We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything we wanted; friendly, helpful staff, great value, international not "touristy" location.”
Review of Palm Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Gallery Hotel
Ranked #18 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close to everything we wanted; friendly, helpful staff, great value, international not "touristy" location.”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

What a great trip. This was a small, modern hotel. It was very clean and full of staff that was helpful and friendly. We are offered a welcome fresh coffee/espresso on arrival. The staff took the time to find out what we had planned for our stay and offered suggestions on restaurants and places to visit. We had some disappointment dealing with a taxi driver who claimed not to understand that we wished to be dropped off within the "walls of Rome" so we would only have to pay the flat 40 Euros from the airport. Since he didn't get that we were charged the full 55 Euros it took to get to the hotel, which is just outside the mystical "wall". Bummer. But on the up shot the owner took us to the Airport herself for the return trip. This was great! All in all it was a great place and I hope we get the chance to return and stay longer.
* Tell us how you liked the room
* Talk about the location & amenities
* Say what you liked best & least

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstalebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    179
    32
    5
    4
See reviews for
280
597
50
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Well I really don't know where to start.. If you are reading this review and you are researching places to stay in Rome then you MUST stay here. 

If you want friendly, relaxed, helpful, kind hotel owners then this is the place. If you want yummy Italian breakfast and coffee always served with a smile, the this is the place! (One day during our stay, my boyfriend and I slept  through our alarm and woke up at 1 o'clock in the afternoon!! And there was STILL someone to offer us coffee and a light breakfast!).

My boyfriend and I made use of the airport transfer service offered by the hotel, adds slightly to the overall cost however ensures relaxed arrival and departure. 

We stayed over New Year and Luisa provided us with a beautiful little hamper as we were leaving to head out to Rome to join in the New Years Eve celebrations! It included a bottle of champagne, bread, sweets and fruit - so kind and very yummy! 

In the immediate hotel area are a number of fabulous restaurants and shops. Delightful restaurants including a divine steakhouse and a stunning pizzeria which was a real find! Both of these restaurants were included in the information sheets made available to us whilst we were staying there. Really helpful little maps and restaurant information were happily provided by Luisa and her team whilst we were there. 
One evening after having had a day of full on sightseeing we decided to stay in for the evening. Luisa promptly set about settling us into a lovely little seating area, brought us little plates of meat, nuts and olives. We were able to choose from an interesting array of wines and the one we 'finally' chose was delicious! 
Our room was great! Great big windows, spacious, light and airy. En-suite shower and WC. Every day the room was tidied and straighten! Fresh flowers and sweets every day. Towels were changed regularly and gorgeous shower gel provided. 

We really enjoyed the fact we were situated slightly outside of the centre. The Metro was easy to navigate  and a short walk to it from the hotel. Oh and the buses are easy to use too!  
We will DEFINITELY return to the Palm Hotel in the future. We have recommended Luisa's lovely hotel to friends and family and said that it is definitely the place to stay in Rome. 
On our last morning we walked round the local area and ended up buying some fresh pasta to take home. We told Luisa who promised to email through a pasta sauce receipe to go with our pasta.. And she did too! 

Many thanks go to Luisa, Daniel and the rest of the team at the Palm Hotel for an unforgettable stay! 

Many thanks
Fiona and Mark x

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

The hotel was absolutely wonderful. The room and the bathroom were large and the bed very comfortable. Luisa, the owner, is always ready to help with any questions or concerns and recommended several absolutely terrific restaurants. Hotel is a bit on the outside of the touristy city center, but there are may buses that will take you anywhere you need to go. The attention to detail of the hotel staff was fantastic. We will definitely be coming back the next time we return to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

The Palm Gallery Hotel is a haven away from the hustle and bustle of central Rome. Luisa is a lovely host as is Daniel her Manager, the rest of the staff being very polite and helpful, nothing seems too much trouble. The bedroom we had was very clean and modern with a most comfortable bed, lovely crisp white sheets and excellent pillows. with a clean and bright bathroom. Always enjoyed the breakfast, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice. Whenever we returned from sightseeing we were always offered tea or coffee, a nice touch. Fresh flowers were in all the rooms which gave the hotel a homely touch. All in all one of the best hotels we have stayed in.
There are plenty of restaurants in the area and Luisa or Daniel will advise and give directions. Don't be put off by the distance to the sights as public transport is good, once you get your bearings!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piggywig65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Just spent a long weekend at the Palm Gallery with my wife and found it superb....Luisa,Daniel and the team at the hotel could not do enough by way of service.....quality of rooms,food,drink were excellent.
The garden and pation were a great place to relax in the evening after a day strolling in Rome.
The location is near enough ....but far enough away for a peaceful night.
The Palm gallery was suggested by a friend who had stayed there late last year....I am grateful for the recommendation.
David McComb

Room Tip: Juat ask Luisa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_mccomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We agree whole-heartedly with all the tripadvisor reviewers that this small family-run hotel is like a home away from home. It was like love at first sight when we arrived at the hotel. It's located in a nice neighbourhood where you can really feel like a roman. Owner Luisa is such a great lady who's like a mother who took great care of her guests. I like the way she prints out all the necessary info for guests from where to catch a bus to tourist attractions to restaurant recommendations. That would have saved you a lot of time researching. Her breakfast was so fresh. She buys pastry every morning from the market nearby and even serves freshly squeezed orange juices for guests.

Some people may wonder if the location is a problem as it's not exactly next to some tourist attractions. However, we find it rather convenient to go anywhere as the bus stops are just right outside the hotel. It's only 10mins away from heart of Rome where all the major actions are, yet we were able to enjoy the quietness of the neighbourhood. We took the recommendation from Luisa to go to Trastevere to experience the local culture. It's amazing. With her recommendation list, it was so easy to pick a good restaurant there. Despite it being at the other end of Rome city centre, it only took us about 20 mins to be back to hotel via tram and bus. Great trip and great tip all thanks to Luisa!

Her beds and mattresses are of the best quality and I would say I slept the best in her hotel. I could tell she really has the interest of her guests in heart when she converted her former home to this small hotel in 2010. Her rooms are huge and tastefully decorated. She provided bedroom slippers as well as l'occitane products for her guests. If I ever come back to Rome, this hotel would be my first choice again.

I think it's also a perfect place for business travel as it's a home environment. The service is very personalised and it's comparable to serviced apartment.

Thumbs up for Luisa and her team who made our stay most memorable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subayai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Everything positive you read about this hotel is correct! Everyone we encountered at this hotel was so helpful and giving, even before our arrival I had emailed back and forth and Luisa and her crew were so helpful and gave good information. My friend and I stayed here on our return from a cruise and we were so tempted to change our flights and stay longer. From the moment we were picked up at the pier to the last goodbye at the airport, we felt pampered and like family! I told my husband we are definitely going back and would recommend this hotel to everyone! Every area was spotless, beds were comfy, bathrooms were well appointed, snacks and drinks were always available and Luisa even got up extra early to insure we had a tasty breakfast before leaving for the airport! We felt like we were family and miss them already!

Room Tip: we had a corner room on the third floor, wonderfu!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,736 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Relais 6
#32 of 1,261 in Rome
1,881 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Gallery Hotel

Property: Palm Gallery Hotel
Address: Via delle Alpi 15D, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel, located in a very charming area 2 km from Spanish steps, in a liberty villa with garden, totally renovated. Design and liberty rooms. Private bathrooms, wifi, safety box, minibar, air conditioning, LCD TV, personal scale, hairdryer. Fresh pastries and high quality breakfast, wine & cocktail bar, airport pick-up, babysitter, indoor & outdoor relax area, store, fitness, rooftop terrace & garden events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Palm Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing