We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another 'excellent' review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Ranked #12 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Bucks, England
2 reviews
“Another 'excellent' review”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

When I first read the glowing Tripadvisor reviews for the Althea Inn, I was ‘a bit sceptical’. Nowhere could be quite that good, could it? Now, having spent 6 days there, I’m adding my own ‘excellent’ review.

As others have said, first impressions of the area are not that great — but Alessandro’s B&B on the 5th floor is a haven of tranquillity in a bustling city. Although it’s located close to a major road and conveniently close to transport links, it was very quiet.

The accommodation was clean and comfortable and very obviously ‘cleaned and tidied’ every day, while we were out.

As it was March, it wasn’t warm enough to enjoy breakfast on the terrace — but with afternoon temperatures reaching 20C during our stay, it was a wonderful place to relax before going out to dinner in one of the local restaurants.

We’re already planning to go back for a few more days next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
326
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed at the Althea Inn in March 2014. We were greeted by Alessandro upon arrival and taken to a lovely clean room with a peaceful terrace. Alessandro left us a bottle of champagne on arrival, brought a delicious breakfast to our room each morning and fruit each afternoon. It was these little touches that made the stay that much more special.

Whilst it is not located in the most picturesque area of Rome, there are two train stations nearby (two Metro stops from Colesseum), a supermarket downstairs and some nice restaurants close by.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My mother and I shared a room at the Althea Inn for four nights last week. The room was beautiful and clean with fresh flowers every day and a huge balcony. It really felt like we were at home!

Alessandro was an excellent host who was available to answer questions and was very accommodating to our schedule.

The location was a very easy walk from the metro and the train going to the airport. We also found a few delicious restaurants nearby.

It was really the best place we stayed the whole trip!! I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizZim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nes ziona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We staied at the b&b for 5 nights in the corner room.
Room was big and clean, the owner Mr Alessandro was helpfull and did everything in order to make our stay pleasent .
Breakfast was good: fresh fruits, pastry, bread, cheese and ham.
Location is a 5- 10 min' walk to a transpotrtation hub containing train, metro, tram and busses(2 metro stops away from the colosseo).
Will be happy to come again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a lovely three night stay which we could not fault. The room and service were impeccable. Alessandro arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport and he and his team accommodated our late arrival. The wine and strawberries were a welcome treat!

The location was great, near the metro and only fifteen minutes walk to the Colosseum. Yes, there were some road works on the main road, but that did not interfere with our accommodation. We found the Inn to be very quite. Other than the hosts we never saw any other guests or residents in the block.

We liked the fact that we were away from the packed streets of the centre and found that we had everything we needed on the door step. Eataly was a short stroll away and had a great selection of wine and cheese for us to enjoy on the balcony before heading out for an evening meal.

We would highly recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Tip: if you get the chance you might want to book a local restaurant before you arrive as they get f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 423Claire423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My partner and I spent four nights at the Althea Inn in early February. The room was spacious; the bed was comfortable and breakfast was lovely. We felt so welcomed and Alessandro and his staff were extremely helpful.
The Inn is about a 5 minute walk from the nearest metro and about a 15 minute walk from a variety of great restaurants.
We will definitely stay in the Althea Inn again and would thoroughly recommend the Inn to anyone wanting to stay in Rome. A big thumbs up from us - thank you very much for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annam1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We were very excited to be staying here and chose it based on the many good reviews from this site - the owner had arranged to have us collected at the airport for E50 and this was done very efficiently. Unfortunately we arrived to find that while we were expected our room was not very clean and that the owner was absent on holidays. We found the bathroom also not clean,the fridge had mould in it and there was no attempt to tidy the room each day. In fact we had to ask for this to be done. One day we spent some time sitting in the lobby waiting for our room to be finished. It was very disappointing indeed .. The neighbourhood is in transition and there is much construction .. The people are friendly enough (for Rome) and transport relatively easy to manage .. If you are planning to stay here make certain that the owner is around to manage things ...

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RubaSkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,259 in Rome
712 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,259 in Rome
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanella3
#8 of 3,669 in Rome
373 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#4 of 3,669 in Rome
1,110 reviews
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#6 of 3,669 in Rome
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Inn Roof Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Inn Roof Terrace

Property: Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Address: Via Dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Eternal City, a delightful penthouse, an oasis of comfort and hospitality, set within walking distance from the Colosseum, Circus Maximus, and many other tourist attractions.A cosy place, with elegantly furnished rooms with a large terrace where to take the breakfast or just sip a drink after getting back from town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Althea Inn Roof Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing