet, so they stored our bags and we explored Rome. The LOCATION of Relais Maddalena is perfect...right next to the Pantheon and Pantheon Piazza, which is a great Piazza. It's right in the middle of Ancient Rome and the Vatican, so you can easily walk to both (15-20 minutes to each, but it's wonderful walking through the streets of Rome!). The room itself was very large, the beds were comfortable, the A/C worked perfect, the bathroom was large, the shower was large, everything honestly was wonderful. The hospitality of the hotel was superb - so kind, so helpful. Our room had a view of the Piazza below and I recommend the view...it's wonderful to listen to the sounds of Rome from your bed :) Stay at this wonderful B&B, I promise you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was not our first visit to Rome so major tourist attractions were not on the agenda. We chose this location because of the old town atmosphere. Opted for the pick-up at the airport after a 23 hour flight. What fun to be chauffeured into Rome in a black Mercedes, winding in and out of little streets.
We had no idea what to expect when the driver pointed to the "green door" in the piazza and said that was our hotel entrance.
Push the buzzer and the door was opened by a welcoming lady eager to help us with the bags to the second level via a wide staircase.
The rooms are what we would call traditional older style italian, perfectly clean, comfortable bed, adequate bathroom with a large shower recess. It was everything we had hoped for and in the perfect location.
Our room overlooked the square and although the noise was their until midnight we felt it added to the experience and atmosphere.
The highlight each morning was the excellent breakfast. A great start to the day.
Spent 3 nights here and would certainly return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel is wonderful and the staff make it even better. Francesco offered great suggestions for seeing the city and romantic places for dinner. The rooms have modern amenities but also maintain their old world charm. Great location right in the middle of Rome. All of the major attractions are within easy walking distance of the hotel. Restaurants, shopping and gelato are only steps away from the door of the hotel. As others have stated the noise from the small piazza can be heard late at night. The hotel has heavy double paned windows and curtains that help to muffle the noise. It is like being in the middle of any busy city. Its all part of the experience of being in the middle of Rome with the narrow streets, shops, and restaurants. We had a great time and hope to return someday. Thank you Francesco and Andrea for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the piazza. While the noise from the piazza can bother some the views are awesome.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This little place is a very homely hotel, in a very cute little piazza overlooking a church and gelato shop (also owned by the hotel) and a stone's throw away from the Pantheon.

When we arrived, Francesco made us feel very welcome, taking time to explain to us where we are, directions to the main sights, and he was at great pains to make us feel welcome. Our room was very comfortable, with lots of storage space, and great blackout curtains.

The breakfast was great - a good choice of bread, cheese, meats, cereal juices, and fresh Italian coffee.

We spoke to Francesco about visiting the Vatican, and when he realised we had not booked advance tickets, he offered to do this for us himself, and invoice our room. This was highly appreciated!

The location is excellent, and all the major sights are within walking distance - thank goodness given the taxi prices in Rome ...

This is a great, homely and informal place. So this is just a word for anyone who is expecting 5 star hotel service ... It is not immediately obvious when you enter the piazza where the hotel is. If you have the address, you will be fine, but there is no big sign! The reception is not 24 hour, so if you will be arriving very late or leaving very early, you should definitely discuss this with Francesco and he will do his best to accommodate you (our luggage was stored on our last day, no issues).

At night, it can get quite noisy with the club or bar nearby. Personally this didn't disturb me - give me earplugs and I'll be fine - but if you are a sensitive sleeper, you may wish to let Francesco know so that you can get a quieter room.

All in all, this place, to me, seems like a bit of a hidden gem in Rome. Brilliant location, super friendly staff, great rooms and good value for money. If I'm in Rome again, I'll be staying at this place!

Room Tip: If you are a sensitive sleeper, ask for a room facing the back as there is a fairly noisy bar nearby.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reywal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed their for 4 nights , Mr. Franccisco welcome us , he was so friendly and told us every thing we need to know and gave us a map and esplain to us all the famious places that we can go to ,, the location of the hotel was perfect , we walked around rome and visit all what want , we took a taxi only coming from the airport and to the termeni station .. There is no elevator so you have to curry your luggage 1 or 2 floors , even so Mr.Franccisco helped us with our luggage when we arrive .. The room was super large as a hotel in the center and very clear , modern furniture ,, and they upgrade because the is a problem with the ac in our room .. Defenitly reccomend it and will stay again ,,

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Hadeel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews