We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and Very friendly host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #220 of 3,604 Rome B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and Very friendly host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Marco's bb for four nights. It was a great experience. The place felt very home-like. The room is spacious, clean, and comfy. The shared bath was never a issue for us. The roof terrace was amazing. It was literally a few steps from Spanish steps. The room was very quiet considering it is located at the heart of Roma. Marco was so personable and helpful. He great us many great advices that saved us some trouble. We would definitely come back again if we get to visit Rome again. can't wait to see how the terrace will look like after Marco's renovation.

Joy and David

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qianjunyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Many thanks for your nice review and words. I wish you all the best and I hope to see you once again in the next near future.

With warm regards

Marco V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    28
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
103
90
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I spent three fantastic days at Domus Valeria in October. In our opinion, it's not only the best place to stay in Rome...it's the only place to stay. Marco welcomed us into his apartment and made us feel comfortable right from the start. He went the extra mile for us every day of our stay by offering advice and assistance, particularly when our flight back to the United States was cancelled due to Hurricane Sandy. Airline representatives told us it might take a week to get us on another flight. Marco used his skills and connections as a former travel agent to help us arrange a way home. He spent nearly four hours assisting us and personally ran over to the travel agency to pick up our tickets. We are grateful for the wonderful hospitality and care he offered during our stay. We look forward to returning to Rome and to Domus Valeria soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. Beginning with the title you have chosen.

Hope to see you soon.

Hugs from Rome

Marco V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I would like to thank Marco for hosting us. We really enjoyed our stay at Domus Valeria.
Location was great - The hotel is just few steps from Spanish Stairs and 10-15 mins away from the most know places in Rome. The rooms are clear and comfortable. I would definetely rate the hotel as excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your nice review.

I hope to see you in the next near future.

Greetings from Rome

Marco V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We cannot say enough good things about this experience. The innkeeper, Marco was incredible: gracious, kind, helpful and a top notch host. His rooms are lovely and quiet and the breakfast was the best we had on our Italy trip. He and his partner, Erik, do an amazing job. We will be back when we visit Rome next time!

Room Tip: As for one of the rooms closest to the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
thanks for the nice review, but above all for the nice words to me: I really wonder if I deserve all these compliments! The truth is that most of my guests during this 2012 were fantastic. Like you! Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Hugs from Rome

Marco V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I rarely write reviews but feel I need to for Domus Valeria. I stayed for 6 days with my girlfriend and would not consider anywhere else when I go back to Rome next. This is an absolute gem of a B&B in a beautiful old apartment building on one of the most sought after streets bang in the centre of Rome - perfectly located for touring and/ or dining. It is spotlessly clean and spacious with many attractive features including a great roof terrace where you have breakfast. Although it is a B&B and not a 'fancy hotel' it has crisp linens, fluffy towels and bathrobes robes, free access to a Nesspresso machine and freshly baked cakes that make it a pretty luxurious experience nonetheless. Breakfasts are ample and excellent and will cater for difficult diets. As said by many Marco is charming and is really the perfect host. He was always available when we needed him to give excellent advice on restaurants, bars, directions, book things etc etc and yet he never felt like an owner but much more like a friend and made us feel extremely comfortable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the red room which was spacious and well furnished with a large window but had a peak i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 114Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Chris,

thank you very much for the wonderful review.

For me it is always a great pleasure to have guests in the house as you.

Hope to see you soon, and I wish you all the best!

With warm regards

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed with Marco at his B&B for 5 nights to kick off the start of our month long trip in Italy. It was really a perfect place for us in Rome given the amazing location just 50 metres or so to the Spansih steps.

The rooms and his apartment are large and clean. You really feel like you are staying at a good friend's home. The rooftop area was great and where we enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning.

It is great value for money, Marco is a perfect host and we would reccommend staying here most definitely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdevro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review.
Hope to see you in the next near future.
With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

If I were rating Domus Valeria purely on the criteria of a hotel, it wouldn't get a five star rating. Don't expect a traditional five star hotel when you are coming here. However the experience of staying at Domus Valeria far exceeded those at much "higher quality" hotels and B&B's. Domus Valeria is about the people and thats what I enjoy most about travel. We stayed in a much posher B&B while in Rome as well and I will book DV as my first choice when I come back for my next visit.

1. This is a proudly gay owned B&B and we felt totally welcomed the moment we arrived. Over the week we were there there were several other guests staying, both gay and straight, and it made for a very fun and comfortable mix.

2. Marco helped us out with all our little issues and problems, even when we didn't ask. He printed maps, gave great recommendations, helped us with online reservations, and chatted with us as if we were part of his family. There is a very genuine, caring feeling to this place.

3. The location is awesome, breakfast every morning on the rooftop was a treat, and even though you share common areas and bathrooms, we were never disturbed or felt a loss of privacy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matski_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I want to thank you for your wonderful review.

Your words struck me!

You have understood and shared the philosophy of my house, and I'm glad to hear that your stay was nice.

Hope to see you in the near future

Hugs from Rome

Marco V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna Suites
Piazza di Spagna Suites
#355 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata Di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata Di Spagna
#254 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Babuino 127 Rooms
Babuino 127 Rooms
#239 of 3,604 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Campo Marzio
Crossing Condotti
Crossing Condotti
#37 of 3,604 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna Prestige
Piazza di Spagna Prestige
#188 of 3,604 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast

Property: Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via del Babuino 96, 4th fl, apt 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 3,604 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Valeria is my cozy Bed & Breakfast for gays, lesbians and hetero friends, located in central Rome.The apartment, with two doubles and one single room, is on the attic floor of Palazzo Saulini, one of the most prestigious historical buildings of Via del Babuino, built in the eighteenth century. The roof garden of about 100 square meters, overlooking the Spanish Steps and the Academy of France, is completely available to all guests.The period decor and the comfortable lounge area make Domus Valeria the perfect place to stay for a visit in the Eternal City, for business or leisure. Wi-Fi Internet access, the collection of films and books and your favourite newspaper in the room every morning will make your stay a unique experience, whether it is for a few days or several weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your Domus Valeria Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing