We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Villa Urbani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Urbani
Ranked #460 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Villa Urbani is located on the outskirts of the Trastevere neighborhood of Rome. You are within walking distance of everything yet the Villa is quiet and peaceful. Our room was huge, the breakfast was good and our hostess Laura was very kind and thoughtful. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imabooklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Villa Urbani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I loved this B&B, which is in a beautiful part of Trastevere. We arrived in the afternoon and was welcomed by Laura who made us a lovely Espresso. The house was incredible, we stayed in the family room which was huge (5 metre high ceilings) and had everything you'd need, it overlooked the side of the Garden. Everywhere seemed within easy reach especially Gianicolo which was only a short walk away and has the most amazing views of Rome. Laura was a great host and prepared breakfast for us on the Roof Terrace, we stayed for 2 nights and would highly recommend staying at Villa Urbani.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Villa Urbani is the perfect place to stay for young travelers looking for a comfortable bed and breakfast. I stayed with three of my friends in her 4 person family suite. The room and property were fantastic, clean and a pleasure to stay in. Laura is an extremely nice woman who made us breakfast every morning and helped us navigate the city.

For younger travelers under 25, villa urbani is located walking distance to Trastevere which is an incredible, young area filled with bars and restaurants. I looked for hostels in Trastevere and chose Villa Urbani and could not have been happier. It has a perfect location to go out at night and have a good time. Definitely provided us a nice break from staying in hostels during our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

we asked for a quiet room in Lauras lovely house but were extremlly disapointed to be put in a room facing the busy and noisy road by anyones standards,,we were fobbed off with some exscuses and left to find a much more central but quiet hotel in trastevere,Just dont go here if you want a good nights sleep,2 dissapointed customers

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at Villa Urbani during our first visit to Rome for 5 nights and that turned out to be a good choice.

The room was spacious and clean with a bathroom with a shower and the owner, Laura, was very friendly and speaks English fluently. She provides breakfast in the morning (croissants, small bread rolls, cheese, jam, cake, orange juice and coffee/cappucino). Laura was always very helpful and knows for example which bus/tram you have to take to the major attractions in Rome and can book tickets for you online but gives you privacy for the rest of the day.

Sometimes she host a concert in her music studio in the garden and she invited us to join wich we really enjoyed (10 euro per person, including pasta/wine after the concert).
You don't have to worry about noise, the music studio is seperate from the main building where the guest rooms are.

It is about 10-15 min. walk from Villa Urbani to the area of Trastevere where the restaurants are. It's nice to stay in a more quite area with still only a short walk to Trastevere.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tassie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights with the owner, Laura, at Villa Urbani. We stayed in the red and gray suite which also accommodated our young adult children when they joined us. Plenty to choose from at breakfast which typically included one of Laura's homemade cakes. Decaf cappuccino available, which was a plus. The view from our room of the garden below and the estate next door was a treat for the eyes. Laura arranged for car service to pick us up and take us to the airport which was helpful. We walked down into Trastevere and took the tram or simply walked anywhere we wanted to go. Very convenient to The American Academy in Rome. We were fortunate to be there for one of the chamber concerts Lautra hosts periodically. We also enjoyed our conversations with Laura at breakfast. Only suggestion I would have is to provide a second set of house keys for a family of 4 sharing a room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvilletravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This lovely, substantially built villa lies in the quieter Trastevere area of Rome yet still within walking distance of some of the main sites and a variety of restaurants supplying good food. There is bus service nearby. It is about a half hour walk to St Peter's Basilica, the route going via the Gianicolo gardens with wonderful views across Rome. Allow at least another 15 minutes to walk to the Vatican. The restaurants are a 10-15 minute walk away.
We stayed in the suite (no doubles were available) which was very spacious (especially in height!) with windows on 2 sides and a window in the shower room and had a comfy bed.
Traffic noise is minimal.
Breakfast included fruit juice, yoghurt, cereal, croissant, rolls, cheese, ham, cake..., taken in a lovely breakfast room.
The taxi service offered from the airport is very good value at 40 euros. We were met by a very comfortable black Mercedes driven by the stylish Cecilia!
The advantage of B and B like this is, unlike hotels,exemption from room tax.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#628 of 1,267 in Rome
171 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#200 of 1,267 in Rome
390 reviews
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#521 of 1,267 in Rome
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Villa della Fonte
Villa della Fonte
#525 of 1,267 in Rome
163 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#287 of 1,267 in Rome
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Urbani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Urbani

Address: Viale Trenta Aprile 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#150 Family Hotel in Rome
#192 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Villa Urbani Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing