We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best place during my 2 weeks in italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Althea Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Althea Inn
Ranked #12 of 3,605 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place during my 2 weeks in italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A great place to stay if you are in rome. The room was nice and clean, the shower was comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent! Alessandro is a very nice and helpful guy who made the stay even better!

There is a supermarket nearby, a good italian restaurant just right opposite, and relatively near the train station. I stayed there for 4 nights and it was awesome! The best place i've stayed during my trip in italy!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanna n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
291
18
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My sister and I had given our mother a trip to Rome for her 80th birthday. Looking for a place with a more personal touch than a hotel I stumbled across the Althea Inn.

I wrote to the owner Alessandro and was surprised how fast and accurately he answered my e-mails. When I asked if the shower would be easily accessible for an elderly lady he even came back to me with the exact measurements. He also arranged an airport pick up for us on very short notice and still at a very reasonable price. Upon arrival he waited for us outside the building and welcomed us with pastries and a bottle of wine.
This very personal service did not change during our entire stay. After our first day of sightseeing we came back to find fruit platters in every room. The next day we were awaited by pastries and a bottle of wine accompanied by a note from Alessandro wishing us fun watching the soccer match we had talked about earlier.

Also the breakfast service was great! Upon arrival Alessandro asked what we would like to have for breakfast. Every morning we were treated to bread, croissants, fresh fruit and cappuccinos that we enjoyed on our terrace.

The place itself is beautiful. The rooms are tastefully decorated and spotless. Each room has a private terrace with lots of flowers where you can have breakfast or enjoy a glass of wine in the evening.
There is a small hallway that Alessandro calls the lobby. There you have a cellphone where you can reach him if you need to. Each room can be accessed from the lobby. As a party of five we had booked all rooms which was a real plus because we could move around the entire place and leave the doors open. But I would also go there again if I wanted one room only.

We very much liked the area around the Althea Inn. There are two metro stations within walking distance, a supermarket just around the corner and next door there is a small Café serving great cappuccino. It is not located on the very center of Rome but still we felt like being within the city.

The Althea Inn is a small Bed & Breakfast with a five star service and I can fully recommend it to anyone visiting Rome!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank revolvermoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've read the numerous reviews written since my husband and I spent 3 nights at the Althea Inn in late October. Everything was so special, and Alessandro was a one-of-a-kind innkeeper. He took such good care of us...in a number of ways that made a wonderful difference to us. I wish I could add to the superlatives written on these pages, but I think it's all been said. STAY THERE -- you will not regret it for a minute..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraMcMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Althea Inn is a beautiful place to base your stay in Rome. About a 10 minute walk from Ostiense train station which we did with all of our luggage. A quiet street with several nice restaurants nearby (the Gelatto and Chinese food restaurants around the corner are great). The front entrance is very unassuming, we walked by it the first time. Once inside you will be pleasantly surprised. The room is spacious, nicely decorated and has a beautiful patio. No view from the patio but well surrounded by flowers and plants. Tiled floors, modern bathroom and a comfortable bed help make the stay very enjoyable. The mini-bar has a nice selection of beer, wine and non-alcoholic drinks at reasonable prices and on occasion some great pastries from Alessandro. Breakfast was amazing: pastries, juice, coffee, fresh fruit, and a cheese/sliced meat breakfast sandwich. It was a tasty and filling meal to give a great start to the day.
Alessandro is very helpful with planning and advice. He booked the Borghese Gallery and suggested sights, walking tours and helped with transportation. He is a true gentleman: polite, friendly and made himself available to our schedule and needs. He brought an early breakfast so we could get to the sights first thing in the morning and helped with getting our lost luggage delivered. Service like this you will not receive at any hotel. Thanks Alessandro from making our stay in Rome memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveandRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Reading other reviews we were expecting the best and were not disappointed. Alessandro was informative and helpful with directions, local restaurants etc. Although damp, cool weather meant we were not able to use the balcony until our last morning it was relaxing to look out of our bedroom onto greenery. The minibar is good value. The breakfasts were great, and to have them served in the room was a new experience for us. Alessandro clearly noticed we had a good appetite, as our breakfast tray seemed to be piled higher and higher as the days went on!
We love to walk and found many sights were within walking distance but Alessandro also explained the bus routes, and the train and metro stations were nearby and easy to use. We found Althea Inn to be in a safe area with a well stocked supermarket, a friendly enoteca, several cosy restaurants and bars all within a five minute walk. Our favourite was "Da Enzo" which was good value, friendly and cosy with a varied menu (turn right out of B&B, right again on Via Ostiense and you will come across it)
Alessandro really looked after us without being intrusive. No wonder the reviews are so fantastic. Alessandro - you deserve the five star rating!

Room Tip: if you explain at time of booking what is important to you, Alessandro will give you the most suitab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Englishtravelfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalyan, Mugla, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Althea Inn has to be rated up there with the very best. It may be small with just a few rooms, but from the moment you step through the door of the 5th floor lobby you are surrounded by class and good taste. The rooms are a delight and reflect the character and flair of owner Alessandro; each has its own terrace decked out with comfortable furniture and made intimate by the screening of plants. The beds are a 'dream' - so comfortable.
Each guest is presented with a glass of 'bubbly' and cakes or chocolate!
Breakfast is a superb mix of fresh fruit, croissants, wholemeal bread and a choice of meats and cheeses, coffee or tea and fruit juice.
Alessandro is a charming and reliable host who ensures you get up to catch your flight, arranges luxury cars at affordable prices, communicates and confirms with you and fits in a regular game of football!
Just a five minute walk from Rome's Ostiense railway station, with convenient buses, the location is hard to beat. On top of all this, there is a superb pizzaria, 'Novecento', just 100 mts from the door.
There is no doubt that whenever I'm in Rome this will be my base.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We are very grateful for the hospitality we received from Alessandro at the Althea Inn for our 4 nights in Rome. If you are looking for an "authentic Roman experience," this is the place for you. You get to live like a local for a few days which is a lot of fun and adds to the experience that much more.

We chose this B & B for three reasons: 1. The highly-rated reviews, thanks to all my Trip Advisor family which I rely on heavily when planning all our trips. 2. We enjoy the Bed & Breakfast experience, especially when we want to fully embrace the culture of a new place. 3. It was a convenient location next to both the regional train (to and from the airport and to the port of our ship) and the metro (to get around the city.) If you enjoy Bed & Breakfasts, like embracing the culture of a city, and enjoy the convenience and affordability of public transportation, this is the place for you.

The Althea Inn is located on the 5th floor of a building. If you follow Alessandro's directions from the train, you will be fine. If you have trouble navigating your way around, you may want to look it up closely on Google maps before you go so you can get your bearings. Sometimes the street names aren't easy to read or clearly posted.

The rooms are small, as they often are in any city, but comfortable and clean. The outdoor patio was a nice place to eat breakfast and drink cappuccino, or enjoy a glass of wine before dinner. Alessandro's breakfasts were made with care, were quite enjoyable, and always were the perfect amount to fuel us for the day! There is a "lift" (elevator) to the 5th floor (also not always a common convenience in many cities) so you don't need to trek up the stairs after a day of walking around the city. With the amount of food we ate on our trip, we probably should have taken the stairs EVERY time! Additionally, there is wi-fi available to you. That was an added bonus.

Since part of a our trip would be on a cruise, we needed a location where we could easily take the train. Being close to the Ostiense train station was a huge help. You can get a train directly from the airport there and from there to all sorts of other locations. We were also a 5 minute walk from the metro, which proved helpful after hoofing around the city all day and looking for a quick way back! Not to mention, there is SO much within walking distance of your front door. You are in a great neighborhood filled with quaint restaurants and bars. There is also a small marketplace (Conrad) around the corner should you need anything - food, drinks, or toiletries.

Alessandro is a very gracious and kind host. He answered any questions we had and offered some suggestions as far as visiting and dining. We want to thank him for helping to make our trip that much better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carpediem29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gianicolense
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
#1 of 3,605 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#20 of 3,605 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Gianicolense
Suites Trastevere
Suites Trastevere
#16 of 3,605 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 3,605 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#3 of 3,605 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Star of Rome
#19 of 3,605 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Inn

Property: Althea Inn
Address: Via Dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 3,605 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Eternal City, a delightful penthouse, an oasis of comfort and hospitality, set within walking distance from the Colosseum, Circus Maximus, and many other tourist attractions.A cosy place, with elegantly furnished rooms with a large terrace where to take the breakfast or just sip a drink after getting back from town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Althea Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing