We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice fish restaurant for all tastes and styles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Assunta Madre

Assunta Madre
Ranked #851 of 12,045 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $173
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice fish restaurant for all tastes and styles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I visited and had mixed experiences. It is important to go before 8.30 otherwise the restaurant will be full and the service slows. We sat outside at the back on both occasions. Very pleasant with predominantly Italian guests but a fair sprinkling of tourists also.
Food was fresh, well done, and good value. Extensive wine list. I found that the main course and desert was plenty for me. Lots of tempting entrees but you may find that you have literally taken on more than you can eat.
Many people in suits and evening clothes, but also smart casual also. Relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Armacao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    341
    163
    96
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nyergesujfalu
Level Contributor
133 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The FISH restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

One of the best fresh fish supply. The sole carpaccio is best raw fish meal, what I ever eat. Very good wine list. Good calamary.
Secret offer: lobster in catalan style.
The service was slow a bit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zsolthummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A "Fish" restaurant taken to a new level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

You walk in and there are bins of fresh fish on ice in the entryway. It's a "trust your waiter" type of place. The tasting menu, at 30 Euros a person, can be either cooked or raw fish. We chose cooked, and were dazzled with the assortment. Now, a negative. We went there twice and the first time was a Saturday night, the place was packed for our 9:00 resv., and the service was not very attentive. We ordered our own main courses, and it was just too much food after the apetitizer. We didn't like one of our side orders, and hardly touched it. It WAS our choice to order it, but in many places of this caliber it would have been taken off the bill--it wasn't. The 2nd time was a week night at 8:00. Different experience with the service--very attentive, though he restaurant became quite crowded between 8 and 9. We allowed the waiter to bring us the additional courses, and the best was for last - lobster - and by then I could not eat a BITE. Way too much food was brought. Poor judgment on the waiter's part. He should have brought the last course and totally eliminated the middle (pasta) course. So I do agree with andrebezz that they bring too much.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank girlfriend49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
2 reviews
“The dark side of professionality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've been there in july.
The fish is good, nothing to complain.
We had just one big problem, if you don't pay attention, if you trust the waiter, they'll bring you too much, without any kind of good sense. And when we talk about fish in Rome, it could be very dangerous.
After a mountain of raw antipasti (and not "un assaggino") we asked to skip the baked fish
Unfortunately was already in the owen.... It was huge. we didn't finish it.
We did complain 2 times for the bill, they probably made a discount because one of the party, that didn't eat, it was their "friend".
so, fish ok but be very careful. Italy and Rome doesn't deserve this kind of behavior, typical of the worst clichés

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andrebezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“SO SO / COSI COSI”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

It could become very good because it has the potential............but it lacks finishing on two very important points. The kitchen and the service. The setting is very good , small facade and the first thing you see is the fresh (!) fish and you think YES this will be delicious. Timeless interior well designed. The waiters are willing to help you but lack professionalism. Mistakes, guests / tables not well looked after , not knowing that what you order is not there.We tasted several dishes of raw fish and squid and they were served too warm and almost tasteless. The grilled fish, gambas , shrimps and vongole missed taste. I eat this kind of food better prepared for less than half price on the Mediterranian Coast. I do not mind paying a bit higher price for a good meal but then I want quality on my plate. Sorry we ate better in less posh places in Italy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tempiodelgusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assunta Madre also viewed

 

Been to Assunta Madre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing