We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveler rating
569
34
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
569
34
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningostiense train stationhost alessandrob btestaccio areala fata ignorantefresh fruitprivate balconybreakfast trayapartment buildingnon touristycomfortable bedcroissantswalking distancemini barplace to stay in romevisiting rome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 606 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My Wife and I Stayed for three nights, the hotel is is a short walk from the Piramide station qith stores around the corner!
Alessandro is The best host you can have, with so many helpful tips and that breakfast! we went every night to sleep thinking about the next morning breakfast which was catered for our individual tastes.
Thank you Alessandro

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicofilauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I want to take this B&B with me on every holiday! No other hotel will ever compare.

Although just out of town, it is only a very short metro ride straight into the centre of Rome and very handy for the train to the airport.

But enough of the practical stuff and onto the amazing stuff... You turn up hot and tired to find a beautiful room, take a warm shower then relax in the quiet, private garden terrace with a complimentary glass of champagne and pastry. It's hard to go out again, especially as the fridge is stocked with drinks at a very reasonable price and there's a supermarket on the corner to grab a picnic...

But hop on the metro you will, and when you get back, you'll have the best night of sleep in the comfy bed in a quiet area of town. And when you wake up, it's a fresh breakfast selection in your pjs on the terrace (or in bed if you like!)

I would go back to Rome just to stay here longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crystaltips2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights att the Althea Inn and the experience was very positive.
The rooms are big for Rome standards, very clean and tastefully decorated. The lovely terrace is also a plus, specially at night time.
Alessandro couldn´t be a better host, he really takes care of all the details and nothing is an effort for him. There is a mobile phone at the reception desk 24 hours a day in case you need to call him with any questions/ requirements.
While I can´t fault the accomodation in any way I was a bit upset about the neighbours from the flat next door being very noisey for 2 days and waking us up at 06.30!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvarezgranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This lovely apartment is a short walk away from Piramide station and has a supermarket round the corner. Alessandro is a very thoughtful host who asks for your preferences for breakfast while he tries to prepare whatever he can in the little kitchen (no cooking/stoves so request only ready-made items that he can buy and prepare). We loved having breakfast in the garden terrace outside our room. Each room has its own garden terrace. The location is good if you don't mind walking to the tourist landmarks while exploring the surroundings. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlphieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Reading the reviews provided previously we have expected a great place to stay. We however did not expect it to be excellent. Everything from arrival to space and assistance Alessandro provided was fantastic. As 3 people travelling together we had two rooms. Both rooms were great, with a lot of space and garden terrace, which was private and had comfortable outdoor furniture. Upon arrival we were presented with a bottle of chilled champaigne and conolli each. It was such a nice surprise. Free bottled water, very cheap drinks in mini bar helped a lot. When we returned from our first day of sight seing we found fresh fruit waiting for us. Alessandro made sure that breakfast was catered for our individual tastes and had no problems to accommodate for my gluten intolerance as well as making me beautiful decafe coffee :)
We all enjoyed the quitness this space provided, comfort and cleanleness. We all have agreed that this is one of the best accommodation through out our 4 week trip.
Surprisingly this place is also very affordable.
I want to thank Alessandro for being an excellent host, very attentive and for his excellent suggestions even prior to our arrival. Nothing was too much of an issue. And it is amazing how much of a difference small things make!

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were great
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews