We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Take on Roman Traditions”
Review of L'Arcangelo

L'Arcangelo
Ranked #2,157 of 12,247 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Prati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern Take on Roman Traditions”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Excellent update on Roman cuisine includes the seemingly wacky (pigeon with incense?) but everything is invariably delicious. a case in point: the anchovy burger was not only a feast for the eyes but truly delicious! Once rather stuffy, the place has considerably relaxed and on our night there, laughter abounded! Well worth the expense.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitchming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    114
    72
    56
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must have pasta!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

After 2 trips to Rome and many sub-par meals, I was so happy to experience L'archangelo. The Carbonra made with Rigatoni is a must! I am a die hard carbonara fan and this made th grade and then some!!! Note that the 'al dente' pasta is an art form in Rome, so expect that it may not be as soft as one is use to.
The bacon is beyond anything you can imagine- what may look like a 'too fatty' piece, is the most flavorful burst of heaven you will savor every morsel! This is 'real' pasta in Rome!! Have it you will enjoy every minute!!

The service was also exceptional and besides the not so great decor the whole evening was just wonderful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlohaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“One of the best meals in recent memory...!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

You'll walk in the door and think you have made an error in judgement... It's small, simple, spartan, like a cafe... Selection of Italian wines - many choices with most bottles in the $30 range... We had the Amaritzia Spagetti and the Rigatoni Carbonara to begin - amazing, both!! Pasta was fresh and cooked perfectly, the bacon popped and burst in your mouth with flavor... Ingredients were fresh with vivid colors... We had the Calamari Gratin and the Grilled Porcinis next and were not let down - they were amazing... Calamari can be bland but the batter was spicy / no more herby, and light... The mushrooms exploded with juice and flavor - very good very good. A nice light dessert - flambed profiterolles with orange custard within... We are going back for the pasta and some wine... I suppose some places can have off nights judging by some of the reviews... By 9pm it was full - we had a very warm and attentive waitress with short black hair that made all of our choices for us and she was overjoyed that we were so happy... All in it was EUR$130 for an appetizer, 2 pasta plates, 2 main plates, 1 dessert, bottle of red wine, and 2 glasses of white wine... Worth it! You could go for 2 pasta and bottle of wine for $50.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and superb wine list”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I enjoyed everything about this little jewel of a restaurant. It was quaint and very roman (rather than touristy). The food was excellent, and the wine list was outstanding. The service, including the wine service, was impeccible -- that is completely correct without being stuffy and overly formal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudoun County, Virginia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Absolutely a Must!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We found this restaurant on ChowHound and it received great reviews so we thought we'd give it a try. Incredible and worth a stop. Not your typical Italian tourist restaurant, in fact, we were the only Americans there. English isn't really spoken but the menu was in Italian/English so we knew what we were ordering. Delicious. We are particular about our food and especially Italian, and it was superb. Got there at 8 pm (first in: reservations recommended small venue). Love a restaurant where the locals eat in and this is that place. Mark it and go there, you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank winelvr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Arcangelo also viewed

 

Been to L'Arcangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing