We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be Back”
Review of Domus Valeria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domus Valeria
Ranked #552 of 3,709 Rome B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 16, 2013

As a first time visitor, I couldn't have wished for a better place to stay in Rome.
Very close to the famous Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona and Piazza De Popolo with other other "major" sights within 20-30 minutes walk.
I was made to feel very welcome in Marco and Erick's home.The room I had was not only very comfortable (with a lovely view over the neighbouring rooftops), it was also huge!
Marco is the consummate host.
Nothing was too much trouble or bother and he was a hive of information of places to go,where to dine and local services.
Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was delightful (in the crisp morning air), with a wide selection available.
Rome is a wonderful city to visit and experience and being able to stay at Domus Valeria made my time in Rome all the more memorable.
Grazie Marco

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mr-ed2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for this nice review, we will be waiting for your next trip in Rome!

It was a pleasure being your host!

A big hug

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Domus Valeria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 277 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

A friend and I were lucky enough to share a room at Domus Valeria in the famous Via del Babuino in Rome during November 2013. The atmosphere at Domus Valeria is homely and welcoming yet always professional. Our room was tastefully decorated and spacious enough (baring in mind that it's in the heart of Rome) and every day started with a lavish breakfast on the rooftop garden with some lovely views of Rome.

Marco is a superb host and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Whenever we had any travel-related queries he managed to assist us promptly. I would most certainly want to stay at Domus Valeria again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Thysdebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

thanks for your lovely review,

it is always a pleasure to be your host!

Stay in touch, with my best regards

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

As mentioned previously by other reviewers, Marco is the consummate host. Nothing is too much trouble for him and he is very generous with his time and patience. I travelled alone to Rome this year and couldn't have felt more safe, secure and at home in Marco's apartment. In a busy area like the Spanish steps it can be quite noisy out in the street but the rooms and even the terrace are quiet havens from the throng of the city's traffic.
There was a coffee machine in the sitting room where you could get a cuppa at any time of the day; fresh fruit on the table and water in the fridge. Breakfast was what ever you wanted ( within reason) if Marco could get it on one of his shopping excursions.
I am definitely contemplating a return trip.

Many thanks again Marco for your marvellous hospitality - and I hope that Eric is feeling much better

Lillian Spurway
xx

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bonnie061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

thanks for your lovely review,

I hope to see you once again during the next near future

Stay in touch, with my best regards

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

First time in Roma and staying at Domus Valeria made the visit perfect. B&B is a few steps away to Piazza di Spagna - 2 minutes walk to the subway station. Historical center is less than 20 min walk and Vatican about 30 min walk. You just have to climb the hill for visiting the Villa Borghèse.
The host Marco is great. Always helpful and make you feel like home. Clean, cosy bedroom and tasty breakfast on the terrace . Quiet place. Clean bathroom to share. Free wifi which works well.
Plenty of restaurants in the area. I recommend Babette's.
Next time I come back, I will stay again there. Everything was perfect !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FREDERIC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

thanks for your lovely review,

it is always a pleasure to be your host!

Stay in touch, with my best regards

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A charming bed and breakfast tucked into the heart of Rome. Very atmospheric and comfortable. Spacious and remarkably quiet rooms. Immaculate shared baths. And a romantic rooftop terrace that's like a movie set! Manuela is a marvel and Marco is a delightful master of hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromwjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

thank you very much for your lovely review,

it was a pleasure to be your host!

Stay in touch, with my best regards

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Manuela went above & beyond to make sure our stay was pleasant. The location was great because we were near the metro and taxi rank and all the major attractions as well as shops. The beds were a bit rickety but nothing to be too upset about. Breakfast on the terrace made us feel like locals.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remo0438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

thank you very much for your lovely review,

it was a pleasure to be your host!

Stay in touch, with my best regards

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review since returning from our trip in June this year. We were five people and any one of us would write the same review. We just adored staying here. The apartment was beautiful, the terrace took our breath away and Marco: well Marco is an angel. Really the most wonderful host we have ever had. We all wanted to stash him in our luggage and take him home. A truly lovely man.
The apartment is a two minute walk from the Spanish steps. Quick walk to the subway which we definitely used and just a great location for getting around Rome. Actually the neighbourhood was entertaining enough that we could have gone nowhere else in Rome and still called the trip a success. Marco's breakfasts were yummy and so much more generous than I anticipated. The coffee was delicious (very important aspect for all of us!). Do yourself a favour and choose this place to stay in Rome. It really was very special for us. Thank you Marco. Hugs and Kisses my friend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realtorme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thanks for the nice review! I hope to see you in the near future!

Greetings from Rome

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#297 of 1,267 in Rome
279 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#339 of 1,267 in Rome
717 reviews
Elite Hotel
#387 of 1,267 in Rome
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Babuino 127 Rooms
Babuino 127 Rooms
#230 of 3,709 in Rome
147 reviews
Colonna
Mia Suites
Mia Suites
#170 of 3,709 in Rome
170 reviews
Campanella3
#3 of 3,709 in Rome
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Valeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Valeria

Address: Via del Babuino 96 | 4th Floor, Apartment 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #552 of 3,709 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $119 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Valeria is my cozy Attic-Floor Apartment (with lift) for gays, lesbians and hetero friends, located in central Rome.The apartment, with two doubles and one single room, is on the attic floor of Palazzo Saulini, one of the most prestigious historical buildings of Via del Babuino, built in the eighteenth century. The roof garden of about 100 square meters, overlooking the Spanish Steps and the Academy of France, is completely available to all guests.The period decor and the comfortable lounge area make Domus Valeria the perfect place to stay for a visit in the Eternal City, for business or leisure. Wi-Fi Internet access, the collection of films and books and a large terrace overlooking Rome will make your stay a unique experience, whether it is for a few days or several weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Domus Valeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing