We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful customer experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Ranked #9 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at one of Alessandro’s lovely apartments for our honeymoon in April and were treated with some of the best client/customer service we have experienced for a long long time. All our queries were answered constructively and solutions were found to any problems. The ease with which all of these exchanges occurred – such as organising a taxi pick-up at the last minute and finding train times/connections – really helped us relax and enjoy the overall stay in Rome. The room was laid out very nicely with some lovely, well considered design choices, and all of our needs as guests were thought of – such as a safe, a hairdryer, a kettle, a cheap minibar, free drinking water along with lots of little ‘extras’, such as fruit put in our for us in the afternoons and a bottle of wine to greet us. The breakfasts delivered to the door were amazing and simply delightful. The room was really clean and tidy, and the terrace had lighting for the evening as well as a brilliant range of plants that made it a great environment to relax in. Alessandro obviously takes great care and pride in his apartments and thought of every detail from a traveller’s perspective. We had an utterly fantastic time and would thoroughly recommend staying here. In fact, we plan to come back to Rome and stay as return visitors in the lovely Althea Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 589 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed at the amazing Althea Inn last weekend and have to say it's one of the best places i've stayed in (and i've been to plenty of 5* hotels). The help and service given to us by Alessandro was excellent. The accomodation was fantastic, spotlessly clean bedding and fluffy white towels. Wine on arrival, complimentary bottles of water. One word sums it up really - Perfect! Will definitely recommend to family and friends. Thank you Alessandro!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 556Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

It had been a long time since we stayed in a B&B but the reviews we read for the Althea Inn convinced us to try this one for our 4 night stay. It was the right decision! From the very onset, the owner Alessandro was very helpful and very responsive: replying to our e-mails very quickly - often within the hour. He also helped us reserve a taxi from the airport to apartment building. We stayed in two different rooms, both gorgeous, spacious and very well decorated. Both rooms had balconies set up with a table and chairs which are perfect for relaxing outside when the weather is nice. Breakfast was served in the room each morning and was very nice and filling, which gave us fuel for the morning as we walked all around the city. The building is located very close to a metro station and is also within walking distance of the Colosseum if you have time for a casual stroll. There are also several buses that run nearby. If it is your first time in Rome, as it was for us, Alessandro is a great host who can give you all the tips you need for navigating the city and anything else you might need. We definitely recommend it to anyone planning to visit the Eternal City.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersfromEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Got back today from a week's stay at Althea Inn. Alessandro and his staff at this immaculate, cozy, authentically Roman B&B surpassed our expectations & delivered the warmth of Rome in an otherwise cool week in early spring. It is ideally located within walking distance of major archeological sites with the metro and regional train lines within 5 minutes walk from the Inn's doorsteps. This being our first time at a B&B we were spoiled with the luxury of a breakfast that very few chain hotels could match. Undoubtedly we will be back! Grazie Alessandro.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just yesterday we've returned from our trip to Rome and we (my wife and my two daughters) stayed here for 5 nights. I've never stayed in a BB before as I always preferred to stay in hotel chains where you know exactly what to expect, but since my prefferred ones were either full or too far from the city I've decided to stay here after previous reviews on TripAd.
Despite all previous excellent reviews as always I was cautious in my expectations. However this place was just excellent! The building is very close to the metro and very easy to find, especially if you spend prior your arrival few minutes to look it on Google maps. There is a bus stop on approx. 150 m from the Inn (lines 83 or 673) that leads to most of the places like Colosseo and the Basilica S. Giovanni in Laterano and these buses were always almost empty and became our prefferred type of transport to the city center rather the underground metro, cause you see where you're going.
The rooms were perfectly decorated and we liked the orchids in the room and bathroom (both were very clean). All beds were very comfy and we felt it especially on the day when we took a long walking tour from Vatican through Pz. Navona and back to the Inn. My daughters were happy to find everyday a candy on their pillows (small things, but very important cause when your children are happy, you feel happy as well and they're ready to take endless walks to limitless historical sights in Rome). Fresh fruits everyday in your room - this was wonderful not only for my children, but for us also. Breakfast was excellent and there is a beautiful terrace where we've had our breakfasts. The minibar - this was the first minibar I've ever seen that is perfectly usable and the most expensive item was just 2 euro which was very good bottle of Chianti - a perfect finish of your day in Rome. Alessandro was excellent host and very helpful. He has excellent approach and attention to the guests. I can recommend this place with absolute confidence!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

When I first read the glowing Tripadvisor reviews for the Althea Inn, I was ‘a bit sceptical’. Nowhere could be quite that good, could it? Now, having spent 6 days there, I’m adding my own ‘excellent’ review.

As others have said, first impressions of the area are not that great — but Alessandro’s B&B on the 5th floor is a haven of tranquillity in a bustling city. Although it’s located close to a major road and conveniently close to transport links, it was very quiet.

The accommodation was clean and comfortable and very obviously ‘cleaned and tidied’ every day, while we were out.

As it was March, it wasn’t warm enough to enjoy breakfast on the terrace — but with afternoon temperatures reaching 20C during our stay, it was a wonderful place to relax before going out to dinner in one of the local restaurants.

We’re already planning to go back for a few more days next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Althea Inn in March 2014. We were greeted by Alessandro upon arrival and taken to a lovely clean room with a peaceful terrace. Alessandro left us a bottle of champagne on arrival, brought a delicious breakfast to our room each morning and fruit each afternoon. It was these little touches that made the stay that much more special.

Whilst it is not located in the most picturesque area of Rome, there are two train stations nearby (two Metro stops from Colesseum), a supermarket downstairs and some nice restaurants close by.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Toni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campanella3
#3 of 3,734 in Rome
393 reviews
Gianicolense
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
#1 of 3,734 in Rome
478 reviews
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#6 of 3,734 in Rome
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#4 of 3,734 in Rome
1,172 reviews
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Prati
A View of Rome
A View of Rome
#18 of 3,734 in Rome
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Inn Roof Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Inn Roof Terrace

Address: Via Dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $80 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Eternal City, a delightful penthouse, an oasis of comfort and hospitality, set within walking distance from the Colosseum, Circus Maximus, and many other tourist attractions.A cosy place, with elegantly furnished rooms with a large terrace where to take the breakfast or just sip a drink after getting back from town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Althea Inn Roof Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing