We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location! Everything you could want!”
other travelers have booked this property
dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dining room
living room with the chimney kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
142 reviews
dining room
living room with the chimney
kitchen
kitchen
living room
living room
living room and the trundle bed
living room
livign room
taste of Mediterranean
bedroom
bedroom
bathroom
bathroom
bathroom
bathroom
precious embroidery
balcony
balcony
balcony
our alley
our alley
look up!
... round the corner
... and Santa Maria in Trastevere!
surroundings...
shopping nearby
hungry?
plenty of restaurants closeby!
... and markets
the Tiberine island
view of S. Peter from Ponte Sisto
... the key-hole (it is for real!!!)
view of Rome from the Janiculum (a few steps above us!)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 142 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leanne H
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location! Everything you could want!”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This apartment is just one street from all the cafes, restaurants and bars of Trastevere...but it is quiet, even on a Saturday night! And it is only a few minutes walk across the river to the historic sites of Rome.
The apartment itself has plenty of character and is equipped with all that you could want. It's best asset though is Franco and Federica. They organised a car for us from the airport and Franco was there to greet us. He has several maps of walks and public transport around the historic sites and took the time to sit down with us and discuss our plans, providing us with much helpful information.
You must stay here. It's the perfect spot to explore Rome!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
thank you so much, we look forward to having you back!
Ciao!
F&F
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogini50
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Tucked away”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Seamless transition from airport to our hide away with a pick up by a driver. Then a lovely welcome on-site by Federica and Franco who proceeded to show us how to make coffee Italian style. They were so welcoming to our daughter as well who is studying in Rome and lives near them. The apartment is conveniently located near major sites and great restaurants and bars. At night after you wind your way a street over you are in peace and quiet. Perfect place for the first leg of our Italy trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
thank you guys, lovely meeting you and hosting you in our lovely apartment. We look forward to having you back one day soon.
Ciao!
F&F
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia...
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A gem! Comfort and quiet in the heart of trendy Trastevere”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

It has exactly the kind of quirky charm independent travelers seek. if you want to avoid sterile hotel environments and immerse yourself in Rome, this is the place for you.

Situated in a centuries-old building, The kitchen is well stocked, the separate bedroom comfortable and quiet, and there are multiple seating areas in the main living space. There’s even a tiny balcony with pots of lush succulents along the railing. After the exhausting hurly burley of central Rome, it’s a pleasure to return to this quiet apartment in a vibrant neighborhood. It amazed me that even though there is a popular restaurant on the street and more around the corner, the apartment is miraculously peaceful at night. My only caveat is the cell phone reception is spotty unless you are near the door to the balcony (we positioned a chair there).

But the best part is the wonderful owners, who understand true hospitality. He is kind, patient, and living fifteen minutes away can be at the door in a no time to untangle any quandary. She is brilliant, lively, and proactively helpful. I ran into a problem with my SIM card, not their responsibility, yet they volunteered to straighten it out. One morning the Wi-Fi went down – a break in the area - and he got on the phone with the company to figure out what was going on. They are the kind of people who get regulars who come back year after year and reserve in advance. In short, it’s a gem. Book it. You’ll count yourself lucky.

You have found not only good accommodations, you have found a safe haven.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2017
Dear Virginia,

thank you so much for such wonderful review. Guests like you become friends and hospitality turns into family treat. You are right, this is why we have so many returning guests every year, which makes this small business a true pleasure.
Looking forward to having you back sometime soon.
Ciao bella!

F&F
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional, warm and lively flat, excellent location, so near to everything!”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

From the start it was the friendliest of welcomes, with much warmth and so many thoughtful touches in the flat - including guide books and personally-prepared maps, featuring highlighted locations for a variety of historical, cultural and art centres around the city, as well as food and other practicalities, all indicated as being within easy reach by walking or via public transportation. With a lovely decor, everything in the flat was arrange for comfort and convenience, and the bed was superb - just right after a day out wandering around the city. We certainly plan to visit again, as soon as possible!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2017
Thank you Ron and Karen! such a pleasure to have guests like you!
Please, do come back any time soon. You now know the way :)

All best

F&F
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William V
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An authentic Italian experience in the wonderful Trastevere”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Franco and Frederica are wonderful hosts. We are a family of 4 with two young children. We found the apartment very comfortable. The neighbourhood of Trastevere is a great location. A fabulous base for your time in Rome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly host, comfortable accommodation, great location
Liked least: Leaving this fabulous place
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
Thank you so much! we loved hosting you and we look forward to having you back one day soon.
Ciao!!!
F&F
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyTev...
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in a great part of Rome”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved our six nights in Franco and Federica’s apartment. From first contact many months ago to our final goodbyes we found them to be highly responsive and always helpful.

We took advantage of the offered driver from the airport directly to the apartment – it was so much easier than battling the crowds and the taxi touts greeting every flight and only a couple of euros more than the standard white taxi fare.

The apartment is right in the middle of the vibrant and beautiful Trastevere but with the huge bonus of French doors opening only to an internal courtyard providing totally peaceful sleeping conditions. The queen bed is very comfortable and the bedding is high quality. External shutters on both doors keep the apartment dark if you want to sleep late.

My husband and I shared the apartment with our teenage granddaughters, and whilst it was compact we found it had everything we needed for a perfect stay. The bedding arrangements in the living room are a single bed and trundle bed (neatly housed in the very comfortable sofa).

The bathroom is small, especially the shower compartment, but more than adequate with excellent ventilation. There is a washing machine tucked into the hall cupboard. The kitchen has a full cook top and oven and top quality equipment. The provision of a desktop computer is a bonus.

Absolutely everything is within easy walking distance. We had no need to use a taxi until leaving from Termini train station. There were numerous excellent guide books in the apartment. We found the laminated maps left by F and F outlining shopping, eating and sightseeing destinations particularly helpful.

We would strongly recommend this vacation rental and hope to return on our next visit to Rome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location but in the heart of a very vibrant neighbourhood
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgraz6829
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Italian hospitality personified”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

From the moment we booked with Franco and Frederica (F & F) we were warmly welcomed and our every question and need attended to.

Franco offered to arrange for pick up from the airport – a mere 7 euros more than the usual 55 euro taxi fare. After a long international flight, this was a much appreciated perk of booking with F & F. Our driver was waiting with our name on a placard and took us directly to our apartment where Franco greeted us.

Upon arrival, and after showing us the apartment, Franco offered maps delineating his favorite nearby restaurants, gelato stands, bakeries and even a walking tour of all the museums (for fee and for free) with Caravaggio exhibits. He kindly made reservations for us at one of the restaurants and answered our many questions. Don't miss Pianostrada the terrific restaurant a mere 50 meters from the apartment.

The apartment has all the amenities. It was clean with air conditioning throughout, welcome after walking for hours on the hot and dusty streets of Rome. Computer with Wifi was extremely appreciated when we realized we’d left our European electrical converter at home. Franco provided a loaner converter for our phones (although one can be purchased on the street for about 5 euros). The light in the kitchen was not working. Although we probably could have done ok without it, Franco insisted on fixing it so we had adequate light in the kitchen. Coffee, with demonstration on how to use the coffee pot, provided Italian coffee every am. Multiple umbrellas provided shelter to venture out despite rain. A multitude of guidebooks and Italian/English phrase book line the bookshelves. And finally although in the heart of Trastevere, which was loud and packed at night with revelers, the apartment was a quiet refuge, with none of the street noise ever audible. The apartment is on the second floor, accessible through the ground floor, locked door, then up a short staircase to the apartment and therefore, very secure There is a safe, but we never felt the need to use it given the excellent security of the building.

Suggestions: While this was not an issue for us, there is no elevator, so don’t rent if you can’t navigate one set of steps (but Franco will assist with your luggage). The bedroom opens to an inner courtyard/balcony. While not excessively bright, there are no room darkening shades, therefore, bring eye shades if you want to sleep in.

We’ve stayed at multiple privately owned properties. Franco went above and beyond in assuring our stay in Rome and his apartment was as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We’d highly recommend staying at their property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Franco thought of everything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing