We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent day!”
Review of Clam Tours

Clam Tours
Ranked #226 of 778 Tours in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We lead personalized, private walks throughout Rome to help you explore and enjoy the faces of the Eternal City that you want to see. We also offer a range of concierge services, from airport pickups to reservations, to enhance your experience of Rome.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent day!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I spent our last day in Rome touring with Tess. It was a great ending to a great trip. We started the day in Ancient Rome at the Colosseum and worked our way to Palantine Hill and the Forum. We spent the afternoon seeing churches, fountains, the Pantheon and so much more! Tess really made it come alive with the history and stories. She is incredibly knowledgeable and able to convey a lot of material in a way that is enjoyable and interesting! Her love of Rome is infectious and she knows all the great hidden gems. Highly recommend spending a day with Tess!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gab82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rome with a grandaughter”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I took our 18 year-old college freshman grandaughter for a week in Rome. Tess guided us for two complete days - imperial, renaissance and byzantine Rome, the Vatican, campo di fiore and piazza navona, plus some interesting neighborhoods like Monti. It was a great experience. Tess was fun, vibrant, charming and very knowledgable. She must know half of Romve personally as we kept bumping into her friends. We had been to Rome many times but we did the whole nine yards for our grandaughter on her first visit. Tess gave us new perspectives and made the city exciting and wondrous for our grandaughter.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited Rome in September and booked three half day tours with Tess at Clam Private Tours. These included the Forum and Colosseum, the Villa Borghese and the Vatican Museum. Our tours with Tess were fascinating and very enjoyable. She is an extremely enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide, and delightful company. Her knowledge of the city is extensive, and she is only too willing to advise on shops and restaurants, and other places to visit. If you would like a private guide in Rome, you should definitely contact Tess!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank weatherbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond incredible”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our Vatican tour with Tess was without question a highlight of our
honeymoon in Italy. From the minute we met her at a wonderful lunch
spot she suggested it was clear to us that our afternoon would be
informative but also fun. Tess took the time before we began our tour
to get a sense of our artistic interests and catered our tour to them
perfectly while introducing us to the vast art offerings of the
Vatican. She has a wonderful personality and her knowledge of the art
and buildings of the Vatican went well beyond all expectations. By the
time our tour came to an end we had seen and learned more than we could
ever imagine doing in an afternoon. We could not have been happier
with our experience!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LMH929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My sister treated me to 2 and a half days of 'Rome with Tess' - best birthday present EVER! Tess took us to many of the hidden sites, while serving up informative and fascinating histories. Her enthusiasm for this magnificent city is infectious. Her depth of knowledge and insights are shared with charm and good humour. We walked miles, learning something interesting on each winding, narrow, cobbled street. Want to know the truth about Caesar's demise? Tess can tell you the inside story. Want to taste the best tartufo in the world? Just ask Tess.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank NoraC521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Tours also viewed

 

Been to Clam Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing