We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Bravo"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Domus Valeria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Domus Valeria
Ranked #429 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Bravo"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had a wonderful time in Rome, and Domus Valeria B&B hospitality made everything just perfect! The apartment is very beautifully decorated with antiques, my bedroom was large and cleaned daily, the bathrooms have been renovated, Breakfast is served daily on the beautiful quiet and serene terrace. The terrace is the bonus !! It is ideally located by Piazza di Spanga, restaurants, high end boutiques such as Chanel, Gucci, Padra and the Metro Station all within just 2-minute walking distance. the hosts are amazing and always ready to help you with everything. I definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joemartinezmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Joe,

thank you so much for your nice words and thank you again for the beautiful hydrangea that you gave to me before your departure! I found the right place on our terrace and she is growing and growing.

Hope to see you once again in the next future,

all the best from me and also from Erick.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    29
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
106
92
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a pleasure it was to have stayed here in April 2013. So centrally located - Great rooms in a beautiful apartment and fantastic (very generous) breakfasts on the beautiful roof terrace. Marco is the perfect host - and is also the font of all knowledge regarding anything you need to know about Rome. We will be back!!! Stewart and Tony x

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stewtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My Mum and I wanted to spend a few days Xmas shopping together and thought that Rome would be the perfect destination. I have been a few times before but my Mum had never been and so I wanted to make the trip memorable.

Our choice of the Domus Valeria was perfect. Location wise, you can't really get much better. The door into the apartment building is right next door to Chanel on one of the main arteries of Rome and just round the corner from the shopping streets. Just a few steps from Piazza Di Spagna, which has a metro station, perfect for the trip to and from the airport via Termini.

The building itself is old world, full of marble and fantastic old lift with a cage and everything! Once you go upstairs, the hustle and bustle of the streets are left behind, you cannot hear any of the street noise.

Rome is great for walking around and from the Domus Valeria you could reach pretty much anywhere - Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Piazza Del Poplo. We even walked to the Vatican which is a fair trek over the Tiber but easily accessible via the Metro line for those who didn't fancy the walk.

Some great bars and restaurants nearby. Our favourite was Antica Enoteca on Villa Del Croce, which is just round the corner. Great food and wonderful wine, but a bit pricey but then what can you expect from the centre of Rome.

The B&B itself is made by the owner, Marco. He is the most helpful, most friendly guy you will ever meet. Makes you feel as though you have gone to stay with a friend for a few days, not just checked into a hotel.

The apartment is his home and he lets out two rooms, maybe more in the Summer when he stays in a small room in his roof top garden area. The kitchen and bathroom are shared but when we were there we were the only guests so we had it to ourselves. Breakfast was made to order and was varied.

No central heating so the place was cold. We had to ask for a heater for our room for when we were getting dressed and coming out of the shower but was manageable. In the Summer however I can imagine the coolness being the perfect respite from the city in the heat.

The apartment has a roof terrace that is fab, we went up one evening for a beer and chat with Marco but it was too cold to stay out long. Again in the Summer this will be amazing for sipping wine under the stars.

After having stayed here, I don't think I would want to stay anywhere else in Rome - was like a home from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R4chyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review!

I also have to thank you for your recommendation about the heating. Having central heating is planned, but I do not think it will be possible before the next two years.

For now, in combination with the independent ac/heat generators in each room, for the coming winter I will put a heater in the bathroom and I am sure that it can be a good solution, however temporary.

I'm glad I got in our apartment you and your mom, hope to see you soon.

Hugs from Rome!

Marco V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the moment of our initial internet booking until we made our departure after two weeks in Rome, we experienced warm personal hospitality, helpful and accurate travel advice, genuine friendship, individualized breakfasts designed around our wishes, and a fantastic degree of openness and comfort that let us feel at home in the heart of Rome. Located in the elegant Spanish Steps area, Domus Valeria is tastefully furnished with antiques that spoke of Marco's interests and his family history, provides a great setting for a welcoming host who became a friend and offers accommodation that is comfortable, central, quiet, and attractive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urbotourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review.

Hope to see you soon in Rome or in Canada.

A big hug from Rome

Marco V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Let's get one thing straight: I'm very particular about the way I travel. I have a strong distaste for the two-a-penny anonymous hotels you find littered across most large cities, and will therefore spend a long time researching the perfect independent place to stay. And I've been lucky; I've stayed in some pretty special places. So the bar is now set extremely high. But Marco, and his wonderful Domus Valeria, have no need to worry; they didn't just reach my demanding expectations, they exceeded them.

I booked my room back in the coldest part of winter, while in bed with the flu. Within the hour I received the most delightful and comforting email welcoming me to Rome and giving me all sorts of helpful tips and suggestions. And throughout my stay Marco's hospitality was almost faultless - nothing was too much trouble. The only criticism I can think of is the fact he simply would not let me leave him a tip. "I do it because I love to" was his smiling and authentic reply.

I had initially booked the single room, but Marco upgraded me to one of the doubles at no extra cost. My room was next to the bathroom, and I never had any difficulties accessing it when I needed it. The bathrobe and slippers Marco provides made the short trip from my room even more comfortable.

The B&B is located a mere 200 yards from the Spanish Steps and Spagna metro stop, and is within easy walking distance of all the city's main sights. But fear not, it is perfectly quiet: the only thing likely to rouse you from sleep is the sound of church bells and the view of the Villa Medici at your window. The apartment is decorated with exquisite attention to detail (ask Marco about the antique Tuscan beds in the red room!) and there is a fabulous roof terrace which is used for breakfasts on warm days.

Which reminds me - the breakfasts are fabulous. The food (I don't like to think how many cream-filled pastries and coffees I got through) and Marco's informative and witty company at the table, will start each of your precious days in Rome exactly as they should (though they do make it kind of hard to leave!)

Of course there were lots of pretty staggering things about Rome that made me feel really quite emotional, but I count my stay at Domus Valeria as one of those experiences. I certainly had a lump in my throat as I hugged Marco goodbye outside the building's beautiful old iron lift. But I will definitely be back, and I can't think of a better commendation than that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuthThePoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

And as I have already said, It was a pleasure for me to be your host!

The best thing about this work is certainly in the opportunity to meet some nice people like you!

I look forward to see you.

All the best and keep safe!

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at Domus Valeria for 2 nights at the end of January 2013. Prior to my arrival Marco (the owner) booked a car for me at the airport and then monitored my plane's ETA, so the car would be there at the appropriate time - which it was. He also quickly responded to my emails - prior to my arrival.

The B&B's location is perfect - literally next to the Spanish Step and in a very good shopping district. The B&B is nicely decorated, extremely clean, and very quiet. The bed was comfortable and the linens and towels were freshly laundered and of a good standard. The Wi-Fi signal was strong and consistent. I can't comment on breakfast - as I don't eat it, but the coffee was outstanding!

Marco makes you feel at home from the minute you arrive, and he is an expert on what to do in the city and how to get there.

The only thing I would have done different - is stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityBreakGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Guys,

thank youso much for your lovely review! I hope to assist you once again in the next near future.

I wish you all the best,

hugs from Rome

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast during our visit in Rome in September 2012. We were extremely pleased with our decision. Marco, the owner, was extremely friendly and helpful whenever we needed little things here and there. No matter what time we needed advice, he was willing to make our trip easy. His suggestions about places to go and eat were great. He also helped us book a few places where we could not communicate in Italian (including an early cab pickup to the airport in the rain). With his effort to make the stay enjoyable, we will definitely return to stay at the same place when we go back to Rome.

The room was comfortable and clean. Each room has an AC. His hospitality really made us feel like home. Sharing the bathroom was never an issue for us. The wifi password was provided free of charge. The breakfast was provided on the rooftop every morning. The place about a block from the Spanish Steps (and the subway). We cannot say enough great things about this place.

Room Tip: Discuss this with Marco. I basically think all the rooms are the same (quiet because they are on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeatTon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks for the nice review.

Hope to see you soon!

I also take this opportunity to wish you a very happy new year.

Hugs from Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Palace
Condotti Palace
#527 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#255 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Campo Marzio
Babuino 127 Rooms
Babuino 127 Rooms
#262 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Relais Babuino 124
Relais Babuino 124
#1,027 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Campo Marzio
Babuino 79
Babuino 79
#115 of 1,087 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Campo Marzio
Relais Pierret Piazza di Spagna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Valeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Valeria

Property: Domus Valeria
Address: Via del Babuino 96 | 4th Floor, Apartment 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #429 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Valeria is my cozy Attic-Floor Apartment (with lift) for gays, lesbians and hetero friends, located in central Rome.The apartment, with two doubles and one single room, is on the attic floor of Palazzo Saulini, one of the most prestigious historical buildings of Via del Babuino, built in the eighteenth century. The roof garden of about 100 square meters, overlooking the Spanish Steps and the Academy of France, is completely available to all guests.The period decor and the comfortable lounge area make Domus Valeria the perfect place to stay for a visit in the Eternal City, for business or leisure. Wi-Fi Internet access, the collection of films and books and a large terrace overlooking Rome will make your stay a unique experience, whether it is for a few days or several weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Domus Valeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing