We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“-Take the Metro-”

City Sightseeing Rome
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.04*
and up
Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #483 of 787 Tours in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rome Hop on Hop Off Open Top Sightseeing Bus Tour
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Naples
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“-Take the Metro-”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I have lived in Italy for 2 years and my family decided to come visit us in February 2013. Having younger siblings, I decided to book a hop on hop off bus in Rome. My husband and I have used this company in other countries and have had great experiences, but this one is awful. The map is confusing, the stop by the Vatican is difficult to find, the hours are stupid - you'll end up buying a metro ticket anyway just to get home. The staff is completely rude. One staff member named Olga U. aggressively and unprofessionally threw a huge, loud fit outside of the bus when I questioned another staff member about one of the stops. Choose another line, walk, or just use the metro. Complete waste of time and money.

Helpful?
3 Thank Hailey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear customer,

We’ve appreciated your comments and suggestions , your feedback will be useful to improve the quality of our service and our staff.
As regard the hostess Olga U. , we share your disappointement but We can assure you that we've already taken measures against her.
Thank you for Your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    219
    239
    279
    583
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Take your time”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

You will not enjoy this tour if you depend on the bus audio and want to see everything in one day. I recommend taking the two day pass and take your time at each attractions. Use the bus to take you from one attraction to another and take your time and enjoy. Having said that, Rome is large and there are attractions that you will not see by the bus and you need to do at your own time. These attractions include Spanish Steps (which is very beautiful during sunset and night) and Trevi Fountain. Enjoy Roma!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AroundWorldIn80Years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never will use this company's uses again!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very bad experience I had with this bus in Rome.We used the same bus in a different countries but Rome's experience was awful!Firstly the speech on a earphones was completely wrong.We were passing one place but listening about something different.Nobody said the number of stop so we couldn't understand where we are and what we will see if we will go out on this stop.Missed some nice places because of it!We are very unhappy with experience we had with this company in Rome!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank zita_zirnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear customer,

We 're really sorry that your experience on City Sightseeing bus in Rome has been 'awful' and not like in the other cities you have travelled.
We don't want justify ourselves, We want just explain you that we are changing our old audioguide system and commentary to improve it with a new sophisticated ones.
Our staff is trained to assist you in case of problems, they have also to announce every bus stop, so we are surprised for this luck of professionalism.
Our company is famous in the world for the its experience, seriuosness and professionalism.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
171 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Initial overview of city and sights only”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We use the city sightseeing hop on/hop off bus in every city we visit and purchased a 2 days hop on/hop off 2 route ticket for Rome.

We always do the bus tour at the beginning of the trip so we get a feel for the city and then we go back to the areas we want later.

The sound quality and content of the audio guide is not great and in some instances did not work.

Buses can be very infrequent which is not surprising given Rome’s traffic. We only ever waited once at a stop and then decided to walk until we saw a bus coming and then make our way to the next stop. Basically we were able to out walk the bus because of traffic.

The buses themselves were not bad. The tour overall is not the best one we have done but not the worse either.

Despite what the tour is made out to be, it simply does not cut it. So, if you are looking for an in-depth tour of Rome, this is not for you.

However, if you are looking for an initial overview of the sights and city, we would recommend it but you would probably only need a day ticket as its easier and quicker to walk.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank pecanpie2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank You very much for Your review, we've really appreciated Your comments and suggestions as they give us the opportunity to explain some inconvenieces occurred to some of our customers recently for what concerns our commentary. Infact we're renewing all the audioguide system upgrading it with the latest technological devices. This renewal is still in progress and it will be completed in the next weeks. For this reason some customers found that in some buses the quality of the audioguide was not the same than in others. We apologize for this and we hope customer will appreciate the new system we are installing.

As for the frequency you explained very well our daily main concern in operating a service like this.
Infact traffic is the first reason for delay which sometimes makes buses infrequent at the stops. That's why we've already asked to the local authorities the opportunity to change some parts of our route in order to guarantee our usual frequency. Our tour touches the most important tourist points of Rome and our stops are near the main attractions, it's not distant to walk up there.

Thanks again for your comments and suggestions, Your feedback is very useful for us to make further changes and improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Please don't bother with this”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We bought 2 days tickets for 50 euros on dec 27-28 to use on this bus. The first evening we waited 1 hour at the Trevi fountain stop and the bus never showed up. The second day we waited 40 minutes at the Vatican stop and the bus never showed up. First day we walked back to our hotel and the second day we took the metro. I am very irritated with the service and strongly urge you not to use them. This is not an emotional response but a logical one:

They charge upto 25 euros a day for 9 stops. Their frequency on weekdays is 1 hr. their last bus is at 5pm departure from termini.

Tell me what do you do if you are out till 6? Walk back? And what if you want to stop in between, oh well this bus doesn't stop. It has only 9 stops.

I saw Roma Cristina and the 110 open stop by multiple times while waiting in this one and yet no sign of this bus. And to add insult to injury I found out that 110 open was 15 euros a day. Even Roma Cristina at 22 euros is worth it.

I will write to these people to give me a refund. I don't see how they are surviving given the competition.

Helpful?
8 Thank houston2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Sir,
Please accept Our apologies , our buses were delayed on those days due to traffic congestion, We have controlled on our satellite system and We confirm You the frequency of our buses were late for this reason.
We understand you are disappointed with the service but, as for the number of our stops, We can assure you that We have been asking for long time to local authorities to increase them as you suggest us, but We’re not allowed yet .
The City Sightseeing bus stop signs, as you could see, are the same of our competitors because all the open bus companies in Rome have the same number of bus stops.
As for the duration of Our service we will take into consideration your suggestion to extend the timetable in winter.
Concerning the price for the 24 hours ticket is 20 euro, while the last year it was valid only for 1 day.
Thank you for your feedback, it will be useful to improve our service in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Rome also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing