We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service excellence unparalleled!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Althea Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Althea Inn
Ranked #14 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Service excellence unparalleled!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place really was a dream place to stay! The service, room, & all-round care factor was impeccable - my hats off to the owner Alessandro & his innkeeper Maricar! My wife & I arrived after a taxing 18hr journey & we were treated to delicious breakfasts (legendary!), great local tips for places to visit & local restaurants, help to do wash our clothes & even coffees & chocolates whilst we worked in our rooms on a rainy Rome day. The neighbourhood is very local & you feel like a regular Roman as you roam around. Couldnt recommend this place more & we cant wait to come back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
90
310
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The Althea Inn was such a great base to explore both the tourist and the local scenes of Rome. Positioned in a suburb with buses, trams and trains at our door and also within walking distance of many attractions, we found it a great retreat. Alexandro and his team could not have been more welcoming or helpful with breakfast in bed each day and a complimentary bottle of wine on our last night. The suite was excellent too, we had everything we needed, umbrellas, drying rack, free wifi, cappuccinos, lovely terrace, comfy bed etc etc.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lthomson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our family stayed at Althea Inn for 3 nights in December and we couldn't have wished for anything more perfect. Alessandro was a consummate host, we loved staying in an authentic neighborhood, the breakfasts were sublime and we were 100 percent comfortable. Thank you Alessandro for a stay of perfection!! We will definitely be back

Room Tip: All rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Grafton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The Althea Inn is an outstanding B&B in Rome. The location is perfect in Testaccio with its array of restaurants, markets and excellent transport links. It is still very close to all the tourist attractions but you also experience the daily life of normal Romans.
The B&B is very comfortable and the owners will do anything to help you. We had a late flight out of Rome and they stored our luggage and then let us use one of the rooms that wasn't rented out that night.
The breakfast is great and there is not much more to say than when we are in Rome again, hopefully we can stay here again.
Mark & Mary, Australia.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank grafton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The host, Alessandro, was welcoming & helpful. He was more than responsive, he anticipated our needs. Since we stayed for 10 days, he suggested different menu items before we even asked. The satisfying b-fast kept us energized during all-day walks until dinner. Our room was stylishly appointed, & supplied with small fridge, hair dryer, & hot pot which we used for evening tea. The balcony is a lovely feature & we breakfasted there when it wasn't raining. We had several chilly, rainy days & appreciated borrowing the umbrellas. Also available were Rome travel books, computer & cell phone. Alessandro graciously offered good travel trips.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, but the end of the hall room probably has the most space & largest balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent 4 great days even if the weather was terribly wet, Bed & Breakfast from high quality and service, stylish host, good location spot, 10 mn by tube from Roma center (Termini) and in quiet area, surrounded by nearby good trattorias for locals and locals prices , outside the touristic massa atmosphere. We'll certainly go back again.

Room Tip: private top floor terrasse by each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gervaisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Picked up by private car at airport and driven to backstreet B & B which was a very pleasantly appointed accommodation.
Breakfast was brought to the room and eaten in the courtyard. easy(300 metres) to tube then 2 stops to major sights. Even though it was late October, Rome was busy and very warm. Survived a pickpocket attempt as did the pickpocket(a 12 year old gypsy girl) though she disappeared very quickly when I yelled at her. Sights of Rome phenomenal and mind boggling for an Aussie!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fryzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 3,752 in Rome
519 reviews
Gianicolense
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
#2 of 3,752 in Rome
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanella 3
#3 of 3,752 in Rome
350 reviews
Monteverde
Suites Trastevere
Suites Trastevere
#17 of 3,752 in Rome
715 reviews
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#7 of 3,752 in Rome
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Inn

Property: Althea Inn
Address: Via Dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Eternal City, a delightful penthouse, an oasis of comfort and hospitality, set within walking distance from the Colosseum, Circus Maximus, and many other tourist attractions.A cosy place, with elegantly furnished rooms with a large terrace where to take the breakfast or just sip a drink after getting back from town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Althea Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing