We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute perfection & AMAZING location in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #102 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Villa Park, California, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection & AMAZING location in Rome”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

On our 2 week trip through Europe, we stopped for 3 days & 2 nights in Rome and stayed at Relais Maddalena - IT WAS PERFECT. They picked us up from the airport after our overnight flights, which was great. We arrived early so our room wasn't ready yet, so they stored our bags and we explored Rome. The LOCATION of Relais Maddalena is perfect...right next to the Pantheon and Pantheon Piazza, which is a great Piazza. It's right in the middle of Ancient Rome and the Vatican, so you can easily walk to both (15-20 minutes to each, but it's wonderful walking through the streets of Rome!). The room itself was very large, the beds were comfortable, the A/C worked perfect, the bathroom was large, the shower was large, everything honestly was wonderful. The hospitality of the hotel was superb - so kind, so helpful. Our room had a view of the Piazza below and I recommend the view...it's wonderful to listen to the sounds of Rome from your bed :) Stay at this wonderful B&B, I promise you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    51
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
178
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was not our first visit to Rome so major tourist attractions were not on the agenda. We chose this location because of the old town atmosphere. Opted for the pick-up at the airport after a 23 hour flight. What fun to be chauffeured into Rome in a black Mercedes, winding in and out of little streets.
We had no idea what to expect when the driver pointed to the "green door" in the piazza and said that was our hotel entrance.
Push the buzzer and the door was opened by a welcoming lady eager to help us with the bags to the second level via a wide staircase.
The rooms are what we would call traditional older style italian, perfectly clean, comfortable bed, adequate bathroom with a large shower recess. It was everything we had hoped for and in the perfect location.
Our room overlooked the square and although the noise was their until midnight we felt it added to the experience and atmosphere.
The highlight each morning was the excellent breakfast. A great start to the day.
Spent 3 nights here and would certainly return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel is wonderful and the staff make it even better. Francesco offered great suggestions for seeing the city and romantic places for dinner. The rooms have modern amenities but also maintain their old world charm. Great location right in the middle of Rome. All of the major attractions are within easy walking distance of the hotel. Restaurants, shopping and gelato are only steps away from the door of the hotel. As others have stated the noise from the small piazza can be heard late at night. The hotel has heavy double paned windows and curtains that help to muffle the noise. It is like being in the middle of any busy city. Its all part of the experience of being in the middle of Rome with the narrow streets, shops, and restaurants. We had a great time and hope to return someday. Thank you Francesco and Andrea for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the piazza. While the noise from the piazza can bother some the views are aweso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This little place is a very homely hotel, in a very cute little piazza overlooking a church and gelato shop (also owned by the hotel) and a stone's throw away from the Pantheon.

When we arrived, Francesco made us feel very welcome, taking time to explain to us where we are, directions to the main sights, and he was at great pains to make us feel welcome. Our room was very comfortable, with lots of storage space, and great blackout curtains.

The breakfast was great - a good choice of bread, cheese, meats, cereal juices, and fresh Italian coffee.

We spoke to Francesco about visiting the Vatican, and when he realised we had not booked advance tickets, he offered to do this for us himself, and invoice our room. This was highly appreciated!

The location is excellent, and all the major sights are within walking distance - thank goodness given the taxi prices in Rome ...

This is a great, homely and informal place. So this is just a word for anyone who is expecting 5 star hotel service ... It is not immediately obvious when you enter the piazza where the hotel is. If you have the address, you will be fine, but there is no big sign! The reception is not 24 hour, so if you will be arriving very late or leaving very early, you should definitely discuss this with Francesco and he will do his best to accommodate you (our luggage was stored on our last day, no issues).

At night, it can get quite noisy with the club or bar nearby. Personally this didn't disturb me - give me earplugs and I'll be fine - but if you are a sensitive sleeper, you may wish to let Francesco know so that you can get a quieter room.

All in all, this place, to me, seems like a bit of a hidden gem in Rome. Brilliant location, super friendly staff, great rooms and good value for money. If I'm in Rome again, I'll be staying at this place!

Room Tip: If you are a sensitive sleeper, ask for a room facing the back as there is a fairly noisy bar nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reywal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed their for 4 nights , Mr. Franccisco welcome us , he was so friendly and told us every thing we need to know and gave us a map and esplain to us all the famious places that we can go to ,, the location of the hotel was perfect , we walked around rome and visit all what want , we took a taxi only coming from the airport and to the termeni station .. There is no elevator so you have to curry your luggage 1 or 2 floors , even so Mr.Franccisco helped us with our luggage when we arrive .. The room was super large as a hotel in the center and very clear , modern furniture ,, and they upgrade because the is a problem with the ac in our room .. Defenitly reccomend it and will stay again ,,

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hadeel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My family had two rooms and both of them were immaculate. Great mix of modern comfort and old Italy charm These were the most comfortable rooms during our 2.5 week Italy journey. Their central location also made it very easy to explore Rome. Our rooms also opened over a small piazza that was beautiful.

I must agree with a prior comment that stated "...was continual noise the last two night." This was heard in our rooms as well but it was never to the point it kept me awake -- just strange to be occurring. It kept my wife awake much more but regardless it did not impact our overall score.

Francesco was a good host and provided good discussion during our stay as well as ensuring our comfort was exquisite. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SethCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
219 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Generally we loved the place...great location..within easy walking distance to the Pantheon and Trevi fountain. The rooms were secure and clean. All modern fixtures and nice TV for relaxing after a long day in the Rome heat. The caretakers are fantastic...they were very attentive and pleasant...they really made you feel wlecomed. The breakfast was okay in comparision to some of the other places we stayed in Italy...the traditional bread, cheese, fruit,cereal, yogurt..

There were only two things that dampened the experience:

1) Our wall unit A/C was very noisy
2) There was continual noise the last two night .....it sounded like furniture being moved around and things rolling across the floor,...We were armed with ear plugs since many places we stayed were in the middle of the huslte and bustle of the Italian nightlife but this was by far the noisiest...I cant say if it was just this room or the location in general but it unfortunately sticks out like a sore thumb when I think of this place...

Again I want to emphasize it could be just our room and this particular time period but since the review is about our experience I needed to include it...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#52 of 1,291 in Rome
924 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#119 of 1,291 in Rome
731 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#148 of 1,291 in Rome
585 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#60 of 3,752 in Rome
146 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dimora degli Dei
Dimora degli Dei
#69 of 3,752 in Rome
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Property: Relais Maddalena
Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing